October 21, 2014 | 1817 users online

Gels/Soaps - The Body Shop - Satsuma Soap



image 0

rated 4.1(15 reviews)

  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 11/3/2013 9:46:00 AM More reviews by demiller

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Fine Eyes: Black

I love the smell. Fresh awakening scent for morning showers. Not drying and does not leave waxy layer

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 2/20/2013 6:42:00 PM More reviews by edmineralsgirl

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Tan, Warm Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

Picked up four bars on a 4 for $10 sale. This soap is so fragrant that as soon as I opened it, it filled up my entire bathroom with a wonderful smell. The bar lathers up pretty well (I use a loofah). And it smells AMAZING! The smell lingers on my skin for the whole day. The bar is pretty small for the regular price ($4), so keep an eye out for those sales! Definitely a good purchase.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 1/26/2012 1:46:00 PM More reviews by Yum3ji

Age: 25-29 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Brown

PRODUCT DESCRIPTION: The Satsuma is a member of the orange family and was brought to Japan from China in the mid-16th century. Known for its thin, easy-to-peel skin, it grows well in the cold citrus areas of Japan. The rind contains numerous oil glands, which is a source of essential oils used for perfumes and body products. The essential oil is cold-pressed from the peel of the fruit and is typically a yellow or orange color. The oil, which has a sweet, tangy scent much like the fruit itself, moisturizes and nourishes the skin.

Directions: Use in the bath or shower to create a foamy lather all over your body. Rinse off thoroughly.

MY THOUGHTS: For Christmas I received a Satsuma gift set from The Body Shop which included the 100 g (3.5 oz.) Satsuma glycerine soap. The soap itself typically retails for $4.00 CAD and USD; however, occasionally you can purchase it for a cheaper price when they are on sale (i.e., BOGO 50%, B2GO Free, B3G2 Free).

The packaging consists of the usual plastic wrap labelled with a sticker indicating the manufacturer's logo and product description. Meanwhile, the smooth alloy orange bar is crested with the Body Shop's logo in the center and scented with citrus mandarin oranges. When left exposed to the elements of water (i.e., soap dish) the bottom will gradually turn to into a white slime. To prevent this, and to extend the lifetime of the soap, it is advised to store the soap in a dry area between uses.

The Body Shop describes this soap as a vegetable-based bar which contains the water soluble ingredient glycerine as a moisturizer best for normal skin types. I do find that frequent use of this soap throughout the day does leave my hands feeling tight and sometimes dry--usually in the winter. In addition, near the end of it's life cycle it requires extra water to build up a lather.

INGREDIENTS: Sodium palmate, Water, Sodium palm kernelate, Glycerin, Sorbitol, Coconut acid, Citrus nobilis, Citrus aurantlum dulcis (Orange) oil, Limonene, Triethanolamine, Fragrance, Hexyl cinnamal, Etidronic acid, Tetrasodium EDTA, Citral, Citrus reticulata (Satsuma) oil, Linalool, Methylparaben, Sodium dehydroacetate, Orange 4, Iron oxides.

MYSELF: I'm an Euro-Canadian with combination and sensitive skin that is prone to clogged pores (Baumann skin type: OSPW). continued >>

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 12/6/2011 8:53:00 AM More reviews by physcocase

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Cool Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

Pros: SMELLS AWESOMEEEEE!

Cons: This dried out my skin like hell. The skin on my hands started peeling and all. D: The tiny bar of soap doesn't last very long.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 12/1/2011 11:48:00 AM More reviews by Summerbeauty

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Green

satsuma is a great scent from the body shop, not my favourite but gorgeous for summer and this soap is no exception. i thought at first that the bright almost unrealistic colour was a cover up for the quality of the soap but no, its amazing although a little pricey for soap.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 11/17/2011 4:22:00 PM More reviews by dorcasgood

Age: 30-35 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

Love the minimal packaging.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/20/2011 10:40:00 PM More reviews by CuteMo

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium Eyes: Blue

I never thought I'd see the day where I used a bar soap more than a shower gel! Smells great, lathers well, cleans good. It has smelled up the bathroom permanently, I think. Got it for a bargain, 4 for $10.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 12/28/2009 2:19:00 AM More reviews by pjw1209

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

Love this soap ~ it smells DIVINE. I recently got a gift set for Christmas and this is my second favorite scent in the TBS line. These soaps are expensive at $4.00 a piece, but they do last a long time if you put them in a covered soap dish or container. I will buy this product again...

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 11/25/2008 4:59:00 PM More reviews by Cinnabuns

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

You just can't find a better smelling soap. Satsuma has been a favorite of mine for years. The price is unbeatable also. Soaps are usually drying to my skin, but I didn't experience that with this one.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 7/21/2008 9:26:00 PM More reviews by eritreanempress

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm Hair: Brunette, Curly, Other Eyes: Black

Love this soap. It's a transparant glycerine soap that smells heavenly. It lathers very well and it cleans yet moisturizes. It's also dirt cheap!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No