October 24, 2014 | 1454 users online

Highlighters - Pearl Ex pigments



image 0

rated 5.0(9 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 5.0
  • 100% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.6
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 11/27/2012 8:47:00 PM More reviews by wildrose83

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Red, Straight, Fine Eyes: Hazel

I use these pigments for both eyeshadow and mixing with acrylic powders to make custom colors. They're awesome. When mixing with clear acrylic powder use a 1:4 ratio to maintain the integrity of the acrylic.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 12/7/2009 9:15:00 PM More reviews by kragey

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine Eyes: Blue

I bought the set of 32 colors on a whim, and now I'm absolutely obsessed with them and want more colors! I was never in to gold pigments until I bought these. Okay, where do I start with my raving? Well, first of all, the price: the set of 32 colors from the local craft store cost me about $1.50 per pigment. ONLY $1.50 FOR A WHOLE JAR! As for the packaging, it's actually really nice. Just a simple clear jar with a sticker on the side and a black lid, but you can store them upside down to see the color. Plus, the lid is nice and wide open, allowing you to pick up a lot of pigment without spilling it everywhere. The product itself is AMAZING! So soft and easy to blend, and the colors are REALLY vibrant. You don't even have to apply them wet, just use a good primer and you're set to go. :) My personal favorites are Aztec Gold, Interference Gold, Super Copper, Blue Russet, Flamingo Pink, Turquoise, Misty Lavender, Bright Yellow, and Micropearl. Micropearl has become my absolute FAVORITE highlight color, and I use it with just about every look! These aren't eyeshadow, but I've been using them for a while and they haven't harmed me. The only color that I would really advise against using on your eyes is Sparkling Copper; it's a glitter and it's relatively coarse.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 7/1/2009 6:31:00 PM More reviews by facebylace

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

I seriously thought I was the first person to use these as eyeshadow pigments. Dang!! Hehe!
I am so in love with these pigments. They are absolutely gorgeous, and amazing color payoff. You get a ton of product for such a little price. Warning though... be very careful taking the sticker of the sifter.... pigment will fly :)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/19/2009 1:32:00 PM More reviews by DaCraze101

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

All I can say is WOW. When I heard about these pigments I really had to see for myself. (Quick note: Why are they under highlighters? They are all different colors.) So Jacquard sells these in sets of 12 for series 1, 2 and 3; there's also a 32 set. I bought the 32 set because it was on sale at Joann.com for 40% off, so each pigment came to about $1.15 for 3 grams. Score! I remembered reading from a previous poster that pearl white was a dead on for Vanilla. This is not the case. Pearl White is a bright crystalline white. If anything would be a dupe of vanilla it would be Interference Gold, which is a creamy whitish color with iridescent gold in it. The difference in color is that vanilla looks more peachy while Iridescent Gold looks more yellowy, BUT you can not tell the difference once its on your skin. And the Pearl Ex Spring Green is more like MACs Emerald Green. A dupe of MACs teal would be Pearl Ex Duo Blue-Green. And MAC Golden Lemon would equal P.Ex Brilliant Gold, while P.Ex Sparkle Gold would be MAC Gold. (sorry not trying to nitpick) I'll try to do a list of dupes with pics of swatches. The set has a great variety of color and the colors themselves are gorgeous. For all you gold fanatics (like me) there are a few different golds to choose from. The only thing that made me sad was that Minx (brown) wasn't included in the set, but I can order that separately. Also, a REALLY IMPORTANT note: I know a lot of women say they use these as straight eyeshadow but the mica is so pure and fine that this definitely doesn't give you the best application and staying power, even if its applied over a base like UDPP. It needs to be applied with some form of eyeshadow base. I use Boron Nitride (which sounds scary but its actually an ingredient used in high end mineral makeup) I bought an oz from CoastalScents.com for $8 and it's going to last me forever and ever and ever. I recommend the particle size 16 cuz its not shimmery or whitening. you can either mix it with ur pigment or brush it on over your primer before applying your e/s.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/6/2009 4:00:00 AM More reviews by lc4660

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I love these... I've bought the whole series..

Amazon.com
Michaels.com (or in stores)
Most craft stores..
I get them for $10 for the set of 12.. how? well thats just my little secret. :)

LOVE LOVE LOVE THE GLITTER. spritz on fix + and dab on the glitter.. layering over and over.. LOOKS AWESOME! :)


DONT BUY PERFECT PEARLS. NOT THE SAME!!!! Not at fine, and is very harsh on ur eyelid.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/22/2009 3:50:00 AM More reviews by fo0lishdoubts

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

So, I went to my local Michael's Arts and Crafts store and stumbled upon these pigments. It was only $27.99 for 12 of them! How can you beat that? You're basically paying $2.00 for each pigment which by the way works incredibly well and is fantastic in the color feedback it gives you. This stuff is crazy amazing. I got series 2..I think that's what it's called the one that comes with all the crazy bright colors. I got a %50 off any regular item for Michael's so I'm definitely coming back to get series 1 which are more of the basic colors. SO GOOD!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 4/19/2008 11:01:00 AM More reviews by xxxPikadoodlexxx

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Green

I'm not sure how safe it is but these WORK. Better than MAC imho. My only concern would be for contact wearers. I know all shadow runs the risk of scratching your eyes, but this product wasn't intended to be used as a cosmetic so I'd just be careful. Although I have never heard of anyone having a problem with them. Definitely worth trying. The bronze and gold shades are AMAZING

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 8/1/2007 11:49:00 PM More reviews by Hisoneandonly

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

I got these when I heard the buzz surrounding them on myspace. I got Series 2 and 3. These are craft products whose intended use is for stamping, but they are non-toxic as the reviewer below me mentioned. Some of the ladies I consulted with had said they used them for years without any serious problems.

I like the colors, the pigmentation and the wearability (I do have to use a heavier primer than Urban Decay though to ensure they don't fly all over the place in the blending process). However, I use these when I need to substitute for a color I lack, not as a replacement for products that are intended for use around the eyes, like MAC, Makeup Forever, and Bourjois pigments. I love makeup forever pigments so I usually grab those first!

I gave five stars for the previously mentioned characteristics the Pearl ex Pigments have, they do look beautiful on! On occasions when I can't find the exact shade I want I thumb through these and chances are between the two series that I find what I had in mind!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 9/13/2005 8:31:00 PM More reviews by TeeCube

Age: 30-35 Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Hazel

I swear these are the exact same thing as MAC pigments only much less expensive and with more color choices. Pearl Ex are found in craft stores but they are non-toxic, and therefore safe. The paper that came with them says "Pearl Ex pigments are non-toxic powdered pigments that exhibit extreme colorfastness and stability..." SERIOUSLY--THEY ARE IDENTICAL in nature to the famous MAC Pigments, but with a range of more colors! I was telling my Mom about MAC Pigments and she smiled and brought out a big box of jars (and more jars!) of Pearl Ex, and said "you may be interested in these!" and proceeded to let me pick out anything I wanted--oh my gosh--I found one identical to MAC Vanilla--it's called Pearl White. Another, Spring Green, identical to MAC Teal, and Sparkle Gold, a dead on MAC Golden Lemon! Plus there were many other colors in the box that are too beautiful....I see them mixed in/as nailpolish, lip gloss, eyeshadow, highlighter--too much fun and I can't wait to start playing. As much as I LOVE MAC (and I truly do--they're one of my HG lines), these pearl ex piggies take precedence. I believe that crushed mica, minerals or pigments from the Earth are all the same, no matter the label or price. Safe and non-toxic and inert, colored powder? I'm going with it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No