October 2, 2014 | 962 users online

Concealers - Chantecaille - New Stick - Foundation and Concealer

no image

rated 3.9(56 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.9
  • 66% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.3
  • Price: $$$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 1 of 5 on 11/22/2012 8:07:00 AM More reviews by Evgeniya89

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I had a horrible allergy reaction

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/7/2012 2:09:00 AM More reviews by linzyn87

Age: 25-29 Skin: Dry, Tan, Warm Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

I love the color selection Chantecaille has and have tried the future skin in wheat ( I'm nc40-nc42 mufe hd 153, nars Syracuse sheer glow, cle de pea b30, shiseido o60) and have tried just skin tinted moisterizer in wheat but not happy with the staying power . I almost gave up the brand... Until I have discovered the new stick in wheat. Boy this stuff last along time and is very portable to carry around for travel. I learned to use the chantecaille rose water spray it into the hand and work the stick into the liquid to have a more sheerer coverage and set it with the chantecaille compact foundation powder in camel. I didn't know it look so great I even had an air flight attendant come by and asked me what I was using and where can she get it. Looks great in natural and artificial light. I highly recommend!!! This is my HG. My favorite two foundations are the chantecaille new stick and the cle de peau creme foundation.!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 10/6/2011 10:24:00 AM More reviews by miuloves

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This foundation has good coverage, great color range, but unfortunately smells like clay. I hate that. Anyway, here's my review from my blog. There are swatches of the color SAND (a bit like NC40) on the blog: http://basemakeupreviews.blogspot.com/2011/09/chantecaille-new-stick-concealer-and.html

Their stick foundation, called New Stick - Foundation and Concealer, is a heavy duty 2 in 1 product which promises maximum coverage in a convenient tube form.

It is formulated with aloe vera, rice bran oil, gingko biloba, green tea, vitamins C & E, and is supposed to impart a "shine-free glow". Available in 10 shades, it retails for $45 USD.

First Impressions: The foundation is housed in a simple, elegant metal tube which is compact enough to carry in a travel makeup bag. Product comes out precisely by twisting the bottom. I am put off by the smell, which is not a fragrance but rather, the smell of oils and clays used to formulate the product. It smells like plasticine, which is not something I want to smell all day…

Color: I got this in Sand, which is one of their yellow toned shades. As you can tell by the swatch, it appears a bit dark for my current skin tone. Keep in mind that my arms and wrists are lighter than my face, neck, and chest, but still, the color Sand seems to be more suited for NC35-40 (I am now NC30-35). Though, at the time I bought it, it was a good match since I was more tanned because of the intense summer sun.

Swatched.

Blended.

The shade that would work for my skin color now is probably one step down in the same yellow-toned category, Cream.

I must give props to Chantecaille's shade range. If you are strongly olive and yellow under-toned, this shade will work for you, as will the other shades in the "warm" category. They divide their shade undertones in 3 categories--cool, balanced, and warm.

Coverage & Finish: With just a few swipes, blended into a thin layer with a foundation brush, I achieved natural-looking, medium coverage. For absolute full coverage, I applied a few more swipes on problem areas and blended away. The coverage is excellent. It does not look cakey, fake, or dry. The finish is natural and glowy, and can easily be made matte with loose powder.

Wearability: Now, stick foundations are usually wax-like and have a reputation for melting away on oily skin, unless you use professional grade stage formulations. The only other stick foundation I have to compare this with is MAC's. Staying power for both is about the same on my oily skin. With Chantecaille's, the look is flawless for 2 hours but begins to show oil break through gradually onwards. Blotting will take care of the shine, but coverage will slowly be eaten away. Reapplication is necessary if you want the flawless look to last into the night. Setting powder pressed with a puff and gently buffed away helps prolong the wear of this foundation.

Overall: I like this foundation. I like that it is available in shades suitable for those with yellow undertones, has good coverage, and is formulated with skincare. However, the smell. No matter how good a foundation is, if it smells funky, I don't want to use it. The oily, earthy, wet clay smell reminds me of pottery class. I just felt self conscious and unclean with this foundation on. It's quick to apply, looks nice, but I couldn't wait to get home and wash my face while wearing it. I think the problem is a lack of masking fragrance. Chantecaille is a natural company, and their products are formulated "without synthetic fragrances", so I think this may be the reason. The foundation gets points for coverage and shade range, but I do not recommend this to anyone who is easily bothered by smells.

