October 21, 2014 | 1215 users online

Styling Products - Aveda - Pure Abundance Hair Potion



image 0

rated 4.1(95 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.1
  • 75% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.3
  • Price: $$$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 6/8/2014 12:18:00 PM More reviews by ECMac25

Age: 30-35 Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Black

This is a water based silica powder that is meant to be sprinkled into the roots and tousled to make fine hair feel fuller. My hair is very straight and this does give a little bit of a boost in terms of texturizing, but I find it does very little for lift and hold. If I don't use hairspray or pomade immediately after, my hair goes back to falling flat against my scalp within minutes. I've tried several repeated applications, with the same results. Disappointing. I much prefer Big Sexy Hair Powder Play ~~~INGREDIENTS: water * marshmallow root extract * aloe leaf juice * silica * sodium citrate * pullulan * glycerin * acacia senegal gum * honey * kaolin * magnesium sulfate * maltodextrin * sodium coco PG-dimonium chloride phosphate *citric acid * sodium gluconate * chlorophenesin

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/12/2014 9:23:00 PM More reviews by Angelbix

Age: 44-55 Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

This stuff is Gold! A little goes a long way. Gives me volume at my hairline and crown without being too sticky. A must have in my hair styling regimen. Love this product. Have used it for at least 4 years now.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 9/22/2013 2:19:00 PM More reviews by expira

Age: 30-35 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

Here's the deal with this potion: I would DEFINITELY buy it again ...if I didn't have a job that required a lot of travel. Nothing, and I've tried so much, fluffed my hair as much as this stuff. Friends and family came up to touch my hair, and asked me if I had gotten extensions; it looked THAT much thicker and nicer. And it's really easy to use: just tap a little where you want volume, comb it and there you go.

Alas, it doesn't travel well. The reason the formula works so nicely is that it's a powder-to-liquid deal. When it's shaken a lot, it becomes a liquid, and I believe that's what happened to me. After a few trips, I noticed it didn't fluff my hair so much as cling to it in greasy patches. No, thanks.

Still, in terms of efficacy...AMAZING!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/3/2013 1:09:00 AM More reviews by road2lane

Age: 30-35 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

I have short hair. LOVE this! I use it a few ways. Sometimes on wet hair before I blow dry, sometimes on dry hair and sometimes both. Leaves an amazing matte finish.
My favorite out of all of these powder style of products ( and I have tried them all)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 12/18/2012 7:48:00 AM More reviews by franzvonstuck

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Hazel

I bought this product, when the hair powders got very popular.
Drugstore brands just never delivered what I was looking for, so I went straight ahead to Aveda and bought the pure abundance hair potion.
Again, itīs the kind of product you really should know, what you want from it. Itīs simply too expensive to waste your money and find out, that itīs not working for you.
My hair is oily at the roots, fine and limp, but I have a mass of hair, which is about shoulderlenght. I need volume at the crown and nothing greasy or rich, which would weigh my hair down.
The hair potion comes in a plastic bottle with a cap.
You should never ever let the hair potion get wet or shake it. That ruins the powder and you wonīt be able to get the powder out of the bottle.
Now thatīs the tricky part with this product: You need to find out for yourself, how much product you need and where to apply it best.
Honestly, too much product just makes a greasy mess out of my hair. I usually apply the product at my crown, near my scalp, because thatīs where I need the volume.
You apply it on dry hair and there are separate ways to apply it.
The powder can be put into your palm and then you rub your palms together and spread the liquified powder on your hair.
But thereīs a technique a hairdresser at the Aveda salon showed me and you can watch it on Avedaīs youtube channel in the "How to: Weightless volume in 3 ways" video too.
You part your hair at the crown or on top of your head, so you have 2 sections. Then you take the bottle, position the cap of the bottle just where the hair is parted, maybe hold it horizontally and squeeze the bottle. The powder comes out in a little powder cloud and gets directly at the roots, where I want the volume.
I do this several times around the top of my head. Then you get with your hand in the hair and shake it to activate the powder and create volume. It takes a little practice, but is effective.
Itīs one of these products, you need to have the right technique to use it or itīs worthless.
The finish is matte finish, so if youīre into glossy hair, this one may not be the right product for you.
Otherwise, itīs pretty undetectable and you wonīt feel like you have any product in your hair, given you didnīt use too much.
It gives texture and volume to the hair and holds my oily roots at bay.
If I use it, Iīd say, I get a pretty good bedhead, messy, surfer, rockstar style for my hair. Looks effortless and with the right technique only takes my a few minutes to style my hair.
To re-activate it through the day, you can just get with your hand in your hair and shake it a little bit.
Especially on bad hair days (which means limp, oily, lifeless hair with my hair type) this boosts the volume and saves my hair from looking really bad.
The downside of this product is the price: I paid 23 Euros for the very small bottle. But it lasts and delivers good results with my hair.
I honestly donīt know, if this works on other hair types than fine and thin hair.
But if you have fine, thin, limp or oily hair, you might give this a try.

