September 22, 2014 | 1234 users online

Mascara - Serge Lutens - Mascara Comb

no image

rated 4.3(9 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.3
  • 77% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.8
  • Price: $$$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 6/25/2013 5:29:00 PM More reviews by cheryl01234

Age: 30-35 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Like the first reviewer said, the comb wand works wonders at first then not as well as the mascara dries out, then you have to use a mascara comb. However the magic is in the formulation of these Serge mascaras, whether the comb wand or the usual wand. This is the only mascara that doesn't smudge flake on me even after exercising on my hooded greasy Asian eyes. It's also lengthening, volumnizing and curling like no other. I do have to get their remover wipes just to remove them. I've recently switched all my items to organics, however this is one item that I have not been able to give up, despite the fact that I really don't know how toxic it really is. I've just been careful not to get it too close to my eyes.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 4/9/2012 3:57:00 PM More reviews by supercat12

Age: 36-43 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

I hate you Serge Lutens! I hate you for making a $65 mascara that, to me, is worth every penny! My lashes are long, but as I've gotten older, have begun to feel a bit sparse. I used the Shu Basic mascara for years, but after they discontinued it, I went on a quest for my new HG mascara. I was using Armani's Eyes to Kill, but found that it smudged on me AND was impossible to get off.

I've been on a bit of a Serge kick lately (a big OUCH on my wallet) and the MA pushed this mascara big time. I was turned off by both the 1 colour option (it looks very brown in the tube) and by the comb - I'm used to big fluffy brushes. I was also worried because the reviews here mentioned how difficult it is to remove the SL mascara. I finally took the plunge, and WOW. I. LOVE. IT. First, it looks quite dark on my lashes - I would never guess that it is brown once it is on. My lashes are pretty dark already, so maybe people with blonder lashes would disagree. I find the comb extremely easy to use and effective. The MA told me not to pump the wand or get to much mascara on the comb. The mascara REALLY defines my lashes and makes them look feathery and beautiful. It's really perfect for what I want, which is to have people notice my eyes and not my lashes per se - I'm not going for the fake lash look.

This mascara also really STAYS ON and DOES NOT SMUDGE. I can't emphasize this enough - I've had zero smudging/flaking. As for taking it off, it takes a bit of time, but it's not so bad. I use vaseline and a tissue to take off my eye makeup. With the Armani mascara, it took forever to get off AND it smeared all over my face in the process. The SL takes a couple of applications and swipes with tissue, but it comes off clean, if that makes any sense.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 5/31/2009 2:43:00 AM More reviews by miranets

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

i have medium length fine straight lashes that need a very strong but light base (such as shiseido's) in order to hold a curl. this is the only product that holds my curl without a base. i don't have major issues with the comb, esp when used on bare lashes (with the shiseido base it can clump). this is perfect for an everyday look because it does lengthen a little and gives a little volume, however it has good definition and is completely smudge prooft and again, a very good curl holder.

i follow application quickly with a fine tooth eyelash comb. the price is quite steep however this all comes through in the formulation. serge lutens is owned by shiseido which means the products all have excellent ingredients and work as they intend to. i don't have easy to manage lashes so it is worth it, however, if you are searching for something dramatic and wonderfully different, this is not for you.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 10/8/2008 7:10:00 PM More reviews by LeslieCZ

Age: 56 & Over Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral Hair: Other, Straight, Fine Eyes: Hazel

Thanks to the recommendations of an MUA friend, msd67, I have tried several Serge Lutens products and am reviewing those I especially love. This is THE best long lasting, waterproof formula ever!!! I love the comb applicator, too...it actually works great to separate, not clump, straight, short, thin lashes. It IS REALLY hard to get off (that's the purpose of long lasting/waterproof for me) and it does NOT smudge, smear or run. I also got the SL makeup remover cloths (definitely the only way to get this stuff off). For me, it's not an every day formula (probably would damage my puny lashes trying to remove too often) but for those occasions when I really want staying power without gloppy, gluey lashes, this stuff is AWESOME!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 9/6/2008 5:48:00 PM More reviews by perfumenut

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

Pros: definitely stays on...as far as a truly waterproof mascara goes, this is tops! The comb is nice - it helps separate while applying.

Cons: Price of course, and the comb - the same comb that I like for separating lashes gets on my nerves because it takes so long to build up the amount of mascara I want.

