April 16, 2014 | 903 users online

Cleansers - Lumene - Lift Touch Rejuvenating Cleansing Oil



image 0

rated 3.7(97 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.7
  • 70% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.6
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 2/4/2013 9:40:00 AM More reviews by domokun_nyc

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

This is a pretty good cleansing oil that has pros and cons. For comparison, I've also used DHC's cleansing oil and Clinique's take the day off balm that has similar oil properties.


All three products seem to remove makeup/sunscreen well. However, the Lumene does not rinse as thoroughly as the DHC or the Clinique. It does leave a filmy feeling, which if you have oily or combo skin, may not be pleasant. If you have very dry skin or use a washcloth/puff this may not be an issue. On the other hand, it did not dry me out with repeated use the way the DHC did. I tended to use this in the winter when I could use more moisture. It's probably too much for my combo skin in summer. It also will cause a milky film if you get it in your eyes when removing eye makeup. Not the worst thing, and not burning irritation, but still somewhat annoying.


I didn't notice any strong fragrance like some others have mentioned, and I'm usually rather sensitive to those things. The pump works well enough, although a few drops do tend to roll down the sides (DHC pump is more efficient) and you can get every last drop. Price is getting up there for a drug store product, but probably cheaper than either the DHC or Clinique. Although I've used two bottles, purchased a couple years apart, I won't repurchase due to the lack of clean rinsing. I really like the idea of an oil-based cleanser, thus my initial repurchase, but quickly remembered why I wasn't a big fan of this particular cleanser.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 6/25/2012 7:56:00 PM More reviews by svi12345

Age: 36-43 Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Works great as a cleanser, takes off everything including waterproof sunscreen with just some fingerpad massaging, but there are a couple of sticking points that keep this from crossing into "better than adequate" category. The fragrance is strong. It's the last ingredient on the list and I'm not sensitive to fragrance but it almost bothers me it's so strong. I think the big sticking point is that it doesn't feel like it rinses clean. I'm a combo-dry skin type and my face feels almost oily even in my driest areas.

To be fair, this is marketed as appropriate for dry to very dry skin, so if I were a tad bit drier I would probably give a higher review. Overall, I think it's okay, but a better choice for those at the really dry end of the spectrum who are not sensitive to fragrance.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 5/27/2012 11:55:00 AM More reviews by loula624

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Im a big fan of cleansing oils and creams but for some reason this one just doesn't do it for me. First off, I really dislike the smell. It has this nasty, synthetic floral scent that smells like scented trash bags. But more importantly is the formula. It manages to somehow make my skin feel greasy and yet dry it out at the same time. Since Ive started using this my t-zone has been super flaky and yet I am also continuously breaking out on my chin. I just don't know. I wish this worked for me since it is such a reasonable price for a cleansing oil but it just has not made the cut :(

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/29/2012 10:06:00 PM More reviews by rengreen

Age: 19-24 Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

I have very dry skin all year round, and I've found that I need to take off my makeup in steps. First, most of the eye stuff with micellar water, and then a massage the rest of my face with this. Three pumps on dry hands, applied to dry face, and everything comes off. Of course, my face still feels oily, so I scrub gently with a washcloth, and follow up with a heavy cream for night. I only use this at night. I've been using it as my primary makeup remover for about a month, and by now if it's not dried out my skin terribly, it's probably not going to.

I'd like to try MAC's cleansing oil, but this one works so well that I don't really need to. When I run out I'll definitely repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/8/2012 4:21:00 PM More reviews by melbay

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I use this twice a day. In the morning I put it on as soon as I get in the shower, and don't rinse it off until I'm ready to get out. Makes my face nice and soft and moisturized and ready for all my products. At night I use it with my Olay battery operate scrub brush. Really, really good for 'older' skin that's dry and prone to flakiness. I am acne prone, and this does not break me out at all. No odor to it, so I like that too. I've probably used it for 4 years now and have to order it from Amazon.com as it seems CVS no longer carries it. Target might, but I haven't checked there in a while.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 12/30/2011 11:56:00 AM More reviews by yoyocanary

