BeneFit Cosmetics Lightning Golden Lotion

2.2

33 reviews

9% would repurchase

Package Quality: 2.8

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 2.8

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 7/30/2005 10:20:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

i thought this was kind of expensive for shimmer lotion, but i sprung for it because it seemed like the effect would be subtle. it was-- it takes me 4 applications for this to really show up on my legs, and it's difficult to move the product around to make the shimmer even. definitely requires a tan, this looks bad on pale skin. i'm not throwing my bottle away, but i'll never buy this again.



on 6/20/2005 12:23:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Other, Warm

Hair: Blond, Other, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I swapped for this because I was bored. I wouldn't actually recommend it to anyone. It's cute, it's just a plain shimmery golden lotion in a tiny bottle, nothing special at all. If you're looking for a golden glow, go for Nivea Shimmer Lotion, which gives a great glow and smells fantastic.


on 10/5/2004 8:27:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

ICK! I remember I only purchased this product because at the time there were hardly any products like this on the market. It doesn't moisterize in the least and I only saw a very faint glow -even in direct sunlight (guess it was all on my hands!). Agree w/ everyone else, the scent is rancid. It was also way over priced. Little did I know I could have used baby oil gel & MAC shimmer and get a much better & cheaper effect!! Would never repurchase!


on 4/30/2004 4:02:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Gee, I find the cheaper glitter lotions out there have even less shimmer, or they have an obnoxious fragrance. Pale, sallow me likes Lightening, but I think it is hard to find now. Lightening leaves a subtle golden glow to my skin and provides a good base for my Kitten powder. I wash my hands after application, because my palms reminded me of the lady from Goldfinger. I think this stuff smells minty, but watch out if the applicator plugs...I squirted my face with the product while I was trying to get it unplugged!! I would buy again in spite of the price because I do not want to look like a stripper with too much glitter on, and this improves my pasty legs without looking fake.


on 4/12/2004 6:06:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Smells spoiled. If you can get past the scent, when it is mixed in with a liquid bronzer, it looks nice on legs -- but I am sure I could get this same effect with any less expensive, better smelling shimmer product. Gross 'corpse' color when used alone, though.


on 4/4/2004 12:23:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

So sad-- everyone hates this! I agree that the smell is NASTY and the lotion can be subtle, but I find it rather nice especially on sunny days. Not a fav, but good for back-up.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This did nothing for my skin, I put a few coats on and I couldn't see the difference. Very disappointing :(


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

It's ok. Not as obvious as body glitter and I did get complimented on it one of the few times I've worn it. Bought it cheap on ebay. Glad I didn't pay full price! Leaves hands funny gold colour. When I run out (don't use it often so not for a long time) I will go back to dotting my high beam on my collar bone and in my clevage.

*Edit* Put this up for swap. I will stick to my Urban Decay flavoured body powders or BeneFit Kitten.


on 8/23/2003 1:51:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I gave this two stars since it didn't make me break out. Like all Benefit products I have used, this too is overpriced and under-delivers. As a lotion, it is not moisturizing. It's not really a lotion in the moisturizing sense, it's more of a paint that's been added to emulsifiers to make it a lotion. My brother found this out the hard way -- he thought it was a regular lotion and was wondering why no matter how he put on his skin felt dry! Yes -- it leaves your hands a freakish gold color! It reminds me of that James Bond movie where people turn to gold. The actual effect was hard to pull off -- it's not subtle and the color just didn't fit my skin tone. I had to apply several times to get any kind of shimmer, and then the overall effect was very shimmery but just fake. I tried using it a few times and shelved it. I remember thinking at the time that this lotion would look bad on fairer skin tones but women with olive, tan, and deeper complexions would fare better.


on 7/9/2003 10:46:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

It was a huge disappointment. I was hoping to enhance my tan but instead it made me look pale. It was drying. Do not waste the money.




Top Rated BeneFit Cosmetics Products

image

NEW BrowZings

65 reviews
image

Rockateur

80 reviews
image

Dallas

533 reviews
image

Coralista

645 reviews
image

Hervana

97 reviews
Back to Top