July 31, 2014 | 1957 users online

Toners - Paula's Choice - Skin Recovery Enriched Calming Toner



image 0

rated 4.3(65 reviews)

  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 6/14/2014 1:48:00 AM More reviews by Kadyjoi

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Blue

Toners get a terrible reputation and mostly with good reason. I remember how tight and dry my face felt the first time I tried a toner as a young teen and I avoided them ever since. In my mind, dry skin types did not need a toner.

Boy, was I wrong. Wrong, wrong, wrong! This stuff is THE BEST. My skin soaks this up this product and feels refreshed and extra clean! Out of the bottle, it looks like skim milk and glides on very nicely with a cotton pad. It has no alcohol or added fragrance and actually moisturizers my skin. It's also a wonderful prep for exfoliation (if I use an exfoliant without this my skin is not very happy.). Definitely a must for those with dry, sensitive skin who are looking to add an AHA/BHA exfoliant to their routine.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 6/12/2014 11:54:00 PM More reviews by Eire1

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Red, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

I HAD THE SAMPLE FOR DRY SKIN.
This toner has many anti irritants to justify the calming claim. It contains humectants and lecithin as a skin identical ingredient wich is capable of helping dry skin.
The fluid is a cross between milky and watery it can slip right out of the hands unless one moves fast. This is great for addition to a gentle routine for dry skin with a moisturizing cleanser lotion and sunscreen every bit counts! but for someone with very dry skin this alone will not work and a heavier cream will be needed.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/29/2014 3:40:00 PM More reviews by esornart

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

i have tried a lot of high end skincare and they seem to irritate my sensitive skin. After using Paula Choice, my skin has calmed down and not irritated. It helped cleared up my acne that I get when my skin is dry and irritated.

I like this toner because:
- milky consistency
- hydrates my skin
- calms my super sensitive skin that tends to get irritated and red easily.
- feels refreshing.
- does not contain fragrance ( my skin does not like products with fragrance)
- gentle on the skin.

Other products I have tried and like are:

- Moisture Boost Cleanser OR Skin Recovery Cleanser
- Skin Recovery Toner OR Moisture Boost Toner
- Skin Perfecting 2% BHA Liquid Exfoliant
- Skin Balancing Anti-oxidant Serum
- Skin Balancing Gel Moisturizer
- RESIST Anti-Aging Clear Skin Hydrator
- The Earth Sourced Skincare Line.

You can order various sample kits and try them to find your skin care regime that works for you. I mix and match my products.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/17/2014 7:26:00 PM More reviews by SelenaSerena

Age: 30-35 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Blue

I fell in absolute love with Paula's Choice Skin Recovery line after I had a rosacea flare as a consequence of wrong (stripping harsh) cleansing routine. It's going to be a long way to get my skin to a normal condition again. I was so careless.
I am currently using the toner from SR line and I find it so soothing. It calms reddness after cleansing in seconds. It also feels great on my chest and neck. I use it after I wipe all traces of make up with Bioderma Sensibio or occasional (not every day) soap-free cleansing with SImply Sensitive Boots foam. Then I put my moisturizer and I am good to put makeup on that will glide like a dream. The toner has some silicon in it so it is fabulous as a primer too. It feels more like a serum than a watery toner indeed. I'd recommend to everyone who has sensitive skin condition and dryness at the same time (provided you do your regular patch test as anything might upset your skin in this vulnerable state). I'd be so glad if other girls/boys with rosacea find it as soothing as me. I know how hard it is to find the right product when you are afraid of even touching your skin to say nothing of experimenting with cosmetics. Good luck. xxx

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 4/5/2014 6:42:00 AM More reviews by Walko

Age: 56 & Over Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This is the only type of toner I would use. It's alcohol and witch hazel free(which is 15% alcohol), has no fragrance artificial dyes or colorants.It's also contains antioxidants. A toner is not a necessity to me. They're supposed to remove the last traces of make up.But if you're still removing make up when you get to the toning stage , I would seriousy rethink my cleansing regime.I just find this a pleasant product to use.It could replace a serum.Gives skin an antioxidant boost ,very refreshing and calming. This is meant for drier skins, but I'm combination and this suits me fine.Really if you're looking for a well formulated toner, look no further.

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/21/2014 1:50:00 PM More reviews by Catlove

Age: 36-43 Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Warm Hair: Brunette, Other, Fine Eyes: Brown

My go to toner for removing the last traces of makeup. Adding some antioxidants and moisture to my sensitive skin. I honestly have to have this product. I recently just reordered it about a month ago only not to receive it yet(have emailed PC and they were supposed to get back to me within 48 hours)...have not heard anything yet. Guess they must be pretty busy. But customer service has always been great at Paulas choice. I do wish also that they had this available in larger bottles like the final touch used to be. It would make it less of a hassle because of having to order it and get it in the mail. If I could find something that would even come close to this, which I haven't at the department or drugstore I would stop ordering this but until then I will continue to purchase this as long I can get lucky and actually get it when I buy it. I can blame USPS.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 1/24/2014 10:57:00 AM More reviews by HWL

