September 20, 2014 | 1843 users online

Other - Remington - Smooth Silky Epilator



image 0

rated 4.6(8 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.6
  • 100% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.6
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 3/27/2014 10:30:00 PM More reviews by povertyd

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Hi guys! So I reviewed the Braun 7681 earlier.. I bought that for $150. But I couldn't justify keeping it for that price and it didn't get all the hairs no matter how many times I passed through the area. Luckily London Drugs has an amazing return policy.

I bought the Remington EP7010 it was on sale for $35. I got it because I read pretty good reviews on it and it's really cheap. So I tried it on some of the hairs left over on my legs and it was effective in removing them just like the $150 one. It just doesn't have the diff heads and the light.

I tried it on my upper lip and while it did get several hairs, it also broke off some hairs, and I was using it on the first setting. So I plucked the ones it broke off. But the hair on my upper lip is very light and fine so that may be why it wasn't as effective as I'd like it to be. So I'll prolly try it once more when it grows back and if it does the same thing I'll just continue to wax it.

I can't say how it is on the underarms because I did 95% of it yesterday and the rest is too short still to try it. So I will update my review when I try this model on my underarms and I'll try once more on my Brazilian.. (That hurt like a mofo!) I still have red spots on there I only did like half of the top part..

My skin, though, is still pretty sore after epilating yesterday.

So in conclusion, I gave this epilator 4 lippies because so far it is just as effective as the $150 Braun.. And it is $35! I really like it so far. The real test is if it is as effective on my underarms as the Braun. Like I said I'll update after I've used it on my underarms. I'll be extremely happy with it if it is and will change to 5 lippies. And I'm sure it will be, I looked at the heads of both of them and they seem to look the same to me but what do I know about the difference in the heads!

Thank you for your time

Update:

March 14/2014

Hi guys! So I can confirm that this epilator is as effective as the $150 Braun. I had the chance to use it on my underarms and a bit on my Brazilian and it works just as good. I probably won't use it on my Brazilian anymore because when I try to use it on my sides, (not bikini) it feels like its sucking in my skin which doesn't feel good. Both epilators grabbed the hair just the same, which doesn't grab all of them. But that's okay. For $35 I will keep it for what it does, not for $150.

My only complaints is that the hair goes all over the outside of the machine and can get messy but oh well it's a quick clean up, also that I'm not 100% hair free no matter how long I use it for.

Overall, I'm extremely happy with this epilator. I will update again after a while to say how the machine holds up for me.

Thank you

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 11/14/2011 12:35:00 PM More reviews by sorrels88

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium Eyes: Brown

Update from 2014 is at the bottom of the original review :)

2011: I purchased the Remington EP6010 Silky&Smooth Epilator from Walmart for $30. I have really dense, thick, dark fast-growing hair and extremely sensitive skin--a hair removal nightmare. My hair has plagued me for almost a decade and I'm sick of shaving daily or growing out my hair to wax. This epilator has been the best purchase I made all year, I wish I had got it sooner!

Why this epilator is a good product for me:

Quick hair removal - took me 30 minutes per leg below the upper knee. About 15 minutes per arm. Haven't tried my upper leg or bikini yet, but will be once the hair grows out again.

Plug in - no need for batteries or recharging in order to use. No risk of the epilator dying mid-leg. Use right out of the box.

Two speeds - for thick and thin hair. I found there was no difference in sensation, though the faster speed removed hair quicker. The slower speed is good for bony areas like your hands and knees.

Pressure sensor - epilator slows down when you press too hard to your skin. There's no risk of pinching yourself. I had no problems while using it, and don't believe it's possible to hurt yourself using this. (Some epilators have been known to pinch.)

Noise - this epilator isn't as noisy as some. I watch TV or put on music to cover up the noise, which also helps pass the time.

Pain - the initial sensation is similar to waxing, but after a minute I hardly noticed anymore. Because my hair is so dense and thick, I probably experienced more of a sensation than most women would with this product. I don't find the sensation is hard to handle and I actually enjoy it after a bit.

Short growth time - I only have to wait 2 to 4 days for my hair to grow out before I can use the epilator. Perfect. Then my legs are smooth for over a month, with few retouches.

All in all, the Remington epilator was a 5/5 star purchase and worth every penny. I have recommended it to my friends, and if this one ever dies, I will buy a new one asap. For anyone who suffers from annoying and difficult hair like me, this product is a godsend. My boyfriend loves how lovely my legs are now and I don't have to suffer the embarrassment of shaving once or twice a day to keep them smooth for him. Not to mention I can wear shorts and skirts again without having dark undergrowth dots show on my skin....And no more razor burn!!!

UPDATE 07/03/2014

So I've been using this product for almost 4 years now and here are some new things I have to say about it. Overall, it's still the best hair removal product I've ever used. I use it a couple times a month all over my body (legs, thighs, bikini, arms, underarms etc). I still have to shave after using the product unless I spend more time letting hair grow out (over a week, which is comparable to waxing wait time) but because I usually wait only 3 or 4 days, there are short hairs that can't be caught by the epilator. This is fine for me because my hair is so densely populated on these areas of my body, the epilator helps me greatly reduce the amount of time spent shaving anyway(and I get a lot less or no razor burn).

