April 19, 2014 | 1813 users online

Cleansers - DERMAdoctor - Born To Be Mild

no image

rated 3.8(16 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.8
  • 62% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.3
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 3 of 5 on 9/11/2013 5:31:00 PM More reviews by dxwl

Age: 30-35 Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Green

I bought this product to use when my Seb derm flares during the winter on my chin and around my mouth. The main reason I purchased this, is because I normally use either head and shoulders shampoo twice a week as a facial cleanser or nizoral shampoo, both recommended by my dermatologist, as well as an antifungal cream and a steroid cream to use for short periods*. Given that nizoral and head and shoulders are shampoos, I presumed that this cleanser would be milder than them, as it is formulated for use on the face. However, whilst the cleanser is neither harsh, nor is it especially mild. In fact, the active ingredient in the born to mild is zinc pyrithione, the same active ingredient found in head and shoulders. In my opinion I would use the head and shoulders first, if your face can tolerate it, as it is much cheaper and widely available. Indeed, if you do not suffer from Seb derm and are attracted to the born to be mild as a cleanser for sensitive skin, I would give this a miss. Whilst it is not relevant to this post, I would indicate that there are plenty of threads on the Internet to explain how to use head and shoulders as a treatment cleanser.

*The steroid cream I use was prescribed by a dermatologist, with very specific instructions about frequency of application to the face. On the whole, you shouldn't use steroid creams on the face for long periods of time as they can exacerbate skin problems. Obviously, if you suffer from Seb derm, it is best to consult a dermatologist for a good general skincare regimen and specific presciption products.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 2/19/2013 7:01:00 PM More reviews by zernelle

Age: 30-35 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

I love this cleanser! I have very sensitive skin that is prone to redness. I'm pretty sure that I get seborrheic dermatitis sometimes, and I may have a bit of rosacea, but I've never been diagnosed with either by a dermatologist.

Dr. Cynthia Bailey recommends a bar soap with pyrithione zinc for redness-prone skin, but I hate bar soaps and the one she sells has shea butter in it, which triggers my dermatitis. DermaDoctor Born to Be Mild is the only non-bar facial cleanser with pyrithione zinc that I have been able to find, so I decided to give it a try.

I think that the name Born to Be Mild can be misleading. The first few times I used it, my face stung, but within a week, the stinging stopped. Now it feels comforting, though you do need to be sure to keep it out of your eyes.

It is a creamy, foaming cleanser, and I use only a pea sized amount and then lather it between my hands with a bit of water before massaging it onto my face. I use it only in the morning, since I like to use my evening cleanser on my eyes, so this large tube could last as long as a year with as little as I use each day. The best thing is that my facial redness and sensitivity has significantly reduced since I started using this product.

Active Ingredient: Pyrithione Zinc (2%). Inactive Ingredients: Water, Sodium Laureth Sulfate, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, PEG 7 Glyceryl Cocoate, Polyquaternium 7, C10 30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer, Allantoin, PEG 12 Dimethicone, Sodium Hydroxide, Phenoxyethanol, Methylparaben, Ethylparaben, Propylparaben, Butylparaben, Isobutylparaben. continued >>

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/3/2012 1:16:00 PM More reviews by bekaboo

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I love this cleanser! i have fairly sensitive skin with seborrheic dermatitis and mild rosacea. I also have hormonal acne. My dermatitis started about a year ago and I couldn't find anything that helped it. I even tried a dermatologist-but no help there either. I stumbled on this while researching on the internet for the possible cause of my flaky, itchy, but also oily skin. At first, this stung and I couldn't use it everyday. Then i read a review that suggested only using a tiny drop, then adding water and foaming it really well in your hands before using it on your face. This was the trick-no more stinging or drying. While this did not totally clear up the dermatitis, it did help. I finally found a good dermatologist who prescribed rx strength cortisone cream. Within a week or two the dermatitis was completely gone. I still use this every morning to prevent a future attack and I think it helps with my acne and combo skin. I have repurchased for the third time now.

I will also say (sorry this may be TMI) my husband uses this "down there." He was having itchy skin that was not jock itch. His doctor prescribed something that wasn't really helping. I suggested he try this and it totally worked for him. I will say that this is one beauty product he doesn't give me a hard time about buying!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 8/8/2011 2:10:00 AM More reviews by rigantona

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Blue

As anyone with a skin condition can tell you, especially when its facial, you get to a point where you become desperate to find that miracle treatment.

I was diagnosed with Perioral Dermatitis almost 2 years ago now, and without going into the various suspected exacerbating factors, i will say that i had eliminated any suspected factors i came across in my mountains of research. I was advised to use Cetaphil for oily skin and i love it, but without oral anitbiotics, i was still suffering flare ups.

I stumbled across this whilst doing my research and based on reviews here and on the Dermadoctor site, i decided it was worth a try.

Pros - price, it's a huge tube for $24 and dermadoctor ships to australia. It comes in a good, sturdy tube (though i did see anothe review where the tube had burst)

Cons - this burned my skin like nothing else - not even chemical peels. Plus SLES is still mildy comedogenic and irritating (according to the dermadoctor website and various other sources).