Age: 56 & Over Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse Eyes: Blue

I have a love/hate thing with this one. Sometimes it irritates my skin and I have to wash it off and sometimes it's calms it down. Lately, my skin is real raw in winter and I had horrid waking bumps. I used to make sure I had removed my mu figuring it be gentle and I planned to rinse it off. Putting anything on my face hurt, but this felt good. I left it on. Calmed my skin down. I used again this morning and same reaction. I am prone to redness. My skin is irritated, slightly dry and congested. It flushes easily. I get small breakouts too. This is not breakout proof and has oils in it. However, it's not all that clogging either. It hydrates, calms and works well on cotton pad to remove the last bit of junk. The only PC toner that I never have a problem with is Earth Source - no redness or breakouts, but you don't get much. ES doesn't work well on a pad to clean off the last mu. It's thin, but doesn't have as much slip. Instant calm is great for red areas (though it is not instant), but not ideal for wiping either. Moisture Boost and Resist always sting, which this doesn't. This has very thin texture - a bit like water and oil (needs shaking). It's not sooo expensive and so I don't mind using that on a cotton pad, especially if my skin is dry and irritated.. Also I like to add something moisturizing while my skin is still wet. It's not my year round, every day and I don't always use toners. But I I like to keep it around.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 11/14/2013 12:25:00 AM More reviews by katwalker

Age: 36-43 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Hazel

I had been using the Clinical Redness Relief Toner from PC when I decided to get samples of this and the RESIST toners from PC due to all the good reviews. Since I was already happy with the Redness Relief Toner for reducing redness and irritation, I decided to continue with that and also use the SR toner samples right after. By the time I finished the first sample packet of the SR toner, I didn't like it because it left a weird heavy coating on my face. I switched to the RESIST sample and liked that better. However, when I went back to the SR samples, my experience was very different. I figured out that I hadn't been shaking the toner up well enough before (hard to do once a sample packet has been opened), so that's why I had the experience of the toner feeling heavy. When shaken beforehand and applied lightly, the SR toner works perfectly for me, and I like it better than the (thinner) RESIST toner because it is more protective for my dry, sensitive rosacea seborrheic dermatitis skin! When I used the SR toner, my face can tolerate more things and isn't as irritable.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 8/7/2013 1:22:00 PM More reviews by SimplePleasures

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium Eyes: Blue

I have now tried three Paula's Choice toner's (RESIST Anti-Aging, Earth Sourced, and this one) and this one is probably my least favourite BUT... still a superb toner in its own right, which I would buy again. Before trying Paula's toners I had completely given up on them as superfluous for several years. Now, I really believe a good toner can make a great contribution to your skincare regime, and this is largely due to this toner.

For reference, my skin type is quite dry but still somewhat acne-prone. This toner helped even out my skin tone and made my face feel smooth and soft. I could tell the difference in my face as soon as I incorporated it into my skincare regime. It has a milky texture that adds moisture and feels truly luxurious on the skin. You may think moisturizer is good enough for your dry skin, but you won't realize what you're missing out on unless you try a toner like this one. I had no bad reactions from the product.

Now, in regard to how this toner is not as good as the other two... I ordered a bottle of the Earth Sourced to use as a "summer toner" because I found Skin Recovery pretty heavy for the hot, humid days, and a sample of the RESIST toner to try out. As soon as I applied each of these to my face, I could instantly feel an improvement compared to when I had applied Skin Recovery earlier the same day. Earth Sourced leaves you with an unbelievably smooth, matte, non greasy texture that seems to be a step up from the moisture provided by Skin Recovery. RESIST is by far the best though, I can't even describe how soft and smooth my face felt after applying that one, how much I looked forward to putting it on, and how much I loved my skin that week I used it. Clearly these toners are just somewhat better formulated than Skin Recovery, but it is reflected in the price: RESIST in particular is very pricey (about $3 more for about 2 ounces less). Also, Earth Sourced would not be enough for my dry skin in the wintertime, I feel it is strictly good for summertime or oilier skin because it isn't very moisturizing.

So, if you have skin like mine, and you have the means, you should definitely splurge for RESIST. If you can't afford it, Skin Recovery is a great value option that is still a big improvement for your skin. I plan on continuing to use Earth Sourced in the summer. In the colder months I will try to stock up on RESIST when it's on sale, but when I can't fit it into the budget I will fall back on Skin Recovery.

How I apply: At night I follow my cleanser with a cotton ball soaked in the toner to get off last traces of makeup. In the morning I don't waste any in a cotton ball, I just pour a bit into my palm and apply it with my fingers like a lotion. I apply it all over my face and neck, including the undereye area (no irritation!).

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 6/24/2013 9:27:00 PM More reviews by Lady5andy

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Hazel

I love this toner. It is a great consistency, creamy, soft and moisturizing without being overwhelming on those hot summer days. It help me remove the last bits of makeup without drying or irritating my sensitive skin. I love it. My skin definitively feel plumpier and fuller when using this. I will repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No