November 23, 2014 | 966 users online

Eye Shadow - Maybelline - Shadow Stylist in Sleek Brown

no image

rated 2.7(10 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 2.7
  • 50% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.0
  • Price: $

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 8/12/2010 10:42:00 PM More reviews by KittyBaditty

Age: 30-35 Skin: Oily, Olive, Cool Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Hazel

I put off reviewing this for the longest time because I just couldn't find a way of using it. For starters the applicator didn't do anything useful (too chunky for a thin line, too hard for blending, too stumpy for lip application) and the fallout I got whenever I used it was terrible. This was relegated to the vanity drawer where products go to die...
But then! I rediscovered this yesterday and decided to try a quick smokey eye look. I pressed the applicator all over the outer corner of my eye in a messy, dotty way, then used a proper brush to blend it out. Then I put a liner brush into the pottle to collect some powder, pressed that into my upper lashline, and blinked a few times. The fallout ended up along my lower lashline a bit like traditional kohl, so I just smudged it out with a small soft brush and added mascara. Perfect!
I'm not sure how else I could ever use this, and can't testify to it's staying power as I had to wash it off straight away to go to bed. The fallout was pretty obvious every time I squinted, but the results were good., and to be fair I never used a primer or fixing medium.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/5/2009 4:32:00 PM More reviews by Missyb1984

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Other, Warm Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Saw the entire line of these at my local Dollar Tree and figured I'd give them a try....LOVE LOVE LOVE! The applicator thing is worthless, but the shadows inside are super pigmented, have a lovely satin finish with no annoying chunky glitter and blend like a dream.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 1/28/2009 12:07:00 AM More reviews by maggsmakeup

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

unlike the other reviewers, i actually like this product. the brush is soft and easy to handle. the color is gorgeous, it's not filled with excess glitter chunks; it's really color. i got this for 50% off at cvs, which was a steal so i snagged it! im wondering if i should depot it..but i don't know how. help?
GREAT PRODUCT!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 3/15/2007 3:47:00 PM More reviews by elgw

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Green

This product did not work for me at all! As mentioned by other reviewers, the powder got all over the place no matter how careful I was with it! I like the colour for creating a smokey eye, but it is way too much hassle and mess for me! Would not buy again!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 1/27/2007 2:04:00 PM More reviews by natysik

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

Extremely messy! Got it in grey, which ended up being all under my eyes! So I had to wipe it off to avoid black undereye circles. Hate it.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 11/25/2006 10:56:00 PM More reviews by Michawn

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

WAAAAA! I SO wanted this to work, I had read so many great things on here about these, but alas, my search continues. The colors I got, Vintage Champagne, violet, brown and wine were all pretty but not very saturated. BUT they ALL dropped on my cheeks, no matter if I scraped, tapped or rubbed the color off before I put it on. Besides, when I did most of those, the color needed to be applied over and over to make it really pop. Too bad as I don't have a close by CVS in CA and am in AZ on vacation, they were BOGOF w/a $1 coupon too! Too bad!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 10/4/2006 7:53:00 AM More reviews by ultimagrl

Age: 36-43 Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I really like the packaging of this product. I think the idea is great but it still misses the mark. I am very fair and bought this in Sleek Brown. This is the darkest brown I have ever used - it almost looks black on me which I don't like. Also, I can't just use the applicator and go - I still have to blend with a brush because the color is so dark. It defeats the purpose, in my opinion, if I have to use a brush to blend. I thought this would make morning eyeshadow application faster but it doesn't. Some of the lighter colors might work out a little better but this one is way too dark for most people to use. I hope that Maybelline works on their color selection but keeps the great packaging. I may repurchase another color but will not repurchase the brown.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 9/24/2006 10:27:00 PM More reviews by KarentheRockstar

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I got the Shadow Stylist Eyeshow in about 6 different colors, and I think it's great, I love the applicator! It's versatile, you can be very precise and defined with it, or it blends great as well.
I like the light off-white shade (I don't remember the exact name of the color), it works great as a hightlighter. I use it on the inner corners of my eyes, and on my brow bone and cheeks as well.
Yes, some dust does fall on my cheeks when I am applying it, but it's not that bad, I just blow it off and then it leaves no residue. It's no worse than other eyeshadows.
I would highly recommend this product, I think it's the best eyeshadow I've ever owned.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 9/22/2006 6:21:00 PM More reviews by eppia

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I'm giving it two stars because I loved the shape of the applicator--I wish I could get one without the shadow! The shadow itself was a nice color but, like the reviewer below stated, it went everywhere--and not just little flecks of it either! Huge drops of powder landed on my lashes, my cheeks, my lips, my shirt, and my counter. HUGE mess.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 9/22/2006 3:31:00 PM More reviews by tsaraya29

Age: 30-35 Skin: Dry, Dark, Warm Hair: Black, Kinky, Coarse Eyes: Brown

This was an item I RIS, and I'm glad because I'd never buy it. This was the messiest shadow I've ever tried to use. It was all over the place, ( face & cheek) from the powder falling everywhere and I had to remove my makeup after trying to apply this. Maybe the item I received was defective?

Is this review helpful? Yes No