November 26, 2014 | 1622 users online

Powder - Trish McEvoy - Mineral Powder Foundation ALL



image 0

rated 3.8(29 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.8
  • 65% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.3
  • Price: $$$$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 10/15/2013 12:32:00 AM More reviews by CyndiK

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I've been using this in Nude for over a year- most days I apply with a powder brush to set my BB cream/foundation (Too Faced- see my review- obsessed), but for evenings I use a sponge applicator for a bit more coverage. I love the natural finish of this both ways- power or sponge application. It just never looks dry or cakey. In my Trish double decker large compact- the bottom level holds this pan and a rectangle flat application sponge (sold everywhere); so easy and convenient. Love the Trish organization system!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 8/2/2010 1:09:00 AM More reviews by Maderine

Age: 36-43 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Hazel

This review is for Trish's Correct and Brighten Loose Mineral Powder SPF 15. I purchased this after reading a stellar review on cosmeticscop.com. The price is relatively reasonable (I've certainly paid more for less), though it's on the higher side. The packaging is a small, pretty and plain sifter jar. I bought this on the Trish McEvoy website along with The Point brush, which is a tiny, tapered brush the likes of which I'd never seen before. Shipping was fast and they included some very nice samples with my order.

Ok, so how does it work? Let me preface my answer by saying that I seem to have reactions to just about every sunscreen out there, including zinc- or titanium-dioxide formulas. Being fair skinned and freckle-prone, however, I need to find something with SPF that I can wear daily. I read the C&B ingredients as listed on the website; they seemed pretty simple and I figured there couldn't possibly be anything in there that would cause me to get the itchy red bumps that I get with everything--EVERYTHING--else. Unfortunately, that's not been exactly the way it's worked out for me. Not to say that this isn't a great product...

This is a feather-light powder, and it's easy to shake just enough into the lid without making a huge mess. I got Shade 1, which is the fairest shade available. It doesn't look super-fair in the container, but it seems pretty forgiving, as if it would actually work for a variety of lighter skin shades and tones. It applies very smoothly and nicely with The Point brush, and it does a good job of evening out my complexion and minimizing the appearance of my rosacea. It is light (maybe light-plus) coverage, though, to be sure. Over a period of time it melts into my skin and looks like I'm not wearing anything, which I really like. I tend to be dry and occasionally have flaky patches, but this doesn't make them stand out like many powders do. It doesn't oxidize or get cakey, and it provides good sun protection. But, and it's a big but: I'm reacting to something in it. If I wear this for one day and cleanse well afterward, I'm ok except for maybe one itchy spot. If I try to wear it for several days in a row...well, let's just say that I never wear this for several days in a row, at least not since the first time I tried it.

I love this foundation and the look (and SPF!) I get with it, but it's not perfect as far as my finicky skin is concerned. I'll still use it, and I might even purchase again, but Holy Grail this is not.

Ingredients from the Trish McEvoy website:
ACTIVE INGREDIENTS: ZINC OXIDE 25%.
OTHER INGREDIENTS: BORON NITRIDE, ZINC
STEARATE, BISABOLOL, POPULUS
TREMULOIDES BARK EXTRACT, SODIUM
DEHYDRO ACETATE, ASCORBYL PALMI-
TATE, TRIETHOXYCAPRYLYLSILANE. MAY
CONTAIN (+/-): MICA (CI 77019),
TITANIUM DIOXIDE (CI 77891), ULTRA-
MARINES (CI 77007), IRON OXIDES
(CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499).

Um, why does it have quaking aspen bark extract in it? I don't know. continued >>

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/9/2010 2:16:00 AM More reviews by alex516

Age: Unknown Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Green

This review is for the pressed mineral powder. I absolutely love this product. I have used it for a few years now and it is the only mineral powder that works for me. What I like about it is that it is completely natural looking and it doesn't impart the "tin man" metallic glow like other mineral powders have for me in the past. Also, the coverage is really good and the color perfectly matches my skin.