Bottom line - no need for this unless you have TRULY oily eyes and nothing else will do.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/4/2008 4:28:00 PM More reviews by asilaydying

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

Admittedly, this product is outrageously expensive for a mascara. However, it works better than ANY mascara that I have ever tried. As the other reviewers mentioned, my only "complaint" is that it is very difficult to remove (although this is also a "plus," since it will definitely stay on all day).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/17/2007 10:16:00 PM More reviews by HeatherA

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

Absolutely phenomenal. This simply does not budge - no flaking, no streaking, no smearing. And if you're thinking "well, lots of mascaras don't smudge", then you obviously don't need this. Because on some of us, they ALL smudge. All except this one. This is the miracle product for those of us whose chemistry magically dissolves even waterproof mascara into little pools of dark viscous glue that settle into our undereye pouches, leaving us looking perpetually like Hole-era Courtney Love. We are the only ones who truly need this and we need it so badly that it is worth every penny. It helps that the comb is easy to use and gets every last little lash and that the results are long and lush and defined and that this will hold a curl fabulously, but the main selling point is that your lashes look equally long and lush and perfect 10 hours later, without even a hint of smudginess or flaking. It looks like you just put it on!

As you would expect, taking this off is no easy feat. The Serge Lutens make-up remover sheets do work ( cut them in half to ease the additional sticker shock), but it takes a few passes even with these. It takes patience and a gentle hand - you can't rush the process or your lashes will suffer. Still, the clean-up effort - like the price - is totally worth it if you can't find other mascaras that work. This is mascara for desperate women.

Hands down, the nicest mascara I've ever used and the longest lasting. An awesome choice for anyone who is mascara-challenged, like myself. For the rest of you lucky people, it's probably not worth the dough unless you have a special occasion where you need to look picture perfect through tears for hours and hours and hours ( like for a wedding or if you happened to be an Oscar nominee.)

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 7/9/2007 2:56:00 PM More reviews by April2

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

This mascara costs a fortune ($50), however I have found it to be the BEST I've ever tried on my short/stumpy/stick straight lashes. It makes them longer and holds the curl better than any other mascara I've ever tried and I've tried several (Shu Uemura's Basic, Lancome's, Dior's, Clinique's, and Stila's). Up until now I always thought that nothing was better than my d/s Maybelline Full n Soft, but this is truly amazing. The only drawbacks are the price and the fact that it is really difficult to remove. No undereye smearage and lasts all day without losing the curl. I also found the comb applicator extremely easy to use. LOOOOVE this. Too bad it costs a mint.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 7/1/2006 5:34:00 PM More reviews by alabasterhaze

Age: 36-43 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Grey

Why was I foolish enough to spend (USD) $50 plus tax on a mascara? There's a sucker born every minute, and I would be one of them. The legendary Serge Lutens has the most expensive cosmetics line I've seen, with prices equalling those of By Terry. Sold exclusively (for the moment) at Barney's, Lutens uses sleek, minimalist packaging and attractive colors in his somewhat limited new cosmetics line. The few products available look lovely, but $150 for powder foundation and $75 for lipstick?

As a mascara junkie, I just couldn't help myself. Unfortunately, I found this wand mascara in no way justifies its' outrageous price tag. Yes, the wand is cleverly designed in a slight curve, making it easy to reach those pesky inner corner lashes. This product, which is only available in soft black, doesn't have enought pigment for me. It was more of a charcoal color, and it was quite matte. While it claims to be waterproof, this mascara smudged on me. I much preferred the Stephane Marais Mascara Comb, which, while not as ergonomically well designed, was a far superior mascara. The Marais mascara (retailed for roughly $26) was expensive, but at least the formula didn't clump. Unfortunately, the entire Marais line died a slow and painful death :(

If you are familiar with comb mascaras, this one starts out okay. It lengthens and seperates your lashes, but doesn't hold a curl and does nothing for volume. I didn't mind that, as I have yet to find a mascara that can curl, lengthen and add significant volume. I just expected a good wand and mascara, and this ain't it. After 3 weeks of daily use, I had a goopy mess on the top of the tube. I also wasted quite a bit of product, as I had to wipe down the wand of excess mascara before each use. My lashes felt soft for the first two weeks, but as the mascara became goopier, I soon had clumpy lashes.
Please don't waste your money on this one. If you want a mascara comb, try Lancome's Fatale or Helena Rubenstein's (not available in the U.S.), if you can find it.

I'm still feeling guilty about spending such an obscene amount of money on mascara. I don't know if this line will survive at these pricepoints.

I'm off to find my next mascara fix; I hope none of my fellow junkies are tempted by this mascara. Just say no.

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No