July 29, 2014 | 1247 users online

Misc Beauty Tools - Aveda - Shammy Cloth



image 0

rated 4.3(42 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.3
  • 80% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.2
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 10/7/2013 12:45:00 PM More reviews by Hawko

Age: 44-55 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse Eyes: Brown

This is not, repeat not a piece of shammy, nor a piece a cloth. Think of it this way, your latex makeup wedges, as an 8"x8" piece, that will be my best description. It is expensive, I believed I paid Cad$ 15 for it 3 years back. After a few use, I just couldn't stand the feeling of it. I just felt weird, a piece of cotton face cloth is much better. For those who need this to properly cleanse their face, I suggest look into a more proper cleanser for your skin type.

The face shoppe has something similar to that but for a fraction of the cost. I was sucked into that and it felt better than the Aveda's, but eventually I put them into storage and use my cotton face clothes instead.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/7/2013 7:15:00 AM More reviews by yummytofu

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Amazingggg , ever since I've started using this cloth my face has become so much more clearer , almost 99% blemish free! It really takes off makeup and dirt better than any other facial cloth I've ever used!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 7/20/2011 7:34:00 PM More reviews by Gingerbelle8

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Black

I tried this product at least 10 years ago and my HG of cloths!!! I found it really pricey but it works so well!! I even tried H2O's shammy because it's so much cheaper but it doesn't even come close to Aveda's! It takes off all makeup and eye makeup really well. Works great for taking off mascara too! And it cleans really well. Every week I hand wash it with a little bit of detergent and it is as good as new again. I end up using it til there are cracks on the edges (even tho I'm supposed to replace it every 6 months.) It doesn't tug like regular face cloths would. My husband tried it and kept using it because he saw how well it took off his dead skin cells! LOL!! So now everytime I buy replacements I have to purchase 2! I bought Jane Iredale's magic cloth and as expected it did fall short of my expectations since this Aveda shammy is so much better!!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/22/2010 6:07:00 PM More reviews by lycn4717

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse Eyes: Brown

This Shammy is awesome.

At first i didn't know how to use it, so i hated it, but once you get it right, its great!

1 - Wet the cloth throughly
2- squeeze out most of the water, so its not dripping with water.
3- wipe cleanser, mask, etc off your face.
4 - rinse clothe underwater, repeat 1-2-3.

I've always had trouble getting my face clean, I'd use makeup removed, wash it twice, and when I'd used toner afterwards, all this dirt would be on the cotton pad

I tried so many different cleansers and nothing solved the toner/cotton pad issue.

UNTIL the Shammy!! I can wash with any face wash, then Use the Shammy to rinse/wipe and then with the toner test, the pad is Clean!!

It really works to grab all the dirt, dead skin, and more off your face. its just amazing.

I have a clarisonic and that Doesn't work as well as this Shammy!

Love it, and now my sister and boyfriend use it too.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 6/12/2010 11:42:00 AM More reviews by Themonsunxxx

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Green

This product is unique. What it is exactly is a washcloth that dries to a stiff feel after you use it. This allows bacteria not to infest in the washcloth, which is what happens to other washcloths without this feature. I use it everyday, in the morning to clean my face, night time to take it off. It works like a dream and my breakouts have definitely decreased from it. I have oily skin and I must say this product somehow toned it down. I love this washcloth and needless to say, I would buy it again if needed!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 3/10/2009 5:34:00 PM More reviews by perfectionist_virgo

Age: 19-24 Skin: Very Oily, Dark, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I am of mixed opinion when it comes to this product. For reference I have the white cloth from The Body Shop that uses the same technology: dries stiff after use, smooth surface, rubbery. Pros: 1) Dries to keep out bacteria! 2) Allows you to see the dirt that has been removed. Cons: 1) Must apply a decent amount of pressure to see results. 2) Seems to dry my skin out somewhat. 3) No good for something like OCM. Using this for the past 5 months, I have not noticed any reduction in breakouts and I am beginning to miss regular use of normal wash clothes. I have yet to decide if I want to repurchase.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/31/2009 4:58:00 PM More reviews by kielala

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Okay well i like this. It has made my breakouts almost completely nonexistent and is really making my morning and evening skin routine very simple. the only problem i have had with it is i ordered it off of the website and paid by CC and it took them over a month to even ship the product. that i was completely upset with but once i got the product i rather liked it so it made up for the lack of customer service.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 1/24/2009 3:49:00 PM More reviews by ennisprettykitty

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

Hmmm..i would like to like this product but i just don't:( i just dont understand what the point of this is.I ris and it had only been used twice, i've only used it a few times.I hav slightly sensitve skin but still like to feel as though im getting a little bit of exfoliation when washing my face.This cloth has an odd, rubbery texture, and it really does not feel like it has cleaned or removed anything from my skin.I think i would rather take the chance of changing my washcloth every few days, then using this, having it harden up and kill germs.Also at $20.00, its simply too much for any cloth.Not a repeat purchase:(

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 12/28/2008 9:01:00 PM More reviews by Lilo1013

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

This is a great product and I credit the Shammy to helping my face become clearer and less prone to breakouts. I purchased this about 3 months ago and I have used it every single day since. I feel like I am taking off all my make up off at the end of the day. I put Nivea's cream mu remover all over my face and use the Shammy to take it all off. Then I cleanse my face with Alpha Hydrox Foaming Cleasner.
The shammy dries over night so that less bacteria forms. Every two weeks, I throw it in the washing machine on a warm/cold wash and leave it outside to dry. At first I thought it was a bit epxnesve for a piece of foam cloth but I think it is totally worth it now. The Shammy should last for at least a year or so.

4/16/09: I am still loving the Shammy!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 12/11/2008 3:43:00 PM More reviews by Cinnabuns

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I love this! It is a facial cleansing cloth that is almost exactly like the type used to clean your car. The cloth is so smooth and gentle to your face so it's excellent for sensitive skin. It comes pre-moistened in a plastic pouch and dries very stiff and hard. When you rewet the cloth, it becomes soft once again. This cloth will last for years. The only reason I threw mine out is because I laid a wet red towel on it and the color bled onto the chamois. :( My cousin who I consider the "know it all" of skincare has this cloth, and I had to get one for myself. She is even the person that introduced me to Aveda's line of products. I took off one Lippie since sometimes it feels so soft that I think my skin isn't getting cleansed well enough.

Is this review helpful? Yes No