January 31, 2015 | 1193 users online

Lipstick - MAC - Velvet Teddy

rated 4.4(169 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.4
  • 82% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.4
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 1/27/2015 9:00:00 PM More reviews by emolina

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This is my favorite everyday lip shade- if I could only choose one of my lipsticks, it would be this one. I'm an NC40 so I initially suspected that this would be too light on me, but it turned out to be the PERFECT nude shade on my deep-medium olive skin. Highly recommended for deep toned ladies looking for an everyday nude lippie. I also think the MAC matte formula absolutely beats all other high end lipsticks for a relatively affordable price compared to lipsticks carried at Sephora.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 1/20/2015 9:53:00 AM More reviews by isavella

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

First off, I love the name Velvet Teddy. I choose whether I interpret it as a teddy bear or lingerie depending on the day :)

This is a matte nude lippie with a great formula. It's slightly hard to describe the shade - for reference I have cooler-toned olive skin that's light at the moment and this pulls warm (almost peachy) on me, but never orange and always flattering. It's definitely not a light (Kim K look et al) nude on me. During the day I'll wear it with a Jordana lip liner that matches it exactly, and for a more dramatic look I'll pair it with MAC Whirl liner. That gives me what I like to call an "off-duty porn star" look (it looks good, trust me).

Wear time is great. I always use balm underneath, otherwise it'll definitely dry your lips out, but this never affects wear, color, or application.

I've worn this and gotten compliments like "your lips look so plump and delectable." If that doesn't sell you on this lipstick, I don't know what will haha.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/10/2015 5:28:00 AM More reviews by AnimeFreak91

Age: 19-24 Skin: Very Dry, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

A lovely "toned down" shade that looks great for work or church. I like to wear this lippy with MAC blunt. Since we are smack dab in the middle of winter the neutral combo looks fab and people think I am a sweet girl. If they only knew....

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 1/10/2015 4:48:00 AM More reviews by bethbubbles

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Grey

Even though there seemed to be an overwhelming amount of people saying it best suited darker skin tones, I watched it in store and decided to buy it. I absolutely love the colour it gives my lips, I use it with either whirl lip liner by mac or boldy bare lip lipliner by mac, the first give it a more brownish tone and the latter slightly pinker - both look really lovely with a bronze smoky eye or even just a simple neutral eye. The product is very matte but i don't find it ultra drying (not like Ruby Woo for example). This is my go-to nude lip, and I wear it extremely often, I'll definitely have to repurchase when it runs out.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 1/2/2015 11:29:00 AM More reviews by macsud

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Coarse Eyes: Brown

I bought this because everyone has been raving about how great it looks on NC45/NC50 skin. However, I found it to be just a bit too light. It looks great when worn over darker lipsticks, but I don't feel comfortable wearing it alone.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 12/27/2014 7:06:00 PM More reviews by SororityGirl1

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Hazel

I love this lipstick it's my perfect color! It's kind of a mauve nude which works perfect with my skin tone. This lipstick can definitely be dressed up of down and worn for many occasions. I don't like how expensive MAC lipsticks are, however this color is definitely worth the price. I'm in love with this lipstick, it's the perfect color and it's an amazing formula. It is very thick and smooth and makes your lips feel and look amazing. This is my first MAC lipstick and I'm very pleased with it, I will be buying more colors soon.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 12/11/2014 5:25:00 AM More reviews by wendy4421

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

It's a pretty, nude color. I have medium beige skin with an olive undertone and when I swipe this on my lips it comes off as a more pale brown. The scent this lipstick carries is a lovely, very light and sweet vanilla scent. It's a matte shade, with a creamy feel and one application of this color on your lips will last you without wearing off for a decent time (about 4 hours)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 12/10/2014 11:27:00 AM More reviews by Superbeckyy

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool Hair: Red, Other, Fine Eyes: Blue

This was impossible to get hold of in the UK (apparently some celebrity I've never heard of uses it) but was very easy to find in the US..so I got two! I'd been told my a few people that it would look weird on pale skin (I'm NW20) but it actually looks lovely, especially with Subculture or Whirl liner to define the lips. It did look very brown in the tube initially, so I had my doubts! Since this is a matte shade, it can be really drying so I'd suggest applying a lip treatment overnight (Vaseline over Nuxe Reve de Miel is brilliant) and a sugar scrub in the morning (I use Lush's one) to exfoliate any dead skin. It does last a few hours on the lips, but needs to be reapplied after eating or drinking.

I love this shade for the Autumn/Winter weather with my Subculture liner (cannot get hold of Whirl anywhere) - a perfect 90s inspired brownish nude that doesn't look at all weird on fair skin! A must-have if you're curious and don't have anything else similar in your makeup collection.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 12/6/2014 6:39:00 AM More reviews by Coebags

Age: 30-35 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I bought this without hearing the Kylie Jenner hype just because it looked so beautiful when I swatched it. I was in the market for a matte lipstick and just knew this was the one for me. I don't find the texture drying at all and it lasts soo long on the lips, I only feel the need to reapply because I love how it feels on the lips and the smell is gorgeous too.. I'm thinking of buying Kinda Sexy in the hope it will be as good.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 11/28/2014 5:03:00 AM More reviews by avenged1986

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Black, Straight, Fine Eyes: Grey

I have this for a while and I love it despite being N1 in Face and Body during the winter and N2 in summer. I wear in with everything from subculture, stripdown, oak, chestnut, whirl, hover and even stone liners. The colour of liner can really change the look of this lipstick. It is a matte lipstick so it will dry out the lips, which is not an issue if the correct pre-use prep is carried out. I love Mac matte lipstick although this is not quite as drying as fixed on drama or diva (in my opinion). I wear it with quite an orange blush (Illamasqua excite or lover) or with a pale pink (dame or well dressed) or even with blushes like plum foolery or warm soul or harmony. It can be worn with a full on dramatic eye or with just mascara and everything in between.

Is this review helpful? Yes No