MAC Full Coverage Foundation

3.8

201 reviews

69% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Octyldodecanol, Synthetic Beeswax, Copernicia Cerifera (Carnauba) Wax, Ethylhexyl Methoxycinnamate, Silica, Hydrogenated Polyisobutene, Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil, Tocopherol, Ascorbyl Palmitate, Polybutene, Alumina, Stearic Acid. May contain: Mica, Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides, Chromium Oxide Greens, Ultramarines.


on 7/19/2015 9:40:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

I read reviews on here, and completely ignored them. Never again will I ignore these trusted reviews!

For every MAC foundation I can be matched to an NC15 (I'm 150 Buff for Revlon Colorstay). I had read reviews on here that the shades run a bit lighter for Full Coverage when compared to other MAC foundations, and even after using Findation, which matched Full Coverage to NC20 for me, I still ignored it and went for NC15 (I bought it online, as it is only available in pro stores,or online). In my head, I thought that if it was too light, I can just deepen it with some bronzer around the perimeter of my face to give a highlight/contour appearance, as I have never been able to use this technique before because I am so pale.

I ignored all the reviews, and alas, it was too light. I looked like Casper. I did a half-face comparison with Revlon Colorstay, and honestly, I could have gone about my day fine, because there wasn't much difference in colour. But it was lighter. It was too pale. And in fact, too pink toned. Revlon Colorstay has the tendency to oxidise, brining about a slightly darker, more yellow, yet more natural colour match for me. MAC Full Coverage doesn't oxidise, which is a very good thing, as long as you have the correct shade. So that is a very good thing!

It can be difficult to blend, and even though I love to use a damp sponge, it just wasn't working for me, and I found that the Real Techniques Expert Face Brush worked best.

It definitely is full coverage, but its not cakey, as long as you blend it well, really buffing it in to the skin. It's very buildable. It definitely does need to be set with a powder because it is very sticky. I really dislike using powder, even though I am very oily, because I have such large pores (check out my Urban Decay All-Nighter Setting Spray review), so this was a big negative for me.

Furthermore, It sinks into my pores. Maybe it would work better with a pore filling primer.

Because of this, I can't use it as a foundation, but it works so well as a concealer. It's basically a giant version of the Studio Finish concealer, but without the spf. It has 3 times the amount of product, for much less than double the price. So I would highly recommend buying this instead if you like that concealer. Much more product for your money.

Overall, as a foundation, no. Concealer, absolutely.

But make sure to pick the right shade! One shade darker than you usually would be



on 7/4/2015 1:32:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I recently bought this foundation as I wanted to switch from the studio fix fluid foundation also from Mac. This shit is FULL coverage. I get breakouts regularly and I have a few dark spots and this foundation covered it up no problem. The downside to this foundation is that you can definitely tell you're wearing makeup and if it isn't applied correctly, you can look cakey. In terms of texture it's easy to apply as it's so smooth, it's basically a larger version of Macs studio tech concealer. it does cling to dry spots horrendously and also slips off of oily skin within an hour no matter what primer or powder is used (I tried 8!). When I first used this I found it extremely hard to wear as it has a shiny finish and simply does not look nice. It made me look like I was wearing a mask and this was awful especially as I'm used to wearing full coverage anyway! No matter how much I blotted my skin or applied powder, it simply would not give a nice finish and I found that in little as an hour I would look shiny and just awful. It is not long wearing. I would recommend this foundation to people with normal skin if you're looking for full coverage however the price of £25 is definitely not worth it. It also gives flashback in photos. I definitely would not repurchase, although I love Mac products this was a let down for me.


on 6/13/2015 10:26:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I was a little skeptical to buy this after reading the mixed reviews but I am so glad I did! I was struggling to find a HG drugstore foundation so I gave up and thought I'd bite the bullet and just go more highend. It claims to be " long wearing, crease proof, none acnegenic and water resistant" and well it lives up to it's claims!

Here are the good points to the foundation; I have quite dry skin especially around the forehead and usually cream foundations stick to those dry areas, no matter how much I moisturize but this didn't at all, or even after several hours! Next thing is how blendable it is. I first went in with my buffing brush and it was quite hard to pick up and blend so I spritzed my brush with my mac prep and prime fix + ( because it was at hand ) and then I went in with the brush to the pan and it blended like a total dream! It didn't streak either. It claims to not crease either and it didn't crease. Not even under the eyes, or my smile lines which ALWAYS creases on me. I almost thought I was seeing things and couldn't believe how amazing it was! Now onto the packaging; I saw a couple of reviews saying that it was easily breakable but I feel it is quite sturdy! Also I like how I can see the product clearly through the lid. I was also worried that in the sun this would wear off or go a little oily however when I was out in the heat ( it was really hot ) it didn't wear at all or feel sticky or claggy! And finally, I saw reviews saying that it was quite transferable. I personally didn't feel this if I set it with a powder. Without a powder it does transfer a little bit but that goes with any foundation! I feel this is good value for money as you get 28g / 1oz of product for £25 which I thought was amazing! It gives my skin a beautiful flawless look which is kinda dewy but can be mattified with a powder.

