October 31, 2014 | 823 users online

Hair Styling Tools - Corioliss



image 0

rated 3.1(36 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.1
  • 41% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.7
  • Price: $$$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 7/11/2014 11:14:00 AM More reviews by Fendergrl

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I am surprised by all the negative reviews about this product. Let me just start off by saying that I bought this flat iron 8 years ago! Yes! 8 years ago and I still have it and still works like new! This flat iron has gotten wet countless times, and has fallen harshly on the hard floor numerous times! The plate is chipped off on the edge from the falls and it still works like they day I bought it!

Aside from the durability, it just works! I am Hispanic and have been cursed with curly, nappy, hard-to-manage hair, and this flat iron actually works on me!

To close my review, I use this flat iron about 5-6 times a week, so I am a constant user of it. Like I said, I have dropped it so much and have wet it by accident to the point where it should be life less by now , and during 8 years it has gone through so much; has come to vacations with me everywhere, and through all the battle wounds , the durability still baffles me to this day.......

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 7/14/2013 5:11:00 PM More reviews by FusiaFever

Age: 25-29 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium Eyes: Blue

This was my first hair straightener. I got my hair done at the kiosk, so that I knew it worked. I got the straightener on ebay for around $60. It worked so well that many of the people around me would ask to borrow my straightener. It was definitely better than any of the drugstore brand straighteners or Hot Tools. I always got the ones with the ceramic plates and covered in tourmaline.

CONS- The straightener wouldn't straighten as well over time. In fact, I noticed that it got worse with every use. After about a year, I had to swipe each hair piece 2-3 times to get it sort of straight. I had to buy a new edition every 1.5 yrs for $60.

Eventually, I got frustrated enough to venture into other brands. Some of the popular pricer straighteners last longer and work better from the get-go.

Overall, I would not repurchase this straightener. It probably is a decent tool for someone with already straight hair to fix it up.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 12/19/2012 7:53:00 AM More reviews by ClaireButtons

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium Eyes: Blue

I can't believe all the negative comments about this straightener - I love mine! It heats up so quickly, you can use it at a lower temperature than other straighteners & get excellent results, so less damage. It curls beautifully & smoothly & has a nice long chord.
The one complaint that I do have is that the control box on mine is broken & I just get a message saying 'ERR' - I googled this & it seems to be quite a common problem with this straightener (the C2, that is). So, it's gone to a repair man to see if it can be fixed (please, God!!!!!) & I'm hoping that'll sort the problem.
But yes, this is great & beats the ceramic straighteners any day!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 9/3/2012 10:35:00 PM More reviews by VerySplendid

Age: 36-43 Skin: Dry, Olive, Neutral Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Brown


I won the red leopard straightener in a drinking game from someone whose family own Corioliss. It looks pretty!

Unfortunately, I must join the chorus of 'awful product which fried my hair!'. When I got this, it cost as much as a GHD..!! Unbelievable.

I would not pay a single cent for this or recommend it to anyone. At the time, I also owned a straightener from Boots which cost 9.99 and when I came back to Australia I had to ditch one due to luggage restrictions. Corioliss stayed in England & Boots came home with me.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 7/9/2012 10:27:00 PM More reviews by Marjacobs27

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Medium Brown, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Terrible, just terrible! Felt like I was damaging my hair on each pass, even with heat protectant. I wish I had gone for the Karmin G3 salon pro instead of this trash!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 4/3/2012 11:41:00 AM More reviews by shopaholick

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

WARNING: So I purchased the CORIOLISS C2 irons a few yrs back and even though my straight, fine textured hair did not require such heavy duty straighteners I decided to purchase like teenagers often do when we like the look of something . This produces lovely curls and straightens well - however there are better and more safer products in the market...I can only use the irons on 180dgs max and I did a couple of times my hair looked like it had been given a glossy touch and no serum was needed however over time I realised that each time i used the straightener my hair required a trim as it cause SPLIT ENDS on my long hair, I did not have them before. After some research i have found that titanium plates on the c2 may not be so great for finer hair types. Additionally you have to wear these finger gloves when straightnening or otherwise you could end u with a serious burn so friends must be warned if they come over and want to use your irons otherwise they could end up with a nasty burn too. I found the heat protection spray caused my hair to go stiff and the split ends protector damaged my ends and my hair it was too sticky. I would not recommend these irons to anyone with fine hair and for others I would recommend anything but this as you could seriously burn yourself. TOO EXPENSIVE HAIR DAMGED AFTER EVERY USE AND FELT LIKE IT WAS FRIED. NOT SAFE WHEN EVERYONES IN A RUSH AND THE IRON IS BEING USED BY MULTIPLE PEOPLE OR AROUND CHILDREN.
UPDATE: AFTER USING THE GHD HEAT STYLE SPRAY BEFORE STRAIGHTENING HAIR- I NOTICED MY HAIR WAS LESS DAMAGED AFTER STRAIGHTENING IT- THE CORIOLISS PRODUCTS DID NOT WORK AND TURNED MY FINE HAIR INTO A FLAT AND STICKY MESS.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 8/17/2010 5:42:00 PM More reviews by SugarxSpice

