October 22, 2014 | 2023 users online

Cleansers - Desert Essence - thoroughly clean face wash tea tree oil and sea kelp



image 0image 1

rated 3.8(16 reviews)

  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 1/9/2013 1:13:00 PM More reviews by rgkupo

Age: 30-35 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

I've had moderate persistent acne my whole life, once I found this stuff and stopped using harsh prescription topicals, and it cleared up significantly. This is my HG facewash along with the regular thoroughly clean. I like the smell of the sea kelp one more but I can't get it in the large bottle so I buy the regular one. Both are fantastic, gentle and really work. My skin is still oily by the end of the day but I can live with that instead of awful acne and oily. It does sting your eyes when removing eye makeup and it's recommended you don't use it in the eye area but I still do. Just close them really tight. :) A heads up- it won't remove waterproof mascara well.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 12/23/2012 11:21:00 PM More reviews by GrandPriestess

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Black, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

I have had such troubled skin for such a long time. My acne started when i was 13 and i'm older than I would like to admit to still be having acne issues. I've been to dermatologists and have had no success. Needless to say, I have tried a lot of products over the years. Which also includes just about everything from the drugstore. A little over a year ago, I started changing over all my face, body, skin and hair care products over to less toxic, organic or all natural products. I went through a lot of these products as well and after a very, very bad skin reaction to Derma E products, I wanted to give up. I went to Sprouts to get something just for the moment while I was returning the products to Vitacost and researching for something new. I feel into conversation with the nutritionist there. She recommended this as the safest and most basic cleanser that would help my skin without irritation.

She was right.
This cleanser has been so wonderful. My skin has finally cleared up. This takes all my makeup off nicely and gives me an extreme clean without feeling tight and dry. It will take off all eye makeup, but be careful because the tea-tree oil in the cleanser can sting a bit. I use the Earth Therapeutics Anti-Bacterial Complexion Pad with it and it's a terrific combination. Its gentle enough to use multiple times a day without and irritation. Just a completely successful product all around.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 2/28/2011 4:24:00 AM More reviews by faffner

Age: 30-35 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine Eyes: Blue

This cleanser was a mixed experience for me. Although it was a bit drying and didn't keep my skin very clear, it did brighten my complexion and leave the skin that wasn't problematic looking very nice. I think it was either too harsh and/or the fragrant essential oil blend was irritating. It was best of the cleansers that haven't worked, if that makes sense.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 3/23/2010 3:19:00 PM More reviews by lotusfairy

Age: 25-29 Skin: Oily, Medium, Cool Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium Eyes: Brown

This has cleared up my skin, but it is so drying. I will have to reserve this for really hot days in the summer when my skin gets greasy. It does however remove makeup very well, including eyeshadow and mascara. I make sure to follow with a very rich moisturizer and use only a tiny bit in my hands. It does lather, but comes out the pump very watery. The first couple of times, I pumped out too much in my hands. I found this at my local Trader Joe's but I have also seen at at other health food stores and at Whole Foods. This is ok for oily skin, but a bit harsh so be careful if your skin is sensitive.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 9/8/2009 12:01:00 AM More reviews by brkrtxbrb

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

After using this face wash and wishing so much that it would work, I have to say it broke me out in the worst acne: the underground, angry red, cystic stuff. No amount of "gee maybe this is a purge phase" denial was adequate.

Some folks complained about the unpredictable pump but I didn't bother taking the plastic off to use the pump. Instead I just unscrewed the lid and used the wand to drizzle wash into my hand.

Best for skin that is very oily. Not recommended for normal or dry skin because it may feel too drying.

Pros:
Love that it is Vegan and natural, love the thin formula, a little goes a long way, excellent at feeling clean without stripping, great lather, best smell out of the three DE face washes, does not contain peppermint oil.

Cons:
Broke me out in bad acne (have not had acne that bad since being on medically prescribed steroids). I strongly suspect it is the castile soap that is the culprit. It's really best for me to stick with oil-free and non-comedogenic cleansers, unfortunately nearly impossible to find in natural skin care. (So far.)

I am returning this to Whole Foods.
*Edit: Whole Foods accepted without question. I am now using Nutribiotic Non-soap Fresh Fruit Cleanser for Dry Skin. Even though I am super oily, I prefer the gentleness of this formula. It is vegan although it does not say so (the glycerin is vegetable derived). It is an extremely effective cleanser without stripping. Plus you get a huge bottle for about $7-8. The local natural foods store sells this in bulk too. Awesome. No breakouts!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 5/31/2009 3:18:00 AM More reviews by achuh

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm Hair: Brown, Other, Fine Eyes: Brown

I'm really sad to give this a negative review, but this really didn't work with my skin. I'm using minocycline and tazorac to keep my really bad, deep cystic acne under control but I wanted to try a natural cleanser to help refine my skin and gently cleanse without overdrying. I read some good reviews and liked that this formula had sea kelp in it so I decided to give it a try.

The texture is very watery, but I don't really mind it since it lathers very well. It cleaned my makeup really well (although, I only were a tiny bit of mineral makeup most days and I don't use this to remove eye makeup) and left my skin feeling clean and soft. After a week my skin was looking clear and fresh which made me super happy. But after a few weeks I started getting cystic acne (even though I was still taking my medication religiously) and I started developing smaller surface pimples, which never used to get. I stopped using this cleanser for a few weeks and all of my pimples cleared up. Too bad that this cleanser didn't work for me :( I gave it a two instead of a one since my skin's texture really improved while using this, but I couldn't deal with the cystic acne.... ladies who don't have a problem with cystic acne should give it a shot!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 4/22/2009 10:39:00 PM More reviews by Fashionopolist

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I really wanted to love this stuff because it's natural and chemical-free. Instead of love, I found like. This isn't amazing, but it's a nice cleanser. It leaves my skin feeling TOTALLY clean, and I appreciate that. The bad news is that it's a tad drying for my combination skin. Also, if you get it in your eyes, you will experience pain.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/11/2009 11:27:00 PM More reviews by wrapped

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I love this cleanser. I bought the regular thoroughly clean face wash first, and loved it, so I decided to give this one a try. To my surprise, I liked this one even more. It cleans really well, even gets off my foundation. It foams amazing, and you only have to use a tiny bit each time. I love the smell, although my boyfriend doesn't at all. I rub it in for about a minute or so, and sometimes let it sit on my skin for a little bit, and my skin has been clearing up well (I haven't really changed anything else in my routine.) Overall, a great cleanser.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/28/2008 3:45:00 PM More reviews by luvfox012

Age: 25-29 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

You can find this cleanser at whole foods or other organic type of markets. The regular tea tree oil cleaner by desert essence drys my skin out so its good for really oily skin but the seaweed kelp one is really great for my face which is normal to dry and I'm on my 8th bottle I've been using this for over a year now. It takes off all my makeup and my face has been loving this. I use to use shisedo, lancome or drugstore brands and they strip your skin off! My other favorite cleaner is SOY cleanser by Fresh F21C!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/7/2008 11:18:00 AM More reviews by Daviis25

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This is seriously the bet product I have ever used in my life. I've tried soooo many products to try and take care of my oily skin and nothing has ever worked until I found this product. Ive been using this product for a couple weeks now, and my face has never looked and felt this good! A+++ Product and best when combined with the blemish stick!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No