In terms of cons I really cant think of any but the fact you may need to have a moist brush in order to get a good blend!

Overall I really love this foundation especially for my dry skin and it is fantastic value for money meanwhile it does everything that it promises excellently. On my first day of wearing it I had compliments on my skin.....so I knew it was a keeper!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/6/2015 12:18:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Okay, I've read mixed reviews about the M•A•C Full Coverage foundation, and to be honest - I couldn't find many. This is an indepth description and review.

It's a Mac Pro product but you don't need a Mac Pro card to make the purchase.

Packaging: It comes in it's usual black box telling you what the shade is. (mine's NC35) The product itself is in a compact. People have written that it's dropped and smashed, but that's never actually happened to me. It sadly dosent come with a mirror. Instead a clear plastic to replace it. Probably because it's a pro product used by makeup artists, who use spatulars and pallets.

How it goes on: this product is veryyyy thick, but once it's on, for me, I don't feel it. I'm not sure if that's cause I'm used to wearing makeup; but it's quiet light concidering it being like a whole face concealer. Some people like to warm it before using it. But I use a buffing brush (Kiko face 107) to apply it and it goes on nicely in circular motions. You MUST use a moisturiser under this ESPECIALLY if you have dry skin, I have dry skin on my nose and around my piercing and also around my eyebrows (probably cause I don't exfoliate enough!) and once I forgot to use a moisturiser and it kinda made it worse! And once I used a primer and, I don't know, it went on funny and weird, it still looked good but the foundation sunk into my pores (I used the W7 prime magic, which is normally really good!) when usually this foundation deletes the appearance of pores! So be carefull what you use underneath. It has a very high pigmentation also, a little goes a long way! It dosent really have a smell, I guess it just smells like your typical expensive makeup.

How it conceals: I've been searching for a foundation that covers, and this covers better than 'Cover FX' (which costs more) and 'Vichy Dermablend Foundation'. So that's a plus for me! I have some scarring on my nose and chin, dark circles, reddish cheeks and some freckles I dislike on my cheeks. And this foundation covers it all! It's buildable though! And can be sheer with a lighter coverage. You don't have to have it heavy like me! Which brings me to my next point, you MUST make sure you have the right shade before you buy! I wouldn't suggest going online to buy this product. If you want it heavy like me it could look a little bit like a mask. So it needs to be as close to your skin colour as possible. If you're used to buying a certain colour foundation from mac, think again, cause for different people the shade comes out different colours, so try and find a Mac Pro store and try out the colours before buying! Their aren't many shades so it shouldn't take that long.

Staying power: for some people this stays all day, others. Not. I use the Kiko fixing spray and that does he job for a few hours, but because I lay it on thick, the excess foundation sometimes transfers onto things, so I'm concidering buying a powder instead to mattify it. The foundation does give a dewy look, but others may say oily. So it may vary for different people what's best to use over the top to keep hold of it. At the end of the day or after a few hours, I sometimes use it as a concealer to cover the flaws coming through, that's seems to do the job

Other comments: a lot of makeup artists use this product for bridal makeup, so that's a good sign! And it gives a beautiful effect with the flash, but don't get too exited, cause if you use a basic phone flash to take a selfie, you get flash back and you could look like a ghost, but I like I said, I cover everything. So that could be why it looks like a mask, but if you don't use flash my face looks really good! And you can't even tell I'm wearing foundation at all! It's so fast to apply ! It takes me less than a minute to put on! My eyebrows take longer, honestly 😄.
I have a feeling I'm gonna have this foundation for months ! Cause when I saw the ones in the shop that have had bits taken out by a spatular, all I can say is that it's DEEP ! A good 28g ! (If you're not sure how much that is, the average compact is 10g which is way less than half of this foundation)

Although this foundation is high end and expensive, it's worth every penny! I would defo buy again! I'll continue to use it till I'm using a toothpick to get the scraps!

Thanks for reading Xxxx

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 2/11/2015 7:02:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

NOTE: You can read the review complete with images at my blog: www.getglam.co.uk

I've always been a fan of Mac products, although I've not always been able to afford to repeat-buy. My love for Mac began when I purchased their Studio Fix foundation following a complimentary makeover in the duty-free area coming back from holiday one year. I loved it! So when I heard about Mac Full Coverage Foundation, I knew I just had to try it!

After watching lots and lots of YouTube demonstrations and being amazed by how it could kick the butt of any complexion problems, I went to the Mac website and ordered it in shade NC20. Looking back, I probably should have been more daring with my online purchase and gone a little darker. Hey ho.

I genuinely thought I would have instantly fallen in love with this product and, at first, I did. I used my Real Techniques Miracle Complexion Sponge (slightly damp) to apply the product, and could have jumped for joy as I watched my imperfections disappear. But all was not as it seemed...