Effect - after 1 week, i have used it twice and the skin around my chin is red, dry and sort of itchy, not unlike a PD flare up. It has taken me 2 weeks of care to get it back to normal. In its defense, i may have been using it incorrectly and not diluting it enough before applying it to my skin.

I am going to give this one more try, becuase, as i said above, I'd do anything to get rid of this.


Edit: Ok, so in changing my technique and really only using a tiny, tiny amount, plus, foaming it well before applying it to my skin, this actually doesn't sting. Employing the above technique i can use it comfortably every alternate day. I think i have noticed a slight improvement in the redness and i'm happy to continue using it to see if there is any ongoing improvement. I'm going to bump this up to a 3 for now.

Edit (again): this does not work for me over any period greater than 2 weeks. It strips my skin, making it red, dry and highly irritated. This is going down to a 1 as it is actually marketed towards a condition that, in my experience, it makes worse.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/31/2011 12:21:00 AM More reviews by Seabreezes

Age: 30-35 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I know this product receives moderately negative reviews, but I love this product, and it works so well on my highly sensitive, acne prone skin. I had to find an alternative to Cetaphil, which DOES burn my skin, and this product filled that void. I use this product 2x daily, and my skin does not burn with use, nor does it dry out (as long as I'm diligent with my moisturizer). The reason I'm writing this review is to emphasize that some people MAY benefit from this product even when the majority does not. I tried this product as a last effort to combat a case of perioral dermatitis, and it really soothed my skin. Even though my dermatitis has cleared, I've continued to use it because it is so gentle on my skin. FWIW, I use Retin A at night and still have no problems with burning or stinging, yet I do experience burning and stinging with Cetaphil, which is supposedly one of the least irritating cleansers on the market. If you fall outside the norm, it's worth trying. The only caveat is the price - $24 is a bit pricey, but worth it to me.
UPDATE: 4-18-11
I am still in love with this product and just purchased another tube. It's been well over four months of DAILY use and I couldn't be happier. I CANNOT emphasize enough, though, that you must be diligent with moisturizing! It's currently on backorder, which is odd, as I've never experienced that before - must be gaining in popularity. It's NOT for everyone, but for those that it helps - it's a lifesaver!!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 7/3/2010 5:58:00 PM More reviews by janet1028

Age: 44-55 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Blue

This product is a weird one. It is sold as a cleanser for sensitive skin. The first time I used it - Wow! - did it sting. But that terrible bumpiness on my chin that even Metro creme doesn't take totally away started to go away. And my face wasn't as red after washing. (Rosacea people: You know what I mean.) I don't use it every wash. And I use a makeup remover because this is so not something you want in your eyes. If you use a follow-up moisturizer, I have found this to actually work. (I'm always so surprised when I product does even half of what they advertise it to do!)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/10/2010 12:36:00 PM More reviews by lolafalana

Age: 36-43 Skin: Oily, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

i never write reviews, but i had to remark on the difference this product has had on my skin. i suffered from what i think is perioral dermatitis, and after a week of using this product it is completely eradicated. clearly other reviewers have not had such mad success, but i say give it a shot-- isn't it worth it?

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 12/17/2009 2:55:00 PM More reviews by banshee6

Age: 30-35 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm Hair: Other, Wavy, Other Eyes: Hazel

I just gave this product what seems like the millionth chance, and I'm so sorry I did. It dries the heck out of my ultra sensitive, Rosacea, prone to dehydration skin. Even slathering it with jojoba and safflower oil beforehand. It just trades my seborrheic dermatitis for contact dermatitis from the SLS. My face is left tight, irritated, and flaky. Especially my eyebrows-ugh. Don't know what I was thinking trying it again. Only reason I gave it a lippie, is b/c it is better than dandruff shampoos and cleansers for SD which are packed with irritants. None the less, this is another dermatologist developed product which leaves me scratching my head.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 1/31/2009 7:35:00 PM More reviews by missannabelle

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

*new review*:
My skin did not agree with this cleanser at all, which is a shame because this seemed like such an easy fix to my many skin problems: redness, chronic irritation, flaky yet oily, tight, peeling, blemishes, etc etc. Though this cleanser boasts to be extremely gentle, it is however..not. It can't possibly be as gentle as Cetaphil's not-so-much-of-a-cleanser-type cream cleanser if it contains 2% pyrithione zinc. It is though, much gentler when compared with a mild dandruff shampoo like Neutrogena T Gel, Head & Shoulders, or Nizoral (if you prefer to use that kind of stuff on your face to treat SD).


My suggestion is that if you must give this cleanser a try (and there's every reason to, if every other solution to treat SD fails), test it on a patch of your skin first. And whatever you do, please don't get this stuff anywhere close to your eyes, the consequences will not be pretty. If you have SD on your t-zone and your eyebrows, cleanse it with a q-tip and this cleanser, then rinse with a washcloth. Don't splash water on your face as the cleanser will just run down your eyes.


Good luck to those who try this cleanser.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 1/24/2009 12:59:00 PM More reviews by GoldenGIrl453

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I was hoping this would become my HG. My skin is very sensitive and has rosacea.

After washing my face with this product my skin flared bright red and burned. It was so awful I went to the pharmacy to ask what to do. It was blotchy and irritated for a week after this.

If I wasn't allergic to it, I would say this is a very calm and soothing feeling product.

Is this review helpful? Yes No