December 20, 2014 | 1588 users online

Gels/Soaps - Dr. Bronner's - Hemp and Tea Tree Soap



image 0

rated 4.7(16 reviews)

Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 12/24/2013 1:46:00 PM More reviews by notgoodwithusernames

Age: 25-29 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

I used to deal with chronic yeast infections in the folds of my skin (I'm very fat and have diabetes, so I tend to have skin breakdown more than healthier people). I was using the Baby Mild bar soap for showering and had okay results (as far as yeast infections goes) but when I switched to the Tea Tree bar soap all that changed. I no longer have chronic infections and very rarely get them anymore.

The bar soap has a moderate smell of tea tree but it does not linger on the skin. I love Dr. Bronner's soaps as they do not aggravate my rare form of psoriasis on my hands and feet. Other "soap" which is actually detergent and not real soap causes flare-ups at every use. I only buy Dr. Bronner's castile soap for body and hand washing now. I've been using this bar soap for showering for over a year now and couldn't be happier!

I have noticed that the bar soap is less drying than the liquid soap so I stick to the bar soap. I still do have to moisturize after showering, especially my hands and feet (where my psoriasis is) but that is just part of my routine now. No big deal.

It cleans very well, and have had no problems with product quality either ordering from Dr. Bronner's website directly or from Amazon.com. I will continue to purchase this soap for life.

I hope Dr. Bronner's business stays in business for many years to come and keeps their same formulas as they have done since the 1940's. I am a very happy customer.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/16/2012 11:58:00 AM More reviews by Crystalx3

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

This really is an all-in-one bar of soap. I use it for my hair, my body, my hands, and my face. I bought this for my face because of the tea tree oil. I love that it is all natural. My face isn't completely cured, but it is looking better. It does dry the face out a little (maybe I use too much?) so be sure to moisturize! My hair is fine and very flat, but the oils in this make it voluminous and textured. It gives your hair a different feel, but you get used to it. Just make sure to rinse it all out. My body feels squeaky clean after use. It also deoderizes. If you don't like the scent, don't worry - it doesn't last. All in all, a great bar of soap and it's so cheap and versatile that you don't lose out on any money if it doesn't work for you since you can always use it for something else.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 12/26/2011 1:24:00 AM More reviews by korieanjool

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

I've tried many soaps to get rid of my back acne, but nothing's worked as well as this soap! It took a few weeks, and along with exfoliating a couple of times a week, it's completely cleared up. After the first bar ran out I tried African Black soap but my back acne was back again. So it's definitely back to Dr. Bronners :)
Only thing is the $8 AUD pricetag from my local health food store; it's pretty pricey for a bar of soap but it lasts forever and it's super effective.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/5/2011 7:36:00 PM More reviews by blackblackblack

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

I swear by this stuff. I use it in liquid form on my face (just a TINY bit is key) and it has reduced my acne and shine noticeably. It is also a genius product for makeup brushes. I can wash my dishes or clothes with it if I feel like it, or am totally broke/can't get to the store. It's cruelty free and devoid of harsh detergents and noxious chemicals. I also use it as a clarifying shampoo/scalp treatment every once in a while. Worth every penny and then some after you learn your ratios.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 7/30/2011 11:36:00 PM More reviews by ECLion

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Hazel

I'm a big fan of Dr. Bronner's usually, but Tea Tree Soap was not a good fit for my sensitive skin. It was far too harsh and drying, and I made the foolish mistake of using it daily as an all-over soap. I ended up with dry, dry skin and uncomfortable swelling, itching, and intense pain (pretty much like a UTI). It is great for deodorizing and a good strong clean once in a while, but far too strong for me to use everyday.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/23/2011 11:53:00 AM More reviews by saxcat513

Age: 25-29 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Blue

WOW!!!! I'm in love! This is soap is absolutely amazing! For about a week I used it only to wash off my makeup at night-which it did a superb job. Today however, I decided to be brave and attempt to wash myself head to toe in the shower with this stuff. Yeah, that's right- hair, face, and body with a BAR OF SOAP!! I must admit I was a little scared as I was lathering this up on my scalp, but when I got out of the shower today my hair, face, and body all felt spectacular! I must note though that my hair is short and NOT colored or highlighted-results may be different for someone with more damaged hair. For me though- it's PERFECT!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/7/2009 6:15:00 PM More reviews by zanderae

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

In my house, we've used several of the Dr. Bronner's liquid castile soaps and this is our favorite (followed closely by the Citrus scent). The soap leaves skin feeling really clean and soft without being stripped, and it has a mild scent. (We even use it to wash our dogs!) Dilute it as you need to and a bottle lasts a long, long time - great value, effective product, not tested on animals, SOLD!!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 7/25/2009 5:00:00 PM More reviews by whitebook

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

I was thinking picking up the mild one for babies, but my local CVS doesn't carry that! So I pick up this one, and turns out I like it very much! It reacts with water in a unusual way, it foams up pretty quickly and can be washed off pretty quick leaving the skin squeaky clean afterward. There's no visible gunks on my body, so I can't tell how it dissolve the dirt. But I used it on my brushes and I saw the MU melt RIGHT THE WAY without rubbing. I use it only once on my hair, but it stripped off all the oil from my long hair, don't recommend for normal to dry hair. Used on my face once, it was okay, but I am allergic to glyercin so I don't dare to keep using it. But there is one thing I discovered (well maybe it's just me.) I wore fake lashes sporificially, so I don't know how to clean up the glue gunk left on the lash. I don't own a eye makeup remover because none of them indicates they can remove the glue, my search on the internet says the same thing can be done with mineral oil, soap or tweezer. I tried, but they are all tedious to work with. But this thing, takes off glue gunk like no others! i put few drops, rubbed a little, and the gunk just came right off and my pair of Adele lashes looks new again! In conclusion, this is a very versatile cleanser, its fast action with the water can save some time on rubbing. I like the simple ingredients so you can quickly pinpoint what ingredient is causing the trouble when there's a reaction. Also, I like the idea of using it to clean EVERYTHING, so you don't have to "think"! update: I've noticed some residue in the strainer from this soap, also I tried it on my face and it's too drying for my face.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/27/2008 10:18:00 PM More reviews by DragonJelly

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

The tea tree oil of Dr. Bonner's Hemp soaps is my absolute favorite. It doesn't irritate my skin and it really clears up my dandruff. This stuff absolutely rocks!!!! I love it because 1) it works 2) it smells good 3) no animal ingredients or testing 4) Eco-friendly :)

Will definately use again!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/19/2008 12:07:00 PM More reviews by dmhg

Age: 44-55 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I have been using the liquid castile version of the tea tree hemp soap for a body wash for several years and it's fantastic. I started using it in areas where I chafe and sweat, and the itching disappeared completely. Never dries my skin out and doesn't use animal fats. I remember using the peppermint version back in the 1970s, and it was a good mild soap but this stuff has more benefits.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No