April 24, 2014 | 1353 users online

Lotions/ Creams - Baby Magic - Calming Baby Lotion



image 0

rated 5.0(5 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 5.0
  • 100% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.0
  • Price: $

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 9/11/2013 11:14:00 PM More reviews by countrygyrl

Age: 36-43 Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

Love this stuff, for me its a multitasker, I can use it everywhere, body, hands, face and even hair. I may love it more than the classic pink Johnsons baby lotion (love that one too.). This has a wonderful scent, its not as strong as the Johnsons nightime one. Its softer smelling, a traditonal baby lotion scent with sweet lavender and chamomile. Longer lasting scent than Johnsons pink. Baby Magic seems a bit thicker and more moisturizing than Johnsons (better for my hands), although I think Johnsons leaves me a bit softer and absorbs quicker. However, Baby Magic Calming contains coconut oil a bit of panthenol which is a big plus to me. So, I also prefer Baby Magic more than Johnsons as a leave -in for my hair and as an eye cream . I still use Johnsons on my face ,as a moisturizer and makeup remover, and generally as body lotion in the morning only. I won't give up my Johnsons pink but Baby Magic Calming is definately a new staple. I love to slather it on before bed- so comforting. I got the big pump bottle for about $4.50 at Walmart. Alot of stores around here don't carry it but its worth it if you can find it.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 6/27/2013 7:07:00 PM More reviews by lotusfairy

Age: 25-29 Skin: Oily, Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium Eyes: Brown

I love this for both my dd and I. It does indeed have a very soothing and relaxing scent and it is not obnoxious. It doesn't leave a tacky feeling on my skin and it does a pretty good job of lightly moisturizing our skin when we don't want to use anything too heavy. I actually prefer this version to the J&J brand. The scent seems to last a tiny bit longer. It doesn't aggravate my dd's eczema which is a plus, although I switch between other unscented lotions so I don't overwhelm her skin. The ingredients on my bottle match the ones the reviewer below me has. I also wish there were more scents, but so far this is great to use after a bath and before bedtime.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/11/2013 8:03:00 PM More reviews by jjampm

Age: 44-55 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

The formula has changed check out the ingredients!! No parabens or mineral oil, but it does have coconut oil and vitamins A &E. Amazing, especially when you consider it's only about $5 for the 30 ounce pump size!

Baby Magic Calming Lotion is fantastic! I can't believe how great my skin feels. It's smooth and soft and doesn't look like a desert landscape anymore. The lotion sinks in fast, and doesn't leave any greasy/oily residue on your skin. I love that when I put this on right after a shower I still feel clean, but my skin looks amazing and is SO soft!

The scent is a powdery, sweet, lavender smell. Hard to describe, but it's more grown-up than the usual baby scents and the more I use it the more I like it. I'd love for them to not change the formula, but have different scents and unscented available just for a change of pace once in awhile.

Ingredients as of this date:
Water
Glyceryl Stearate
Stearic Acid
Tricaprylyl Citrate
Cocos Nucifera Oil (Coconut Oil)
Sorbitol
Cetyl Alcohol
Dimethicone
Allantoin
Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice (Aloe Vera)
Tocopheryl Acetate
Retinyl Palmitate (Vitamin A)
Lavandula Angustifolia Extract (Lavender Extract)
Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) Flower Extract (Chamomile Extract)
Acrylates/C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer
Fragrance
Triethanolamine
Glycereth-2 Cocoate
Benzoic Acid
Disodium EDTA

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 12/2/2006 8:14:00 PM More reviews by niveous

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium Eyes: Brown

I love this little lotion, too! I bought a small 2 fl. oz bottle because I needed something that I could carry in a purse. The lavender & chamomile caught my attention, I wanted something soothing, so here we are. :D (It is made by Playtex - I didn't know Playtex made lotion!) The smell reminds me a bit of what Johnson & Johnson's baby shampoo used to smell like and brings back childhood memories. That aside, this is a great lotion, for both kids and adults - very moisturizing, smooth, yet not greasy at all. Just putting it on seems so comforting. It's a nice find that should not be passed up!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 9/1/2006 2:32:00 AM More reviews by fes_fsa

Age: 19-24 Skin: Very Dry, Olive, Neutral Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse Eyes: Brown

i have no idea how long this has been on the shelves, but i just discovered it 2 weeks ago and i'm loving the heck out of it! it makes my skin so soft and smooth and it beats any one of the baby lotions on the market hands down, because it doesn't have mineral oil OR glycerine in it (both of which dry out your skin terribly). i'm one of those people who will only moisturize after a shower, or after washing my face--any more than that would be bothersome to me, so i tend to look for highly moisturizing lotions or just use straight vegetable oils (coconut oil, usually). i wash my hands throughout the day and they tend to get very dry, because i won't lotion them until after i wash my face for the night. well, i had originally bought this lotion for my son--after i bath him, i lotion him up. after i'd lotioned him, my hands were incredibly soft. hand wash, after hand wash, they remained soft. i gave it a try after a shower, and it keeps my skin soft for hours.the consistency is thicker than your average lotion, but still too thin to be considered a cream. it comes in a pump dispenser (at least, that was the only type of container Wal-Mart carried this lotion in) and you get 30 ounces for around $5 bucks. i can't quite put my finger on the scent. when i apply it, it vaguely reminds me of Avon's Soft musk's dry down (on me), but when the scent of the lotion dries down a bit, it smells more like Houbigant's Chantilly. very comforting, kinda musky, very sweet, but it doesn't make you smell like a baby prostitute.the ingredients are: water, glyceryl stearate, stearic acid, tricaprylyl citrate, coconut oil, cetyl alcohol, dimethicone, aloe leaf juice, hydrolyzed milk protein, cocoa butter, peg-75 lanolin, sorbitol, triethanolamine, disodium edta, acrylates/c10-c30 alkyl acrylate crosspolymer, fragrance (lavender and chamomile) imidazolidinyl urea, methylparaben, propylparaben, quaternium-15.
update 2-23-07: i've found that if this lotion isn't moisturizing enough, you can add more oils to it. reading the ingredients list, it's all just emulsifiers and preservatives. i've had great success with a 60% lotion 40% EV olive oil emulsion using this product. just take the lotion out of the bottle, whip a bit of oil into it using a whisk, funnel it back into the bottle, and voila! also, there are NO petroleum products in this to break down your oils, so any natural oil is fair game. the olive oil emulsion is a decent moisturizer on my skin, honestly, i've felt better and healed dry skin faster with other lotions, but this is the only lotion i'll use on my 6 yr old son. he, like me, is eczema prone and this emulsion has completely eliminated it for him. for some reason, olive oil does nothing for me. i'm going to try a shea oil emulsion with this product and will update again later. continued >>

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No