December 22, 2014 | 1791 users online

Self Tanners - Jergens - Natural Glow- Face



image 0

rated 2.8(234 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 2.8
  • 40% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.7
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 11/16/2014 11:06:00 PM More reviews by evanlami

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

I'm a bit disappointed in this product because I really love the regular Natural Glow lotion for your body. This stuff is smelly and it did make me appear a little orange. Perhaps that's because my face was much paler. I think I will just stick to using bronzer from now on.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 10/18/2014 10:32:00 AM More reviews by dawnlois

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I've purchased this stuff countless times, ever since the face formula was introduced, and I'm just about never without it. For me, consistent use of this product means every other day, usually, maybe every third day in the winter - to stay believable and just sun kissed - not like I've just laid on the beach for a week. I apply this in the morning, after serums, before sunscreen. I wouldn't rely on this for a sole source of sun protection or as my sole moisturizer. The company makes it sound as though this is a do-it-all product, and all by itself - sunscreen, moisturizer, tanner. I expect it to give a bit of added moisture, a bit of a boost in sun protection, and a warm, very lightly tanned look. Actually, if you are after the very dark look in summer, this will give it to you, if you apply every day. I've seen lots of reviews that mention the fact that the color will come off skin when you exfoliate. Well - hello!! Self tanner is meant to color only the surface of the skin - doesn't matter which one you use - it will fade when you exfoliate. We notice it more on the face because there's such an emphasis (rightly!) on exfoliation for good skin. But for pete's sake - I can just imagine the outcry if the product stained the skin deeply and couldn't be easily removed!! I love the fact that this product has the quality of providing a light and luminous tint that I can easily tone down or dial up - depending on the season and my whim of the moment! Also - I have fairly touchy,dry,reactive skin which is also acne prone,and I think this is like any other product - can cause acne if it isn't thoroughly removed. I use alot of zinc based sunscreen also, and I truly believe in cleansing skin with oils - I have not had any major breakouts since I've begun using that particular method. I just think alot of acne is exacerbated by not thoroughly removing everything from the skin on a daily basis. I don't believe facial cleansers can do that. I remove everything from the surface of my face with oils, then sometimes use a standard cleanser if I need to. But getting back to the Jergens facial tanner - love it and will buy it forever. Just bought 4 tubes because I had some coupons - might last me through the winter!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 7/29/2014 11:36:00 PM More reviews by glamycakes2014

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

broke me out and didnt make me any tanner

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 7/29/2014 2:54:00 PM More reviews by SuzyCutie

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Red, Curly, Fine Eyes: Green

I had such high hopes for this; I bought the fair/ medium shade and tried it right away. If you're sensitive to scents, skip this- there's no self tanner scent, but it is really strongly perfumed. I ordinarily don't have a hard time with scented products, but I draw the line at facial products having a lot of fragrance.
I loved the subtle color and glow, but I also noticed my face reacted badly. I was so itchy and inflamed I had to stop using it and return it to the store.
Back to the drawing board with facial self tanners; I might spend the $ on Clarins or try to find a hypoallergenic choice in the future.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/19/2014 6:19:00 PM More reviews by mnbeth

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I was leery of using this product, since I've never used a self-tanner on my face and I tend to break out easily when I try new things. But I was pleasantly surprised with this! It gave me a natural-looking tan in only two days, and I could actually see results after just one application. After reading other reviews, I mixed the Jergens with my regular moisturizer (Mary Kay Timewise) 50/50. It worked perfectly for me. Blended easily and gave me even color. I liked the scent of the Jergens and it didn't give that self-tanner stink AT ALL. I've been using it for five days now and haven't had any breakouts. I will absolutely re-purchase and keep using it. Best part: Walgreen's was running a promotion when I bought this, and instead of the $10.49 it normally costs, I paid just $2.74 after showing my Walgreens rewards card. Awesome deal!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 11/18/2013 10:42:00 PM More reviews by Nolenurse13

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Green

So I am desperately trying to find a face and neck tan that I can apply daily instead of using makeup. I don't need crazy color so this one seemed like it'd be good. It's very easy to use, rub it in like moisturizer and wash your hands after. No orange palms at all. It does give color and its just about the right amount of color after 2 applications, but it makes me break out in clusters!!! I don't ever have pimples except maybe 1-2 around my period, but this stuff has given me about 8-10 and some clogged pores as well. It's easy and has good color and doesn't smell too bad at all, but the break outs make it a no-go for me :( I'll keep looking for something similar but less acne causing!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 9/24/2013 12:31:00 AM More reviews by ScarletteLawson

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Blue

This product does what it claims to do! I have a medium skintone, and use this in the winter to keep me looking more perky and glowy. It seems to be fine for sensitive skin, has not broken me out at all! I also use it on my neck to appear even, and it works there too. I recommend this to people who are looking for a subtle and inexpensive glow :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 9/20/2013 10:51:00 AM More reviews by ExoticAlbinoAgain

Age: 19-24 Skin: Very Oily, Other, Warm Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Green

Jergens makes the worst self tanners by far. I thought perhaps the face version would be slightly more user friendly than the body version...nope. If you love the smell of rotten eggs (even after showering), streaky spots all over your body, and a dark orange tint on your skin - this is the tanner for you!

That was sarcasm, this stuff shouldn't be used by anyone. It is that nasty. Another con - this lotion does not dry. It clogged my pores & left my face feeling both tacky & greasy. I ended up breaking out like a volcano.

I have a photo of me wearing this self tanner in my profile...feel free to look. I am on the search for a perfect self tanner for my NC10 (super pale, yellow toned) skin. This clearly was not it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 9/9/2013 8:14:00 PM More reviews by BrittanySunshine

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I've been using this stuff for yeeears and for the past 2 or so, it's been increasingly hard to find. This year they must have changed the formula because the packaging is different and the results are different.
I have fair-medium, sensitive, acne-prone skin, and I used to always get the Light colour, I found it gave me a deeper and more noticable tan than the Medium colour (strange.. but it just did), I used it daily and never experienced any sensitivity or breakouts, it smelled fine and a tube lasted 6 months or so.
Now with this new tube of facial tanner, I get terrible clusters of breakouts hours after I use it, the tan isn't even noticable at all, and it smells very chemical-y and harsh. I'm super disappointed and won't buy it again.
Wouldn't recommend .. wish they'd bring back the old formula as it was my every day, go-to.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 8/29/2013 2:53:00 AM More reviews by shelly09

Age: 30-35 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

Worst product ever! I decided to get this because I use self tanners on my body all the time and needed something to make my face match my body. Well around three days after I started using this I started breaking out. I thought it was my daily moisturizer and quit using that and still used the Jergens. Big big mistake! My face broke out horribly in cystic acne! Fast forward to two months later and my face is still breaking out. I would not recommend this product ever. Unless you want a face full of painful cystic acne.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No