Some cons that I've noticed over the years that are specific to my skin problems and use:

I get a lot of ingrown hairs and clogged follicles (I always get them, even years before I ever waxed, shaved or epilated because my skin is whack and crazy sensitive), but I find they like to show up about 2 days after I epilate. I don't always exfoliate before and after I epilate, but this step is absolutely needed if you have finicky skin like mine. I've realized now that I need to exfoliate daily with a loofah and possibly also get an astringent/chemical exfoliate.

If you have paper thin areas of skin (like around the bikini crease, or stretch marks), be super cautious and stretch the skin as much as you can, or avoid these areas. If I'm not careful, these delicate areas can be pinched by the tweezers. I've never been cut by it but it can result in a small blood bruise beneath the skin. This has only ever happened when I was careless going over some stretch marks that I have near my bikini line and abdomen.

Be careful not to drop or tap (bang) the epilator against surfaces. This causes the little metal balls (in head of the epilator which I believe help it rotate) to become misaligned or dislodged. This can cause the epilator to heat up or become a pinching risk. I replaced the epilator when this happens.
It's happened with both epilators I purchased (both around 1.5-2 years old), but it's because I was tapping them against a chair to dislodge baby powder buildup because I didn't want to take the time to shut it off and clean it properly with the including brush.

++++

The lifespan of this product is at least 2 years with rough, continuous use. With gentle care, lifespan is estimated to be 3-5 years of use. For a cost of $30 to $40, it's a stellar deal. I believe this product is best for people who have troublesome hair woes and want to reduce visible dark hair after shaving and speed up daily hair management--where only shaving just doesn't cut it! Ladies with blessed sparse, light, slow growing hair--this product may be a waste of your time.

Overall, after 4 years, this is a product I will continue to purchase until the day that I magically don't grow leg hair comes around.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 10/24/2011 1:57:00 AM More reviews by roarwoman

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Green

Hi all! Just a quick tip. Buy some Lidocain, 0.05%, apply a light coat to the area that you are going to treat, leave on between 10-15mins and then shave away. Excellent for around the bikini and armpit area. You need an Rx for the Lidocain, but a tube should last for months.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 10/3/2011 1:10:00 AM More reviews by coloredpencils

Age: 44-55 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

This is a review for the Remington smooth & silky for the pubic area.I am allergic to wax. Shaving gives me the nasty red bumps. Tried this shaver and LOVE. Three heads to get all around town. And smooth. No irritation. Highly recommend for the sensitive. Sheesh can't believe I'm reviewing this, but hope it helps others like myself who just want an easier, softer way. Heh.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/6/2011 5:42:00 PM More reviews by danammelvin

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

I am really loving the outcome of using this epilator! It can be very painful, for me on my upper lip and my arm pits kill. I did my underarms once and I don't know if I can suck it up to do it again. But, I love using this on my legs and on my chin and upper lip. I went from plucking my chin for 20 mins a day to epilating once every 2 weeks. Most epilators claim no shaving for 4-6 weeks which I can attest for on my legs and arm pits, but with my face its a little more frequent, but that is probably just me. Long story short I will probably epilate for the rest of my life. I really like the long packaging and the silver and purple colors of this one.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 6/5/2011 12:38:00 PM More reviews by albs

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Green

I haven't shaved since November and I certainly don't miss it. I like that this epilator is fairly no-frills- it gets the job done. Yes it hurts a bit and yes it's rather noisy but you get used to both after a few times. I use this on both my underarms and legs and it works very well on both though legs can be time consuming. I love that I don't have to worry about stubble any more and even if I am getting a bit hairy again you can't even really tell. I also love that I don't waste a bunch of water standing in the shower. In the long run this WILL save you money if you use it for an extended period of time. Razor blades can get pricey and lets not even talk about the cost of waxing treatments. As I said, there is discomfort at first but it lessens every time you epilate. You'll probably even notice less hair growth. Never going back to any other method of hair removal.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 7/31/2010 9:07:00 AM More reviews by VanillaTwilight94

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

Very cute. I'm not sure what model I bought but it works well. I used it on my underarms and yes, it kinda hurt, but not as bad as I thought it was going to. I've never been able to get completly smooth underarms until now! I'm very glad I bought this and I actually can't wait to use it again!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 3/24/2007 3:10:00 PM More reviews by nyomya

Age: 30-35 Skin: Oily, Medium, Neutral Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Black

This is for Remington EP1000 Smooth & Silky Epilator. I use this mainly for hair from my upper lips. The cost is less than 3X of waxing ($25 from Amazon) and really worth the pain and price. One time, the Reggis stylist waxed out my skin and I had scar on my upper lip about a month :( Since then, I use this Remington and about 3 years already. It's also good for legs and underarms but I like Emjoi Gentle Gold Caress Epilator, which thouroghly removes hair without a trace. This Remington has only one speed and not as noisy or as painful as Emjoi. If you're new to epilator, try this Remington as the cost and pain are just half of Emjoi. Mine is still working great but I'll purchase again when I need a new one. I'd recommend to use Aloe Vera gel after removing hair as it saves skin from red or bumps. See picture: http://img.makeupalley.com/8/3/7/3/765244.JPG

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No