Sexy Hair Concepts Root Pump

4.0

55 reviews

76% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Water (Aqua), Hydrofluorocarbon 152a, VP/VA Copolymer, Dimethyl Ether, Isopentane, PVP, PEG 12, Dimethicone, Polysorbate 80, Cocamidopropyl Hydroxysultaine, Oleth 20, Butylether Hydroxypropyl Sultaine, PPG 5 Ceteth 20, Carbomer, Diazolidinyl Urea, Fragrance (Parfum), Benzyl Salicylate, Butylphenyl Methypropional, Citronellol, Eugenol, Geraniol, Hexylcinnamal, Hydroxycitronellal, Hydroxy Methylpentyl 3 Cyclohexene Carboxaldehyde, D Limonene, Linalool, Sodium Hydroxide, Benzophenone 4, Tetrasodium EDTA, Tetrahydroxypropyl Ethylenediamine


on 5/10/2015 8:04:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have used product a week ago and again this past week. I have noticed both times my hair became extremely dry and very brittle. I do not have dry hair my hair is on the normal side. this has also caused my hair to become frizzy. I'm not sure if this product has a lot of alcohol in it. I think this will be better for someone who has very thin hair and needs volume. I will not be purchasing this product again and now I have a huge can of this sitting under my bathroom sink and I am unable to use it. I'm sure this product worked very well for others but unfortunately it has not worked well for me



on 3/3/2015 11:05:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Love this product. I use on my roots while they're damp. I lift up sections I'd hair, spray into the roots, then brush through. I then blow it dry. This product makes a visible difference in the volume of my hair near the roots an stays all day. Even though I use quite a bit of product (maybe 10 sprays) , my hair feels touchable. The biggest downside is that my hair is greasy the next day - when I use this, I must wash my hair the next day (or apply dry shampoo).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/28/2015 1:10:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Red, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

I bought a small sample of Root Pump and am greatly torn about it. I used this on a blow out and it gave me pretty decent results. However, when I went to straighten my hair (since blow drying it - even with product - still makes my thick hair pretty frizzy and poofy), my hair lost all of the volume it had and fell flat. I don't know where I went wrong or what happened. I sprayed it on damp hair, concentrating at the roots and mid-shaft, and blow dried my hair away from my head. Like I said, great volume at first, but fell flat pretty quickly when I flat ironed my hair (for the record, I don't yank my hair down with a flat iron - I try to work with the volume and maintain it).It's a pretty messy spray and comes out white. It is a mousse, which is nice, but the spraying can get messy. It can get EVERYWHERE. It also has a pretty chemical-y smell. I would not repurchase this again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/23/2014 9:49:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Doesn't feel like I have any product in at all. Less is more. Very good for volume.


on 10/23/2014 11:49:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This spray on mousse gives you a pretty decent amount of volume, compared to using nothing when blowdring my hair,--I'd say this product leaves me with 1 to 2 inches of extra volumey thickness (when blowdrying upsidown with a round brush).
I found it doesn't smell the greatest, but the smell isn't that overpowering.
Also it can leave your hair kinda dull and matte looking.


on 8/12/2014 1:35:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Terrible product, it made my hair looked as if I were using a ton of hair spray on my roots (just untouchable!!), no good,, next time I will be trying the Rusk Thick


on 9/23/2013 10:18:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I'm in love with this product. It gives my fine limp hair nice body. I dont wash my hair everyday and this product last untill I shampoo, sometimes that's 3 days.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I tried both versions (Root Pump and Root Pump Plus). This one does not give near the same volume/hold as the Root Pump Plus but it is pretty decent. I haven't experienced a bit of stiffness with this version unless I got super crazy with it. The smell of neither is noteworthy but tolerable. These were on sale at Ulta for $10 recently which is a more appropriate price point than the regular price but I will probably repurchase one or the other.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

At first I didn't like this product at all.. But i figured out that is because I wasn't using it correctly. I would use a rat tail comb, to seperate my hair, spray this into the root, keep doing this in sections then after i was done i'd move all of my hair back into place and sort of rub it into my scalp i suppose you could say then blow dry upside down with a round brush and va va voom lol I love this stuff.


on 11/7/2012 11:21:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought this in a small $3 dollar trial size. So far I'm not impressed.
I don't like the stiffness it gives my hair. I would like volume without hold....if that's even possible. But that is what I would like. Basically I don't want my hair to be crunchy. I guess it did provide some volume. But I was hoping for so much more, it doesn't even have a good scent. If it even has a scent I don't know -- I don't remember, I think it has a strange but light artificial smell to it. Nothing that makes you say "MMm..that smells SOOOO good". It's just nothing special.
I am glad that I got to sample a small size before commiting to the full size can. I'll keep searching. There has to be something better out there.


Popular Styling Products


Comb Thru
Comb Thru
31 Reviews
Str8
Str8
75 Reviews


Top Rated Sexy Hair Concepts Products

Back to Top