Before I enlighten you with my findings, I'll tell you a little about the product. It's an emollient-based product which has been specially formulated for opaque coverage - in other words, it's like a concealer for use on your entire face! However, it's not so cakey if you use a damp sponge to apply. It has a smooth, creamy texture and you get a decent amount of product for your money - it looks like I've barely made a dent in mine despite using it quite a lot.

Now, I've been using Mac Full Coverage Foundation almost every day for a couple of months and I seem to have suddenly developed a problem with dry skin, particularly around the nose. I've never had a problem with dry skin before and can't say for sure whether this foundation has been a contributor to or the cause of this new and much unwanted condition, but I would definitely not recommend it to anyone with similar problems.

Despite performing my morning ritual of Benefit's many moisturisers and The POREfessional Primer beforehand, this foundation could not draw any more attention to my flaky nose. It looks awful! Before I put the foundation on my skin actually looks fine and the dryness is barely visible, but once it's applied it's like my nose is screaming 'Hey, look at me!!!' Gone are the days of it giving me the flawless looking complexion I had always dreamed of (and previously managed to get!).

All in all, I think this could be an amazing addition to your make-up bag if you've got the right skin type. It's most definitely worth a try, as when it works the results are like no other. But it and I are no longer friends for the time being...



5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Black

I love this foundation! It's creamy and it makes my skin feel so good, plus it blends in flawlessly and allows liquid bronzers and illuminators to blend in nicely as well! It offers full coverage which I like for special occasions and doesn't budge throughout the time being worn! :) I wish there was more product in the packaging though. Oh, and don't use the sponge provided in the packaging - I personally use the egg-shaped foundation brush from Sephora.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 10/15/2014 3:09:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This foundation is by far my most favorite of all the foundations I have tried. I like the texture, I love the coverage, and the compact is travel friendly. I find this best applied with a duo fiber brush. Results look great in photos. This product can transfer, so be sure to set it and/or buff off excess if necessary. That being said, the coverage and finish are very worth it if full coverage is your goal.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 8/14/2014 12:39:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

This was recommended to me by a local MUA, she told me she uses it for all of her photoshoots and the photographers love it because the shoot goes uninterrupted because they rarely have to retouch the makeup. I use a spatula to spoon out a small amount, put it onto a clean flat surface and use a beauty blender to buff it into my face. Can be low coverage if you use a small amount, and can be sheer if you apply a small amount with a damp sponge, but can also be extremely full coverage. You need to play around with it a bit to find out how much you need. Gives a clean matte finish. I give it a 4 because it makes me break out and because if your skin isn't well exfoliated it will cling to any dry patches.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 7/29/2014 8:45:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

This used to be my holy grail foundation. The coverage is nice, it isn't cakey at all(or it can be if you like). My skin is normal, doesn't get oily/dry and I never get spots. It is an emollient foundation and this is my issue, I live in Scotland and the air is cool so the foundation usually stays intact, but oh my god in summer when it's warm, this actually melts on your skin, it goes extremely wet, and the transfer it absolutely ridiculous. You can set it with a tub of powder as soon as there's slight heat it with melt, separate, go patchy and blotchy. I don't understand how this could be used on photoshoots or TV when stage lights pack immense heat, you'll look like an oil slick!! Very bizarre. Impossible to apply with fingers, go with a beauty blender and it clogs brushes and causes streaks.

Edit: I feel like I was unnaturally harsh in my last review!! Must have been in a bad mood.
Although it is true it doesn't work we'll in heat, this foundation is actually very HD, it is one of the most undetectable foundations in the skin, it isn't drying so it doesn't accentuate fine lines and actually diminishes the look of pores, you cannot argue with the coverage, powder+setting spray over this foundation work so well. I have actually repurchased this foundation after buying other full coverage high end foundations and have come straight back to this. It does transfer and fade, and after a 6 hour day it does settle in places and cake around my nose. Therefore 4 lipsticks.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 7/1/2014 3:39:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

First let's start with the NEGATIVES to get it out of my chest: The packaging is absolute garbage! I dropped it once, now it's loose and I had to pop it back together. I know this is intended for professionnals and I don't mind the lack of design or applicator, but they could have made it sturdier.

Now to the POSITIVES:

- The color NC15 is absolutely perfection for my very fair skin. It runs paler than most NC15 by mac and doesn't contain any peach undertone.

- The coverage is excellent and looks really natural if you prep according to your skin and blend it properly.

- It feels really good on my dry skin

How I APPLY it:

I start by prepping my skin. I apply a light weight lotion, then my mineral base sunblock and I tap a bit of jojoba oil all over my skin. This foundation is oil based and it's much easier and more natural to thin it with oil than with water. If your skin is naturally oily than use your own oils to your advantage for the blending.

I then dab the foundation on with my fingers, this way I don't loose too much product in the brush. After that I blend it with a small goat hair brush (zoeva paint brush) doing downwards strokes to avoid accenting peach fuzz. I finish with a dry sponge on my areas that needs more coverage by stippling it.

I lightly powder my face and I'm good to go.

I also uploaded a picture of me with a montage of three pics. The first one bare face, second with the foundation only and the third with a full face. HTH

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top