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

TRASH! This defines this hair straightener.
Like many people, i was dragged into the little kiosk that tried to convince me and my sister to buying it.
They convinced my sister good but me, not a chance.
I was looking at the GHD hair straightener at Sephora but it was like $250 so i was planning to save up for it.
The sales person who was selling the corioliss was practically begging us to buy it, my sister got the purple one.
Me and my sister share a hair straightener, and previously were using a conair straightener. I tossed out the conair one because i thought that anything would be better than the conair, but i was wrong.
They work just about the same, does the job alright but fries your hair good. My hair is so crispy like chips it so terrible! But when i used my friends CHI flat iron my hair was alot better, it was more smoothe!
Honestly dont waste your cash on this trash, save it for a CHI or GHD!
And if the sales people suck you into to the kiosk, just walk away!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 8/1/2010 1:59:00 AM More reviews by keim

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Brown

The first model I had of the coriollis was good.I had to buy a 2nd one because my Mom kept using the one I bought. I've had the new one for 2 years and it sucks.I have thick,coarse, wavy hair. It's also dry.My hair doesn't get straight with this flat iron anymore.I just bought a Sedu from follicia.com. I hear it's amazing. I can't wait! It does an ok job but I would never buy it again.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 11/20/2009 3:08:00 AM More reviews by mnf4ever

Age: 25-29 Skin: Very Oily, Tan, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Black

I bought this at a mall kiosk. It is the 1" Classic pro black one. The reason I liked it is because when they did my hair, it came out super silky and healthy and straight in just one swipe. They also did a section of my hair and gave me shiny, bouncy, curls. The salesperson was very persuading and aggressive, however he was able to show me the bad quality of the CHI and GHD flat irons--they had cut those models in half to show that their plates were not 100% ceramic, but metal on the inside. He also showed me a Corioliss cut in half, and claimed it was a 100% solid ceramic plate. I really haggled him for the price, and paid $80 for mine, which also includes a 2 year warranty if I ever needed a replacement, and also got him to agree to 5 free visits Mon-Thurs for them to style my hair. He was really irritated and impressed with my bargaining skills and even offered me a job on the spot!! Of course I refused lol!!



Anyhoo, after 2 months of use, I can say that I am a happy camper. It heats up in about 10 seconds give or take. All I need is one swipe per 1" section of hair to get gorgeous results. I use this iron to curl and straighten my hair about 2-3 times a week. It takes me about 8 minutes to straighten my long, thick hair. My hair stays straight and silky for as long as my next shower/shampoo. Also, when I curl my hair with this iron, it will stay curly without any hairspray and stay curly until my next shampoo. It takes me 10 minutes to curl my whole head of hair. So far, I have gotten compliments about how shiny my hair is, and people are always asking me if I dyed my hair (my hair is naturally a rich, black color). You can adjust the temperature setting on this up to 410 degrees. Since I have thick, slightly wavy hair, I always use this setting. As always, make sure you use a heat protectant serum! I use Citre Shine anti-frizz at the moment and I love it. For the most part, I like that I can rely on this iron to give me quick, salon quality results in just 10 minutes or less.



The only cons for this product is my hair will slightly smell burnt after doing my hair, but the odor fades eventually. I also wish they would incorporate a small rubber grip at the end of the iron so my fingers wouldn't feel like they were going to fall off due to the high heat.



Verdict: Does this product do its job? Yes. Would I buy again? No. I think I could have found a similar product for a lower price. I think you can get this iron WAY cheaper off of ebay or other websites. I was reluctant to buy online because I am always afraid of getting a fake. Oh well, I am just happy that I got 5 free visits out of them! continued >>

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 8/7/2009 9:45:00 AM More reviews by pampam31

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Black, Kinky, Coarse Eyes: Brown

For straightening, I don't like this at all. I usually shower at night and straighten my hair afterwards. One day I tried this out with my mum's Corioliss and although it looked wonderful after I straightened it, the next night it was so frizzy! My Remington is even better than this as my hair stays straight and sleek.

But I do love this for curling my hair, the curls are perfect and they look very shiny and nice. If only I curled my hair more often...

Is this review helpful? Yes No