MAC Fluidline Eyeliner Gel Macroviolet

4.0

221 reviews

65% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 2/15/2015 12:43:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

After years of hearing all the hype in regards to MAC's Fluidline Gel Liners for the past, I dunno, 299 years, I finally decided to order this shade and give it a whirl. I was not a fan of this color, formulation, or price - to the point I ended up returning it the next day.

This shade is so muted and dull! In order to get any pop of color from this at all you need to layer it 3-4 times. And even then the color is just kind of "meh". Its also kind of hard to work with and tends to be patchy and crumbly; its very difficult to get a nice clean line using this. To be fair though, I am an "all shades of purple" gel liner kinda gal (dare I say aficionado?) and for whatever reason this particular hue of purple/the lavenders pick up crumbly in all gel formulations/brands that offer it (Inglot, Bobbi Brown, Smashbox, Lancome, etc). HOWEVER, this one is the most crumbly/patchy/difficult of them all for whatever reason. Its also the most sheer of them all. And what's up with the bulky @ss packaging? I guess MAC intends this product to do double duty as a paperweight - maybe that explains the high price.

Um, no - just no. If you love a good purple liner, don't even bother with this one.



on 2/19/2014 2:45:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I don't even bother trying to use this as an eyeliner anymore. I bought this years ago, at the advice of the MAC MA who said the color would be gorgeous on me. Well, I tried it on it's own as eyeliner - not pigmented enough. Kept trying to use it when doing a purple eye - putting it over my Bobbi Brown Caviar Ink to give it some strength. What a pain - to have to do 2 lines! Forget it! So it sat unused for a while. But....I decided to use it as a cream eyeshadow instead. It makes for a strongly pigmented eyeshadow that has a hint of gold-ish shimmer to give it some depth. It's hard for me to get it on "light", so I only use it when going for a bold purple. I do think it is a good purple color, so I'm giving it some lippies for that. But as an eyeliner - fail.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/28/2013 10:24:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Great liner! I'm on my second tub. I use it as an eyeshadow. It compliments my hazel eyes beautifully. With a nude lip, it's a great look. Only complaint is that you have to build a few layers to get a nice even look. Since it takes about a minute to dry, it is kind of time consuming to get the right look. It does stay all day, though, and removes easily so I'll keep buying it. I have noticed that the first tub I had didn't require so many layers. I guess it's more liquidy? I have the brown and purple as well and like them equally.


on 7/26/2013 10:20:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Not pigmented enough, need to do several layers which is a pain in the butt. Also smudgy, expensive, you can get better quality gel liners for cheaper (try essence, wet n wild, loreal hip).


on 4/13/2013 9:59:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Black, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Black

I like my blacktrack fluidline a lot but I'm not too fond of this. This is drier than blacktrack and less pigmented. I had to layer this on to get the colour to show and the colour is nothing like what is in the pot. I prefer my urban decay 24/7 pencil rock star over this. Will not be repurchasing.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I have this gel liner in Blitz & Glitz along with Macroviolet and it's the prettiest shade of purple. I have brown eyes so there's a lot I like to do with it when I need a pop of color. The best part is that it lasts long!


on 7/30/2012 3:38:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Green

I t could have been such a great eyeliner if it was more pigmented! Nice and creamy, applies with ease and stays all day. But it takes some effort to pack the color.
Another use of microviolet that I'm even more pleased with is as a base all over the lid for mauve/ plummy smokey eyes. Especially combined with satin taupe enhances the purple undertone of it and the result is quite unique and flattering for green eyes.


on 7/7/2012 7:29:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Relaxed, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I have hazel eyes, and this colour enhances them so nicely! The formula is very creamy and easy to apply and it stays a very long time without fading or smudging. The only thing I dislike about this product is the shimmers in it because I find that it makes the liner look less pigmented/sheerer which is not good because I like my liners to be intense and really stand out. Regardless, I love this liner and the way it emphasizes the colour of my eyes. I will definitely repurchase when this one dries out.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 7/3/2012 11:22:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I bought this in haste as my makeup stash badly needed an update and have tried to let it grow on me, but no. This shade is just too warm for me. I kept lining and lining and my lids still seemed to show through. Eventually, i realised that it is not my lid showing through, that IS the shade of the gel liner; the excessive gold tone in it just makes it appear as if my lid is still showing through.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/19/2012 6:14:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

It's not as dark and intense as other Fluidline colors, but it looks beautiful on hazel eyes.


Back to Top