I also purchased the Trish kabuki brush to use with it and this makes the application flawless. I highly recommend these two products!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 11/2/2009 10:14:00 AM More reviews by Simplicity310

Age: 30-35 Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

My skin had an awful cystic acne reaction to this loose powder combined with the Treatment Foundation. In fact, when I felt my face itching before I left the store -- I should have known better. I was attracted to it because of the supposed "soothing" ingredients and learning that Trisha's husband is a dermatologist. I liked that it didn't have the bismuth but it still has some sort of irritating ingredient.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 8/26/2009 12:55:00 AM More reviews by Sour

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This is my first purchase from Trish. I was previously using a pressed powder by Bobbi Brown, but I felt like I needed a change. I like the coverage this gives me, not too heavy, but just enough :) So worth the $35, even though it is quite small but then again you really don't need all that much.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 8/3/2009 6:41:00 AM More reviews by NancyM

Age: 36-43 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Other

Just to be clear: there are two types of mineral makeup that Trish McEvoy offers. There is the pressed version that has bismuth in it and the loose version that does not. This is really important to me since bismuth makes me itch.

I have the loose powder version and as mineral makeup foundation goes, it's pretty good. I use Trish's "The Point" brush to apply and the coverage is not too heavy but it's not too light. It covers my rosacea but still leaves my skin looking natural.

The problem I have with all mineral foundations is time. It take too long to apply it so I usually end up skipping it and slapping some liquid or stick foundation on instead even though mineral foundations provide better sunscreen coverage, are less irritating and (often) contain zinc which calms the skin.

I also can't seem to get past the fact that I'm putting dirt on my face.

As mineral makeup goes, this is one of the two that I've liked (the other being Aromaleigh Glissade) but I think it's time for me to throw in the towel and admit to myself that mineral makeup is just not for me. continued >>

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 6/28/2009 1:42:00 PM More reviews by msimmons0708

Age: 36-43 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

Love the correct and brighten loose mineral powder adn I am not a mineral makeup fan at all, but this is a really nice product. Fits into the side pocket of my Trish petite planner and easily tapped into the lid for the perfect amount to set my makeup. I know this is a "foundation" but the trish rep said it is perfect setting powder for the treatment foundation and I couldnt agree more, its really natural and beautiful and stays all day.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 2/7/2009 1:04:00 AM More reviews by lamc27

Age: 30-35 Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I love this Mineral Powder. I use this in the summer over Kiehls Tinted Foundation. The compact is great when I travel b/c I have my two blushes in the same compact. I'm fair skinned so I use the Bare color and have the Jolie and Blowing blushes in the same compact.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 11/26/2008 2:33:00 PM More reviews by kalishka

Age: 36-43 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I had hopes for this one b/c I like mineral foundation, but am not so interested in the loose powder aspect, which makes travelling difficult. I use a number of other TM products, including the sadly discontinued cream to powder foundation. I only really like the mineral powder foundation when my skin looks really good b/c there is not much coverage. I wear it when I am at home or running chores, etc. I think it works better to add some extra coverage to a sheer foundation, which has also been mentioned here. But for the price, there are a number of other compact powders that would do the same. There are also a number of better mineral powder foundations too. Too bad. Here I think TM lost quality with the concept of portability. I've not had any problems with rashes, itching or breakouts, but I can see if you put it on pretty heavy for coverage, you might not have comfortable skin.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 7/14/2008 9:58:00 AM More reviews by pf3855

Age: 44-55 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I hoped for the best in this foundation. I've been on a mineral foundation kick for awhile, trying to find a good one. Trish's coverage is decent and color selection is decent, but this makes me ITCH like you can't imagine. I put this on to go out one evening and spent the whole night trying to keep my hands off my face I itched so bad. Then woke up next morning with huge cystic bump on my chin! I think the bad ingredient is Bismuth Oxychloride - it seems to be a common factor in mineral makeups. I think I have to give up the mineral foundation search - I'll stick with MAC Studio Fix powder makeup!!

Is this review helpful? Yes No