Smashbox Photo Finish Primer SPF 15 with Dermaxyl

3.1

145 reviews

43% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS



on 5/27/2015 12:49:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Black

I had a travel size of this, that I believe I bought for about $10. It lasted me over a year with occasional use. After about a year and a half, the primer has gotten hard in the tube, so I can't squeeze any out anymore, so I'm throwing it out--but it was mostly used up anyway. This was the first primer I ever used, and I liked it, but didn't love it. I didn't expect anti-aging or sunscreen protection (I use a separate sunscreen); I got this one because I just wanted a smaller size. I think this is discontinued though--Smashbox sells an SPF20 version instead.

The problems: You do have to wait for it to dry/set before applying foundation. It can be a little drying on dry areas of the face (contrary to others saying that it helped fill in fine lines, but maybe those fine lines weren't due to dryness), so I want to try smashbox's hydrating primer to see if that's any better. People are right when they say that you should not fall asleep with a silicone-based primer on--if I did, I invariably woke up with at least one pimple. What I liked least about this primer, though, was that the foundation just seemed to 'sit' on top, without really blending in with my skin. It was ok at first, but as the day went on and my skin got oily, my face would be shiny, but because of the silicone primer blocking the oil, it affected my foundation by making it look ashy and gray, and almost a shade lighter than my skintone. I'm not sure how to describe this effect, but I don't remember having the same issue with the Too Faced Primed & Poreless oil-free primer. Maybe I just need to try a different silicone primer to determine if that's just an effect of silicone on the face, but I don't wear heavy foundation as much anymore so I won't get a chance to try for a while.

Overall, I wouldn't buy this again, but I don't regret spending the ten dollars to learn how primers work, and figure out what works for me.



on 12/31/2013 4:18:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Yes it is expensive bur sometimes you get what you pay for. I am 53 with sundamaged skin and this stuff rocks. It just makes my skin look flawless under foundation or tinted moisturizer. I like the texture it glides on and makes my skin feel soft.


on 12/16/2012 3:33:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I really like this product but it does seem pricey. However, this morning I was squeezing the last (I thought) out of the plastic packet and I decided to cut the packet in half. It is amazing how much product remained in the packet. I'm sure I have another week's supply left. I gave the packaging a 3 but in a way it is a 1. Surely the user isn't expected to cut the packet in half.


on 6/17/2012 4:37:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I use this in combination with Smashbox Anti-Shine to create a smooth, all-day-matte base for my makeup. The silky smooth (silicone-based) texture of this primer makes the anti-shine go on without pilling and helps my makeup last all day, through sun, sweat and the humidity that only a Southern summer can provide. I wouldn't bank on the SPF, but overall it's a fantastic product.

I deducted one lippie because I find it only does great things for me in combination with the Anti-Shine.


on 5/12/2012 11:01:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I bought with spf because I didn't want seperate lotion and primer, this made my face so greasy, returned for light, not that impressed,


on 4/20/2012 10:50:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I'm on my second trial tube. I think I love it!
My skin is super sensitive.
This primer keeps me from breaking out and helps balance the dryness on my chin, and the oiliness on my forehead.
Plus I love the SPF and all the vitamins!


on 3/24/2012 9:25:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I bought this because I've heard pretty good reviews about Smashbox Primers, plus I wanted a primer with SPF in it. The only primer I tried before recently was L'Oreal's Magic Perfecting Base (which I love, except for the fact that it has no SPF). So I was hoping that this primer would be good as L'Oreal's but with the added bonus of sunscreen. I was disappointed that this one is a thinner and greasier consistency, and I don't really notice any improvement of my skin after putting it on. So sorry to say that this one was a waste of money. I might use it, but probably mixed with the L'Oreal one.. for the way my L'Oreal primer makes my skin look and for the sun protection the Smashbox one has.


on 3/24/2012 2:44:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Packaging looks nice, the product is okay, i noticed once inawhile after using this product i would get one small cyst at random spots, not sure if its my skin or this product, probably would not buy again


on 3/10/2012 8:37:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I had the worst reaction to this primer. My cheeks got very red, hot and irritated, like I had a sunburn. So, can't tell if it's a good primer as it obviously does not agree with my skin! Make sure you test it out if you've skin sensitivities.


on 2/6/2012 10:45:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I had high hopes for this primer hoping it would conceal my pores.
All it did was give me a nice satin feeling to my skin, but it didn't really affect my makeup in any way.
I used the mac studio sculpt and chanel teint innocence compact with it.


Back to Top