L'Oreal Frost & Design Dramatic High-Precision Highlights

3.9

35 reviews

82% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 3/24/2015 11:38:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

First time doing highlights at home. First off this product was awesome at lightening my hair. I didnt really expect it too. Now as for that darn plastic cap......... i absolutely hated the damn thing. It took me HOURS to pull my hair through the stupid holes. And i think a lot of the product went into the cap as well so just about all my hair is blond/yellow/goldish color except for about a 1/4 of it. I totally recommend this for highlights. But try and figure out how to do highlights without the cap! great product, but as soon as you buy it throw away the cap!



on 3/12/2015 11:03:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I have used basically every highlighting kit you can find at Walmart/Walgreens/Etc. I have made extreme errors in judgment; L'oreal Muti-Tonal Color System which is btw, only suited for shorter hair lengths and a two part process (I bought because I'm a dum dum and just liked the color of the model's highlights) and also just blue bleach and developer thinking I could foil them in like the pro I am not.

Anyways, I've used this product many times and this is what I like best:
1. Comes with a METAL hook. Have you ever tried pulling hair through the holey hair cap with a plastic hook? Both painful and traumatic.
2. Comes with toner. Like, how thoughtful of L'Oreal
3. The highlights always ALWAYS come out perfectly. Even when I've gone crazy and do too many sessions creating overlap of bleach, my hair is okay aftewards.


It's a littler pricier than other kits but it's cheaper than a salon and much cheaper than color correction and far more pleasant than humiliating orange streaks. Been there done that.




EDIT: I also want to add that this kit includes TWO bleach powders, 1 35v developer, and 1 'protective frosting cream' (I think the last is just a conditioner used to tone down the harshness of the bleach)
Because of the TWO packets of bleach, technically, if you have shorter hair you could use one packet, half the developer, and half the cream.

I also want to add that doing a root touch up for this seems nearly impossible, which is okay for me since I'm just going to let my roots grow out. But I see no way to pull the exact hair strands through the holes a 2nd time around nor do it easily without the cap and without bleeding.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 1/4/2015 11:06:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

What a nightmare! Instructions were easy enough. Pulling my hair through the cap was no easy task and i lost quite a few strands in the process. I knew this was a mistake no sooner than i had finished putting the dye on. I have a pixie cut and barely made a dent in the amount of product uses. I left it on for the minimize amount of time and couldn't wait to wash it out. I have dark brown hair which the product is recommended for. I now have very light brown to blond highlights!!!! Nothing like what the box results showed! I'm currently trying to reach color it with a medium dark brown. I pray this works!
If you had blonde HAIR MAYBE this is for you ... but no way would I recommend this for dark brown. Now I'm scared I'm damaging my hair coloring it twice back to back. (Normally I only color my hair 2-3 times a year. So be it ... I'd much rather have damaged normal looking hair color than look like a black haired girl who tried to go blonde!


on 9/11/2014 9:13:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Other, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

My first at-home highlighting attempt (was brightening my locks for a family reunion) has been a success and much better than my first and only expensive salon job (which I colored over). I used the caramel on my natural light brown/dark blonde hair and came out with a perfect sunkissed look. Will use again.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

On a whim earlier this week, I decided I wanted to add blonde highlights to my hair, which is naturally red. (What I'd really like to do is go platinum, but I am too afraid to do that at home.) I polled friends and family for the best method of adding highlights at home, and the kit that got the most positive votes was this one, L'Oreal Frost & Design. I got the Petit Frost kit which is the same thing, but on a smaller scale, since I have a pixie cut.

I was nervous, but the directions were easy to follow, and I had no trouble pulling my hair through the holes in the cap. I decided to only do the front/top part of my hair, since the rest was a little too short to pull through. The product had a pretty strong smell, but it is hair bleach, so I was expecting an odor. It was nothing the bathroom vent couldn't handle.