3.5 out of 5

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 11/30/2010 5:46:00 PM More reviews by allyson399

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Green

I like this product a lot. I like that it can be used to conceal but also as more of a foundation. I hear what other people are saying about it not giving tons of coverage - I guess it's just what you're looking for. This is creamy and blendable and is the amount of overage I need for under my eyes and blemishes. What I love about this is that it doesn't have that heavy concealer look about it. It never looks cakey. I've been using this with the Just Skin tinted moisturizer and the loose powder and together they give me a really natural look which is what I'm going for. I don't really think and of the Chantecaille foundations/powders would work for someone looking for total coverage.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 3/23/2010 9:05:00 PM More reviews by janneylyons

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Blue

Love this product!
Not too dry and covers nicely!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 11/22/2009 12:14:00 PM More reviews by mskilicious

Age: 30-35 Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Blue

This is a review for the New Stick fdtn/concealer, not the Bio-Lift stick concealer (I think the reviews are mixed up in the category?).


I got this last year when I was using Retin-A every night and found it accentuated any dry skin/flakes. I couldn't use it for that reason and shelved it. However I've recently started to use it again (I'm no longer flaking/ultra-dry) and like it a lot. I use this as a fdtn rather than a concealer - to get sufficient coverage to use as a blemish concealer I'd have to really pile it on. Instead I draw a few stripes across my cheeks, chin, forehead and nose and blend with my fingers. It works great for evening out my skintone and leaving a nice, youthful finish.


I have previously used Future Skin in Ivory but my skin has since become sensitive to that. No such problems with New Stick. Ivory in New Stick is a lighter shade than in Future Skin (I assumed the shades would be the same across different products but they're not). I would maybe be better off using this in the next cool (Nude) or neutral (Vanilla) shade up but Ivory is working ok just now, and going into winter I'm only going to get lighter, so...


The texture is creamy but reasonably light and easily blended. My skin looks moist (in a good way!) and healthy. Coverage is buildable but I've not built it up to full cover because I don't like that look on me. I find it works best on normal-ish skin, I don't know how well it'd do on oily/combo as it could be too rich, but I know from experience that on dry/flaking skin it's not great. I like to use it on fairly well-moisturised skin - the extra slip is helpful for blending it smoothly with fingers.


This is the cheapest Chante fdtn option and right now it's working well for me. I expect to repurchase but I may get a different shade. I'd recommend it if you have normal-ish skin, don't need heavy coverage, but just want to even skintone out where required.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 9/20/2009 10:48:00 AM More reviews by isseymiyake

Age: 30-35 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I love this product. I use it to cover up the acne scars on my forehead, perfect! Its coverage is slightly weaker than some of other concealers in the market ( eg BB's concealer stick). It covers but not cakes, it adds a nice glow. Very natural looking among all concealers I have tried. The lasting power is pretty good too, 4-5 hours on my forehead and 3-4 hours at the corner of my nose which is very very oily. But I won't use it for the undereye, too heavy for my taste. Overall, this is a great concealer, but one has to make sure to (1) find a good match to the skin tone. this is about medium coverage so it might look very unnatual if the color tone is off. (2) always set it with a bit power to help it stay, I use blot powder by MAC.

Edit:m too bad, it tends to break me out. now i only use it occasionally when i need serious concealing. will definitely not use it in a row for more than 2 days. will not repurchase.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 8/6/2009 8:07:00 PM More reviews by egoldbau

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

The SA at Barney's was awful -- gave me the wrong color twice -- but that doesn't matter because it was just way too drying. I am returning it.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 3/22/2009 12:40:00 AM More reviews by Rainbowapple

Age: 36-43 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

A mild impulse buy that actually paid off - after disaster and expensive run-ins and disappointments with everything from BB to Clinique. This is my HE 'switch' with Max Factor's PanStik-the MF being my ordinary, everyday essential. My Chante Foundation and Concealer meets all of my expectations, with the exception of color/shade. Ivory is still slightly orange on me, depending on the intensity of natural light, but not as Oompah-lesque as MF. Covers well. Blends well. Packaging is a little too rattly and tinny

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 8/26/2008 8:48:00 PM More reviews by darina18

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

i got my makeup done by chantecaille for my debs ( irish version of a prom) and i was so happy with the amazing results that i went back a week later to buy this. a different sa matched me to nude and i couldnt wait to go home and achieve the picture perfect skin that was achieved the week before. well... i absolutely hated it. the colour was wrong and the texture was ultra creamy and thick, i felt like my skin was sufficating! i was so disappointed, i hadnt remembered any of these qualities on the night. maybe i just cant master it myself or maybe it was because it was the wrong colour. who knows? what i do know is i hated it! an expensive mistake ( 50 eur).

Is this review helpful? Yes No