November 27, 2014 | 1566 users online

Polishes - OPI - Light My Sapphire

no image

rated 4.0(57 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.0
  • 64% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.3
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 12/31/2013 12:32:00 AM More reviews by Sarahbee9

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium Eyes: Hazel

This is my first OPI nail polish ever and I love it. The color isn't what I expected but I'm still wearing it because it's so different from anything else I have. It went opaque in only one coat (not a thin coat) but dried in about two minutes. It wasn't streaky and didn't lift up the base coat off my nail which is something that really irritates me about other polishes.
I have trouble with essie and china glaze's brushes to the point of frustration but this brush was surprisingly perfect since I've heard horror stories.

Overall, the formula is amazing but the color is a little weird i'll admit, but It's unique enough and seems to have grown on me.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/9/2013 11:12:00 PM More reviews by BADKITTY13

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

My second bottle of this color and yes it is stunning! A beautiful super shiney blackened navy with shimmer...applies like a dream!! Love that it almost looks black but u can tell it is navy! So shiny with a top coat! I have over 300 colors and this is a favorite!!!!! A must have!!!!!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 1/16/2013 8:24:00 PM More reviews by antolin1

Age: 36-43 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse Eyes: Brown

Humn... I'm kinda on the fence with this one... I purchased LMS because it professed to be a sort of blackish blue shade. At a glance (in bottle) I got the impression this would be along the lines of CC's Vamp in tone but forgoing the purple/red in exchange for a deep blue, which I was all about. When applied really what I got was a dull purple and black mix. Now lemmie clarify: If one is looking for a kind of flat black and purple mix OR if one wants to stray away from basic black nails, they will like this shade. I personally was disappointed because I expected something completely different--I get zero hues of blue. I suppose its a unique shade but I could probably have just mixed a black and purple to achieve the same at a lesser pricepoint. I also don't find it very flattering of a color either and it took 3-4 coats to even get any sort of color depth.
Its not terrible I guess, just not what I thought it would be and def not as advertised. So if you are looking for that hint of blue on any level (hence the name of product) you will likely be disappointed.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 4/15/2012 4:59:00 AM More reviews by loveking

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Dry, Tan, Warm Hair: Black, Relaxed, Medium Eyes: Brown

When applied the shimmer shines through and is very visible when it dried with the top coat .. I was disappointed .. Certainly a very frosty dirty dark navy petrol colour with micro shimmer. Very campy especially with long nails and a great shade for winter. The formula is a little thicker than usual and is not streaky.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/11/2012 10:27:00 AM More reviews by hairsprayfusion

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Hazel

Any polish that only requires 2 coats is a winner in my books, and Light My Sapphire is a winner! It also dries relatively fast which is always a plus :)
The colour is almost black (with the slightest flash of navy blue under the right lights), so it's perfect if you're looking for a 'black' that isn't a full jet black.
My only negative (and it's only a small one) is that you need to be extra careful not to get it on your skin, as it does appear to 'stain' it ever so slightly if you let it dry there. Get rid of any excess straight away and you'll be fine, otherwise it does wash off within 24 hours :)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 11/27/2011 11:21:00 PM More reviews by d1d1

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Hazel

Light my Sapphire by opi...it is what it is: one of those mysterious dark nail colors that for most viewers it's simply labeled "black", but given a few more minutes they will see the darkest shade of blue with a minuscule hint of gray, which I'm a fan. I was looking for a darker blue shade for a couple of months. The navy blue didn't seem right. So I found out about LMS and I bought the color yesterday morning and put it on as soon as I could. Before buying it, I asked the girl if I could quickly take a look at the swatch. It showed up black, then I got it closer to the window for natural light, and then it was the darker blue I wanted. I'm a happy camper.



Because I have so many nail polishes, 1 bottle of light my sapphire it's enough for now, so probably I wouldn't buy another one in the next few months. Some people find OPI's brush to be a pain, but I don't mind it at all.


Now what works for ME: every time I put on any mysterious superdark shade of nail polish I tend to dress more feminine just to even things out: skirt and dresses (with winter attire), gold rings, a shirt with a nice little bow, messy bun, side ponytail. And I tend to really care to keep my cuticles super healthy because it makes my manicure looks clean.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 8/14/2011 2:04:00 PM More reviews by meanjia

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Black

It looks gunmetal gray/black indoors, but under sunlight you can see that this polish is actually a very dark blue with silver shimmer. The formula isn't very pigmented - the first coat is barely there. I use two thin coats and one medium coat to get this opaque and smooth. It doesn't dry very quickly, so I recommend a quick dry topcoat. It only lasted two days before chipping. This was a gift, and I probably wouldn't have bought it on my own. I won't buy it when it runs out, but I don't mind wearing it on occasion. It doesn't stain at all.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 7/19/2011 5:32:00 PM More reviews by luvlost03

Age: 25-29 Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I returned Russian navy for this liked it better. Also like butter London's big smoke better too its a true dark blue but u see blue not almost black.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 6/9/2011 7:23:00 PM More reviews by nudelipsandnails

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Red, Straight, Fine Eyes: Other

Dark blue/black. Doesn't really show up blue on my nails at all. I was hoping for a dupe to Chanel Blue Satin, but this isn't quite it. In the bottle, there is a really tiny hint of mica shimmer if you look closely..i was hoping those would show up on my nails but they didn't. Flat and boring..good quality though. This polish lasts a week on my nails.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 4/16/2011 11:33:00 AM More reviews by xxxstrzxx

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Blue

This color was ok. It is a shimmery purple/ gray color. I hated that fact that the first coat was so sheer and you need atleast 3 coats for it to look opaque.

Is this review helpful? Yes No