The Body Shop Vitamin C Moisturizer

3.5

22 reviews

63% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$

Not tested on animals
The Body Shop is a Cruelty-Free Subsidiary.

INGREDIENTS

Water (Solvent/Diluent), Ethylhexyl Methoxycinnamate (Sunscreen), Isododecane (Solvent), Octisalate (Sunscreen), Octocrylene (Sunscreen), Hydrogenated Polydecene (Skin Conditioning Agent), Glycerin (Humectant), Glyceryl Stearate (Emulsifier), Arachidyl Alcohol (Emulsion Stabiliser), Butyl Methoxydibenzoylmethane (Sunscreen), Caprylyl Glycol (Skin Conditioning Agent), Behenyl Alcohol (Emollient), PEG-100 Stearate (Surfactant), Arachidyl Glucoside (Surfactant/Emulsifying Agent), Cetyl Alcohol (Emulsifier), Sesamum Indicum (Sesame) Seed Oil (Skin-Conditioning Agent), Tetrahexyldecyl Ascorbate (Antioxidant), Phenoxyethanol (Preservative), Acrylamide/Ammonium Acrylate Copolymer (Binder), Fragrance (Fragrance), Xanthan Gum (Viscosity Modifier), Dimethicone (Skin Conditioning Agent), Polyisobutene (Binder), Myrciaria Dubia Fruit Extract (Skin-Conditioning Agent), Disodium EDTA (Chelating Agent), Sorbic Acid (Preservative), Linalool (Fragrance Ingredient), Polysorbate 20 (Emulsifier), Sorbitan Isostearate (Emulsifier), Limonene (Fragrance Ingredient), Benzyl Benzoate (Solvent), Potassium Sorbate (Preservative), Hexyl Cinnamal (Fragrance Ingredient), Citronellol (Fragrance Ingredient)


on 3/22/2015 12:06:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Other, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I was looking for a daytime moisturizer with SPF and this moisturizer was a convenient choice for me.
I'm very weary of moisturizers with sunscreen as they only come with a myriad of problems, especially for my oily, acne-prone skin. This moisturizer was alright - I mean, it got the job done, I guess. I used it during the daytime under my makeup and since my breakouts are under control, I wasn't TOO worried about slathering this stuff on my face. To my knowledge, it hasn't broken me out or made my skin worse or anything.
However, I was oily within an hour and the product made my skin look very aged ... it had an oily sheen and my makeup did not hold very well. Also, it's not very lightweight.
Overall, this product didn't work very well with my combination skin and the only incentive I have to use it OCCASIONALLY is the sun protection that is in the product.



on 11/21/2014 7:35:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

Breaks me out, and my 50 year old mom too! Horrible product! Who's going to think of us oily and sensitive skins?


on 3/11/2014 11:43:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Black

I like to change it up and use a variety of SPF moisturizers, so when TBS was having another one of their sales I decided to pick this up. I didn't realize until I got home and looked at the ingredients that this is a chemical sunscreen (I usually go for physical). I became a little weary when I found that out because the ingredient Avobenzone is supposedly notorious for clogging pores. But I've been using this on and off for about a month now and so far, my skin hasn't had any issues with this. I like that unlike physical sunscreens, this doesn't take forever to rub in and it doesn't leave a white cast. However, it does leave an oily/shiny residue that never quite goes away. My skin is pretty good so I usually don't even bother with foundation/face make-up; but with this moisturizer I HAVE to apply some sort of powder to neutralize the shine. One thing that should be noted is that this STINGS terribly if it gets into your eyes. Chemical sunscreens break down over the course of the day so in order to get the full SPF benefit, this needs to be reapplied every 2 hours...but who really has the time to do that?! I've taken to applying an SPF 50 powder sunscreen (Physicians Formula Healthy Wear) over this for extra protection.

I tend to over-apply my sunscreen moisturizers in order to get the full SPF benefit so this small tube probably won't last me very long. $20 is pretty steep for something that I'd have to repurchase monthly, but I only ever buy from TBS during their sales. This is more hydrating than any other SPF moisturizer I've ever tried. I definitely like this better than the other TBS moisturizers with SPF (Seaweed and Vitamin E), but I'm still on the hunt for the perfect sunscreen moisturizer.