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Green

I like this cleanser OK. I never wear waterproof mascaras, but I have found that this cleanser won't always remove my mascara. Because I normally use makeup removing wipes, though, that's not a huge issue. When I use this my skin feels soft and clean. I dislike the scent once it's on my face. It smells fine out of the bottle, but when I start to rinse it off it has a weird scent. It's not a particularly strong scent, though, and this cleanser smells like other Lumene products I have tried.
To use I add one pump of product to my hand and rub that into my skin, and if I'm too lazy to use a makeup removing wipe I will add extra to my eyes to remove mascara. I massage it into the skin and rinse with warm water followed by another, gentle cleanser to ensure all the oil is off my skin. While rinsing it takes on a milky texture, which it's supposed to. The extra cleansing step isn't necessary at all as my skin feels clean if I just rinse the oil off and dry my skin, but I'm a little weird about washing my face.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 12/28/2011 9:53:00 PM More reviews by rolanda

Age: 44-55 Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Love this. It removes *everything* and leaves my skin nice and soft. I experience no irritation and it doesn't leave my eyes filmy, like using straight jojoba or olive oil. Plus, you can emulsify it to rinse it off. I've been using it for years and haven't used any other cleanser in that time-- just sometimes I'll use a washcloth after to exfoliate gently. It's a nice feeling to have clean skin without that stripped, dry feeling. I hate the bottle, so I decant it into a glass liquid soap dispenser. Skin is dryish, and in winter is horribly dry.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 12/3/2011 3:48:00 AM More reviews by maomaouchi

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

This is one of the only emulsifying oil cleansers available at drugstores and it is definitely an awesome find. This is a fantastic oil cleanser that does exactly what oil cleansers should do--it efficiently removes my makeup completely (I wear sunscreen, waterproof mascara and waterproof liner, among other things) and rinses away easily. I have used a number of different higher-end oil cleansers (DHC, Shiseido, Origins, Lunasol) and this one performs just as well if not better as all of them. I always follow up with a mild cleanser, usually Philosophy Purity Made Simple to get rid of any residue, which I think is necessary with the vast majority of oil cleansers. I find that this one removes makeup completely, doesn't break me out one bit and isn't too stripping/drying. Best of all, it works this well and is at least half the price as most other oll cleansers on the market. Very impressed, will definitely repurchase.


I usually see it at CVS, for around $11 but there are sales so watch out for those. Bottle is a semi-transparent pink, making it easy to tell how much product remains. Pump mechanism, I usually use 2-3 pumps.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 11/23/2011 5:29:00 PM More reviews by khvalles

Age: 44-55 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

I had been wanting to try an oil cleanser for a while, ever since sampling DHC's. Lumene had lots of good reviews here (note to self- look at the bad reviews first!) and on Beautypedia. I started using it just after I started using Alpha-Hydrox cream and my normally clear skin began to break out in small pimples and just looked irritated in general. I suspected the Lumene and stopped right away. Fast forward 3 days, pimples are healing, still using the Alpha-Hydrox.

The Lumene made my eyes blurry and stinging, it smells like cheap perfume, and I had to use Purity after because my skin felt really greasy. Clinique TTDO balm is much better at removing makeup and rinses much cleaner. Doesn't smell , either. Maybe I can use the Lumene to shave my legs...

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/20/2011 11:36:00 AM More reviews by vesquer

Age: 25-29 Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

After using this cleanser for about 2 months.. I can tell you this is my HG cleanser. I use it at night... I put two pumps on my wet hands and smooth it over my face....... after my face does not feel dry nor do i feel that I need to moisturize right after. I usually remove my makeup with a babywipe then cleanse my face and my face feels clean. Sometimes I use witchhazle as a toner and usually the cotton pad is not all grimy or gross. This cleanser also does not irriatate my dermatitis under my eyes that I suffer from. I hope they never discontinue this product

Is this review helpful? Yes No