There is not a time directive for red hair in the instructions, which is the reason I only gave an overall rating of four lippies, so I guessed based on the others and left the bleach on for about 35 minutes. I rinsed it out in the shower, which made it easier to pull the cap off without pulling all my hair out at the same time. I liked the way the conditioning shampoo made my hair feel as well, and was happy with the level of lightening the bleach provided.

I did use a conditioner after using the shampoo, and I also used a leave-in conditioner before blow drying my hair, which helped avoid the damaged feeling bleached hair can have. Overall, I really liked this product and will use it the next time I'm feeling like brightening up my look. I have never colored my hair, at home or in the salon, so if I can use this kit and be happy with it, I think most people would feel the same.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/3/2013 4:18:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I just had my mother do my hair with this kit and it looks amazing, I had enough left so my sister did hers as well and it turned out great. I love this kit and its the Caramel highlights. Great results. Will be buying again. Highly recommended product. :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 7/21/2013 2:07:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

My actual rating = 3.5. Repurchase = maybe.


Like many others, due to time, expense and basically life in general, I gave up having my hair professionally foiled about 5 years ago and ever since have been coloring and/or highlighting w/ boxes. I have tried a huge variety of hair coloring brands/boxes and a few highlighting ones too. I have washed and saved some of the implements from different boxes and have actually ended up re-using my favs when my current box of choice's implements suck! (example - I have a plastic mixing spatula from a hi lite kit; the bottle/comb applicator from perfect 10 - I re-use this ALL the time; the plastic fingertip hi lite applicator from another L'Oreal hi lite kit (again - I use this one a lot) and a 4 pronged white paint brush hi lite applicator from god knows which hi lite kit).


I have not used a pull-through cap since I was about 10 and my mom was helping me. After starting DIY, I always thought going back to this method would be too time consuming, difficult and bad for my hair (due to all the pulling). Well, the other day, I was in Target, once again bored w/ my hair color {that happens a lot :) } and I must have been there the day BEFORE re-stocking day because the shelves were practically barren.


I saw this on the shelf, looking rather lonely and the color looked right (H5 caramel) for my (dark golden blond/light golden brown is the current color) hair and thought, what the hey hey - I wasn't looking for anything major or in-your-face, just some added dimension to my current color job.


Well - the cap lasted exactly 10 minutes on my head - I HATE THE CAP :P My scalp was sweating (along w/ the rest of me) and yes, I even had a fan directly on me! My DH is not the beauty assistant type (he is too busy laughing and rolling his eye - thanx dear) so I had to tackle this on my own - no problem - I can handle it...NOT! Apparently, I am cap challenged - had a heckuva a time getting hair to pull thru OR pulled really big chunks...I chucked the cap and (using one of my tools in reserve - the paintbrush in this instance) proceeded to paint on some highlights.


NOTE - once you mix everything up (don't you love home chemistry), there was enough cake frosting in that tub to do not only my highlights (I have a stacked bob w/ length below my chin in front, angling back to short in the back), but also my entire neighborhood's women's heads - seriously, how about packaging 1/2 the product amount and then charging 1/2 the price??? Also, I left the mixture in the tub for 35 minutes whilest I walked away to work on the computer killing time for the hair to lighten and when I returned to the bathroom, the mixture had aired up so that it was now heaped over the top of the tub (think foam insulation) - weird but kinda cool. :)


Anywhoo - the smell of the product is middle of the road = not horribly cataclysmic, but no bed of roses either. All in all, didn't bother me a whole lot. The smell of the shampoo is nice - not as nice as Revlon Colorsilk's conditioner, but that sets a VERY high bar.


Also, I wish the box top had the brand and product name on it like a lot of other boxes. If I like a box color or highlight, I tear off the box top and save so there are no questions when I go back to the store. This box top has a picture of the color and the color name, but that is it.


