October 30, 2014 | 1686 users online

Fragrances - Abdul Kareem - Egyptian Musk

no image

rated 4.2(18 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.2
  • 61% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.4
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 3/17/2014 7:22:00 PM More reviews by fionarocks

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

Bought into it because I like Carolyn Bessette Kennedy, but I actually enjoy it on its own-it doesn't scream "musk", but it whispers it and is nice and soapy. It is beachy perfection. Really sexy but simple.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 8/7/2013 3:47:00 PM More reviews by staciarose22

Age: 30-35 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Green

I've heard about this being CBK's signature musk oil for years, but it was the 90's and I think there are better options now. I don't like subtle skin musks and prefer those that compliment my perfumes (not too masculine or sweet).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 8/6/2013 7:23:00 PM More reviews by holychiller

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Blue

I love this scent! I mostly use to layer with other fragrances or sometimes wear to work as it is very subtle. This brand is maybe a little 'soapy' smelling but in a nice way!

Whenever I wear it this musk always reminds me of summer for some reason and I would definitely recommend buying it if you like Egyptian Musks!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 12/29/2012 12:45:00 AM More reviews by Melzy323

Age: 36-43 Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm Hair: Red, Curly, Medium Eyes: Green

EDIT 2/22/13: This is a little TOO faint to wear on its own for me. Nice layered with my HG Child. Probably won't repurchase though.

I just received this musk today (Dec. 28th - after ordering it on Christmas!) and already it's my favorite EM! I agree completely with the last couple of reviews. It IS lighter than other EMs but with a sophisticated twist. There's a hint of white floral in there that's fresh and not at all cloying. And I would not compare it to a white musk. It's much more sophisticated than that. And yes, it does smell better than cheap "head shop" EM. Don't go by how it smells in the bottle or when you first apply it. This is an oil that sits close to your skin and "blooms" over time. You might be surprised to discover it actually smells stronger an hour or two (or more) after you apply it. The consistency is more oily or watery than other EMs. I also prefer not having a rollerball applicator so that's not an issue for me. Charlotte Vale-Allen's (writerinresidence) customer service is excellent. If you're a fan of EMs, this is a must try!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/22/2012 9:52:00 PM More reviews by leylynn82

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Hazel

Yes, I admit that I got suckered into purchasing this fragrance after reading about how Carolyn Bessette-Kennedy "allegedly" wore this oil. But! I loooove this fragrance. I always come back to it, especially before bed and just swoon more and more each time. I imagine this is great for layering. It is certainly not a "pure" smelling musk (no barnyard fecalness) but more of a powdery musk with a very slight hint of white floral. It's a friendly, skin-loving scent. Something I highly recommend anyone with a penchant for perfume oils to have within their wardrobe.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 5/25/2012 12:33:00 AM More reviews by Shadow_Witch

Age: 36-43 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Hazel

I have been wearing Egyptian Musk for over 20 years. I used to buy mine from the Lebanese supermarket in my old neighborhood. Since I moved to the other side of the continent, I've had to try others and none of them measured up. Until... Abdul Kareem. This is the real thing. It's a beautiful Egyptian Musk minus the stale note and the thick, waxy consistency common in cheap, head shop Egyptian Musk. HG and I will definitely repurchase when I run out.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 4/28/2012 10:13:00 PM More reviews by Quilley

Age: 44-55 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

It finally arrived today! After carefully reading reviews and comparing this musk to 2 others, I decided I indeed needed it for my (small) collection. This one is fresh without being "white", clean without fading away, yet it's lighter than AB's Egyptian Musk. (rich and sometimes overwhelming for at least the first hour) I also think it's a touch lighter than Egyptian Goddess, which I find very heavy and viscous. I think this hits right in the middle. I'm not yet sure of the staying power, but I'm into the second hour tonight and it's still very nice and holding its' own.

Note: I purchased my bottle through Amazon and then read a review that said Charlotte Vail was the only reputable distributor of AK so I was a bit nervous, but the package from the distributor "Writer In Residence" IS Charlotte Vail, so I am assured of a fresh, high quality product. The bottle is simply packaged, does not contain a roller-ball, which is fine with me and has a simple, sturdy black top. Several hours later I can tell for sure...this indeed "the one". I'm thrilled.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 3/8/2012 9:39:00 AM More reviews by str8thuggin

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

For me, other EM oils are better. If you look up "Egyptian Musk" on this site - not the Abdul Kareem brand, but just plain ole EM, you will find lots of good recommendations. It seems like the people who love this product do so because it is so soft, but for me, that is the problem. I can BARELY smell it at all, and have to literally douse myself in it just to get any scent. Good thing that it is not in a roller ball bottle because I would be rolling for days! I DO like the scent, but it is weak weak weak! And not very long-lasting either. I had to try it though since I am a huge EM fan, and people do seem to love it, but it's just not for me. I will stick to other EM brands in the future.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 3/2/2012 10:22:00 PM More reviews by LeMinx

Age: 30-35 Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse Eyes: Brown

I read about this musk being the favorite of the late Carolyn Bessette Kennedy's and decided to try it. Admittedly, I didn't like it at first but it eventually grew on me and has become one of my favorite perfume oils (Auric Blends Egyptian Goddess running closely behind). I found other Egyptian musks to be too cheap smelling, but I find Abdul Kareem's clean and fresh.

Like Egyptian Goddess, this oil lasts forever and a day when applied and almost always wins me a compliment or two when worn. It's a little expensive considering the amount, but is well worth the price. Since I don't use this daily, a bottle usually last me more than a year or so. Even when used daily, a little dab will do ya so a bottle should last at least six to eight months.


I wouldn't call this an HG product by any means, but it's a lovely scent to have on hand when you're looking for something a bit lighter to wear or even if you want a break from your usual perfume.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 5/4/2011 10:44:00 AM More reviews by queenofthenile

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium Eyes: Brown

I only detect the slightest difference between this and AB Egyptian Goddess. Both are slightly sweet with a soft, smoky drydown which I'm not too crazy about. They smell completely different (and both very beautiful) straight out of the bottle though. I think EG is slightly stronger and a bit longer lasting. And I prefer its rollerball design. So for those reasons, I won't be purchasing Abdul Kareem's version again.

Is this review helpful? Yes No