So all in all, this is a pretty good SPF moisturizer. It will suffice until I find something better...


on 3/4/2014 1:22:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I was looking to try moisturisers with high SPFs, and was attracted by the smell and the Vitamin C hype. This didn't work for me at all, even though it had a nice scent and absorbed very quickly, and didnít feel greasy. On using it for the first time, I could already see this crop of pale red bumps on right cheek after a couple of hours of sweating and some time in the sunlight! I had a mild burning sensation when applied. I waited for a week and tried it again. I still had the slight burning sensation which lasted even after 30min or so had elapsed, and the red bumps appeared again after a few hours. I decided not to bother trying it again and gave it it away to an 18-year-old student of mine, who has been using it with no problems / reactions. I really regret not testing it out on my jawline for a few hours before buying this. I bought Neutrogena SPF 50 Ultra Sheer helioplex moisturiser around the same time, and it worked much better - no reaction, and a higher SPF without giving my skin a whitish cast.


on 2/23/2014 8:30:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have dry skin and it looked very dull lately. I have been using my Mac moisturizer which actually dried out my skin so much - it needed an urgent recovery.

I was skeptical about Vit C moisturizer, because all the reviews been saying different things. But now that I use it, here is what I think:

Best for: this is a great product if your skin is dry. seriously, you don't need much of this product, because it is quite thick and small amount goes a long way.

Scent: this product has a very distinctive citrus scent to it (as the Vit C part suggests), however I don't find it over-powering or annoying (I usually don't like scents to my skincare, but this one is pretty fine).
For more candid in-depth reviews on other beauty/makeup products head here: http://thepartyparrot.wix.com/partyparrotblog
Feel: on my skin this moisturizer feels amazing. I don't use SPF foundation, so this product protects my skin just fine.

I can't really say whether I feel the brightening effect or not, but for the price and quality - I believe this is a very good product.

For more reviews head here:
http://theppb.wix.com/thepartyparrotblog


on 1/18/2014 3:29:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I found this product simply by searching online for an excellent moisturizer. I thought why not give it a try since it was one of the most affordable compared to others. It sits well with my skin and leaves it radiant.

For those who take or plan on taking Accutane, this is a great moisturizer to use for the dry skin. A bonus is that it also has SPF 20. I've repurchased this 3 times already and don't plan on switching moisturizers for daytime.


on 1/7/2013 3:51:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

This has been my favorite daily moisturizer for about 5 years now. Every time I'm about to finish my tube, I tell myself that it's time to try something new, but I always end up buying the same one! I love everything about it: it smells really nice, one tube goes a long way and therefore I don't think it's pricey, and most importantly it feels great on my face skin. I have normal skin, not sensitive, not too dry, but every morning after shower I feel an urge to moisturize it and putting on this Vitamin C moisturizer feels amazing. It gets absorbed really fast, so I can continue with my make-up right away.
I never had any skin irritation from this product, but then again, I rarely have those kind of problems...

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/20/2012 10:06:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I have combination skin prone to breakouts. I bought this product based on good reviews, and spf 30. Well, I was very disapointed. This is so, so thick, thicker than old-style sunscreens, and makes you look white too... Also I had nasty breakouts in my jaw line. So I gave it to my mother, who has normal to dry skin, to use it in the garden.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I like this moisturizer - I got it on sale in a squeeze tube for $5 or $8 (both a good deal). I have oily skin with a few pimples, and this was really nice daytime moisturizer. It's very light and soaks easily into the skin. It seems really nice too - like face lotion and fruits.
I said I'd repurchase but I'm going to try some new things before I try this. I'm not sure of the regular price of this and I just enjoy trying new things.
Good moisturizer for sure, though.


on 5/30/2011 8:40:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I actually feel like this makes my skin glow! I like the scent and it keeps my skin soft. I had a small breakout after i started it, but it has gone away. This has spf so it is great. I wear it under makeup


Back to Top