I rinsed out after 35 min, used the shampoo and then towel dried. Last step is to tone (a new one for me.) Thank god I cut only a teeny tiny hole in this packet - it is bright purple with the consistency of water. Basically, I sat w/ my head over the sink and dumped/massaged/combed this watery mess thru my hair (quickly cleaning up any purple water that landed on/in my sink.) I then blew dry = pretty, subtle highlights - just what I was looking for :)


Next time, (if I purchase this again), I will mix up 1/2 the product and leave the rest in packaging for a 2nd use.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I was stunned to see all the bad reviews. I get my hair highlighted at salon 3 to 4 times a year. And i've used this kit and this kit ONLY to touch up in between for years the 35 volume peroxide cuts the golds. I've always had excellent results on myself (med/drk brown natural hair), my sister drk brown and daughter Lt brown. My technic is, always highlight on dirty hair, only use the thin metal hook (to avoid bleeding thru), do circled holes, comb all strands out (no loops), using paintbrush do new growth (roots) first, then brush on remaing hair, cover completly with bleach, lightly pile on head and check every 10min. USE the plastic cap ( warm head faster color change =less hair damage), I Ieave it on approx 50 MINUTES until light yellow, leave cap on and rinse hair, wash it with a lil of shamp provided (keep the remainer), slightly towel dry (leaving cap on) and pour all the purple toner over strands (this gets rid of all gold color) leave on 5 min, slide off cap, wash with remaining shamp and condition. Note, if ur touching up do only roots and last 10min apply to rest of strands (just to brighten them up if necessary). No need to damage previously highlighted hair. Happy Highlighting!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/16/2013 5:30:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Medium Brown, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

A couple of things Im noticing with the negative reviews:
1. When using any kind of hair color (especially bleach), ALWAYS do lengths before roots. The heat from your scalp develops the color faster than it would on the lengths.
2. Read and follow every instruction. They are their for a reason. Dont not follow instructions and then complain the product didnt work.

**
I have naturally jet black hair, that I lighten with Feria Downtown Brown. I use this highlight kit in Caramel. Every time, following every instruction, the highlights come out looking exactly like the box said it would. I keep the brass out by using the John Frieda Tone Correcting Shampoo every 3rd wash. This has worked for me for years, yes it takes forever to pull your hair through the holes,but if you're literate and have a bit of patience, the results are worth it.

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Based on all the wonderful reviews of at home kits like this one and Revlon I fearlessly purchased L'Oreal Frost & Design in Caramel because I'd previously dyed my hair and wanted highlight to break up the medium/dark brown.

Mistake #1: Forgot the rule to seek professional assistance when going more than 2 shades lighter than your natural hair color.

The cap did not have the nice sections like the Clairol and Revlon caps which tell you which sections to pull for the look you're going for. In fact, the instructions don't really help at all except to tell you to 'pull every 3rd hole' for certain looks. Really? Then why bother to circle some of the holes? So I decided to pull all of the circled holes which took over an hour.

I then mixed the preparation which actually smelled really good and then proceeded to apply. The root area was lightening to gold before I could even finish putting the overcap on which scared me because the ends were still brown. After 40 minutes the last six inches of my hair were red-gold. I kept it on for the full 60 minutes praying the ends would lighten after reading the suggestions of others who reviewed this product and ended up with pale yellow and light red-gold.

Mistake #2: What works on someone else's hair may not work on yours. Follow your instincts: if it looks like it's going wrong, it probably is.

I rinsed, toned and now I look like one of the hookers from the pool room scene in 'Carlito's Way'. It's a miracle my hair held up this well though the highlighted parts feel a bit slimy when washing letting me know they are damaged. I have pale yellow for 3 inches then light red-gold for the last 6 inches of my hair and I'm waiting for the salon to open Tuesday to get it fixed.

If you have light brown hair or never-colored hair I do not see why this kit wouldn't work for you. Those of us with darker hair or previously dyed hair would do well to spend the money up front to have a professional do the job right the first time. Lesson learned.

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.




Back to Top