OPI Quarter of a Cent-Cherry

4.6

39 reviews

87% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.6

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.6

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 7/11/2015 9:29:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love this red polish! It's one of my all-time favorites. The shade is so good! Quarter of a Cent-Cherry is a gorgeous, sexy, dark cherry-red. It dries to a shiny finish and looks amazing on the nail.
Excellent formula. Opaque in two coats and no problems with application or wear.
It's a must-have if you love red polishes. I would buy this one again and again. Recommended!



on 3/9/2013 11:58:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Lovely colour! This is a deeper red with a very glam feel to it. But mine chipped off after 2 days even with base and top coats and minimum hand activity.


on 3/8/2013 8:01:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I love this nail polish for fall/winter, but honestly its one that I would wear year around. I picked it up on sale at Target recently, and it was a great deal. The color is a great classic dark red. The only reason I knock off a point is because this stained my nails, even with a base coat. I will continue to use, but I might start applying two layers of base in the future.


on 11/6/2012 9:16:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is a true cherry red with a bit vintage feel to it. I truly like it for the winter.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Tan, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Quarter of a cent Cherry is from the Happy Anniversary Collection (2006) It still seems to be widely available on-line.
I ordered this in my quest to find a (non-shiny) red nail polish that will exactly match the red soles of my Louboutin shoes as I had heard reviewers say it is a true red. Hmmm - IMO it is a bit dark to be a true red so it did not meet my brief butů.that said - I do love the colour and think it is very glamorous. Its creamy based blood red, has a bit of a vintage Hollywood starlet feel to it. Great on both tips and toes - no complaints just not the shade I am looking for on this occasion, but happy to add it to my collection.

It applied like a dream (one coat wonder!) And I wore this polish for 3 days with no chipping at all. On the 4th day I put a glitter coat (of OPI Excuse Moi) on top. Looked fab but the glitter made it brittle and it chipped a bit after just a day.

I scored this a 4 because it is very flattering red and preferable to brighter reds like OPI Red my fotune Cookie.
Whilst I like the colour I am not sure I would buy again as there are lots of reds out there to try. And in terms of the Louboutin quest - the next polish I will try is OPI Big Apple Red.


on 6/20/2012 2:31:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

Finally, a new go-to red! This is what I was hoping Got The Blues For Red would be. GTBFR registered as far more of a brown-based burgandy on me as opposed to a blue-based cherry or blood red. Quarter of a Cent-Cherry is exactly what I was looking for. It's a beautiful blue-based cherry red (flattering on all skin tones- even my own super pale hands/feet that are sometimes blue-ish or pink due to a blood vessel issue) that looks more of a true blood-red in lower lighting. Not too bright or too dark, and not at all orangey... just perfect! I would say I will likely wear this year-round, as it is neither too cool nor too warm for any season and goes with just about anything. It's cute, it's classy... It's everything I want a red polish to be! It also applies easier and more evenly than GTBFR, which I found to be quite blotchy. This only requires 2 coats to be totally opaque and even, whereas GTBFR needed 3 or 4. I like the brush because it's flat so it's glides nicely on the nail, but it isn't too wide for my narrow nails either like some flat brushes tend to be. I got about a week's wear out of it (with a good base coat and top coat) with only minor tiny chips around the edges of a few nails and a bit of minor tip wear starting to appear. I would definitely repurchase!
Another point for this polish: I started painting my nails with this last week just before a power failure. It was just before sunset and very windy outside (so continuing out there was not an option) and I had just gotten the first coat on a few nails, so I decided to try to finish the application in front of a window using the little bit of sunlight that was still coming in. Despite the poor lighting conditions I had to work in, I was pleasantly surprised at how decent the application still looked once the power came back on. It's a pretty smooth and easy application with the good formula and brush combination!
Highly recommend!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 5/21/2012 2:26:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

In my opinion this is opi's best dark red. Ive never seen a skintone it does not flatter because as others have said, it really looks exactly like blood. It also has a vintage hollywood starlet quality! A very sexy color!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/14/2012 9:29:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is a really sexy classy gorgeous red. Its rich and deep and dark like blood. Its awesome and one of my favorite reds! I highly recommend this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/25/2011 8:52:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Other, Warm

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I adore this OPI color. I love reds, period, but this one is especially beautiful against my NC44 skin tone. A very classy looking color, it would be hard for anyone to go wrong wearing it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/22/2011 9:06:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Very Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Before discovering this colour, I tended not to wear reds - most reds available in nail polishes tend to be orange based, and don't suit my skin tone. This, however, is a true blue based red, really deep in colour, a real classic. As with most OPI colours, it applies evenly with a beautiful finish, and looks SO classy. I get comments all the time! This is similar to OPI's 'Got The Blues for Red', the only other red I wear, 'Quarter of a Cent Cherry' being very slightly lighter. I have heard rumours that they have been discontinued - I hope it's not true! If anyone has any information on this, it would be welcome; I have purchased 4 back up bottles just in case!

If' like me' you aren't a fan of orange reds, get this, you won't be disappointed!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Polishes


Miracle Gel
Miracle Gel
136 Reviews
Bubble Bath
Bubble Bath
359 Reviews
Ballet Slippers
Ballet Slippers
346 Reviews


Top Rated OPI Products

image

Koala Bear-y

75 reviews
image

Over The Taupe

73 reviews
image

Malaga Wine

153 reviews
image

Dutch Tulips

77 reviews
Back to Top