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 10/25/2012 10:26:00 AM More reviews by heathermrm

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

I was fortunate to get this in a swap. For reference, I have fine, color-treated hair cut in inverted bob (stacked in back, longer in front) and I insist on covering up my back part/teasing for volume. I cannot stand the tiny applicator tip on this bottle - I have a helluva time ever getting product out (and yes, I've read all the helpful hints).


That said, this definitely provides me w/ additional volume for backcombing. But, I get the exact same results w/ the much cheaper Got 2 Be Powderful Volumizing Powder for a fraction of the price and a much easier dispensing container = I won't purchase.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 7/8/2012 7:58:00 PM More reviews by ChristinaSF

Age: 30-35 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

It took me a long time to figure out ow to use this product. The way that has workd best for me is to open the bottle and gently tap around my hairline and part on dry hair then work through with my fingers.

It does appear that my hair is 'bulked up' which is what I'm looking for. But my hair feels horrible. It feels very matted and hard to get my fingers or even a comb through. I personally like my hair to feel natural so this is a deal breaker for me.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/24/2012 2:02:00 PM More reviews by dabiess

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

DO NOT SHAKE!! DO NOT SHAKE!! AGAIN DO NOT SHAKE!!!! Ok ladies. This is an amazing product for adding volume in selected areas and for teasing as well. Especially when combined with Avedas air control or control force. The bottle is designed with the tiny opening for control so u don't end up with an unwanted glob. I graduated from the institute and was taught how to apply. Section the hair where u want to apply, turn the bottle upside town and tap gently. DO NOT SHAKE!! It will turn to gel in the bottle. That's what it was designed to do on your scalp. Shake your hair to activate to product. Whoever sold it to u should have told u. Protect the product from heat and moisture. It can also be applied to the underside of a section for teasing. Start with a small amount. U can always add but removing requires washing and starting over. Hope this helps

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 1/22/2012 6:06:00 AM More reviews by glamblover

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I have fine hair and it's always cut in a textured way for volume. I use a lot of Aveda products, but none of the hair stuff...Until now.

Last summer I heard about Big Sexy Hairs texture powder. I tried it and liked it a lot at first...Then I noticed how greasy it made my hair. I have oily skin anyways and this made it like a oil slick after a few hours. I really liked the way it made my hair super textured and the volume it gave though. I started searching around for something similar and found Tigi's hair candy powder. It is oil free and only a buck more. I have been using that and it worked good.

A few days ago I got my hair cut at an Aveda Salon and they styled it using the hair potion. I had no idea Aveda carried this type of product and I really loved how it made my hair. The stylist used it the same way I use mine. She blew out my hair, then lifted up sections and squeezed the powder on the roots/scalp area, then backcombed. I fell in love! My hair had major volume and I could still run my fingers through it..Unlike the other brands powder products I have used. It did still feel a bit tacky and well not freshly washed but that is the key.
Freshly washed and healthy hair don't style very well.

The thing I also like about this product is that it is about two times the size of the other brands. I shop at Cosmo Prof and Salon Centric for liscensed professionals. The products I got at cost were still $10. So retail they would be about $20. The Aveda one is only $24 and double the size...So, its a good deal too!

Sorry this is long winded. I just really like this product and wanted to share the info with you all.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 8/12/2011 9:57:00 AM More reviews by YCH

Age: 44-55 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Red, Straight, Fine Eyes: Green

I really wanted to like this product, bought it ages ago when it was hyped in the UK press (I go to an Aveda salon and use their shampoos and conditioners) however, I just can't get it to work. I find however hard I try to follow all the tips etc I just end up with sticky hair that looks a bit of a mess.To mop up oil, I find Batiste dry shampoo way better and for styling, I use the Aveda volumising tonic which is great. Sorry, but a fail for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No