Paula's Choice Skin Recovery Replenishing Moisturizer

3.9

142 reviews

66% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

Not tested on animals

INGREDIENTS

Water, Cetearyl Ethylhexanoate (emollient), Butylene Glycol (water-binding agent), Glycereth-26 (thickener), Oenothera Biennis (Evening Primrose) Oil (non-volatile plant oil), Cetyl Alcohol (thickener), Cyclopentasiloxane (skin-conditioning agent), Stearic Acid, Glyceryl Stearate, PEG-100 Stearate (thickeners), Glycerin (water-binding agent), Cyclohexasiloxane (skin-conditioning agent), Palmitoyl Oligopeptide, Palmitoyl Tripeptide-3 (cell-communicating ingredients), Sodium Hyaluronate (water-binding agent), Tocopheryl Linoleate, Tocopheryl Acetate (antioxidant/vitamin E), Magnesium Ascorbyl Phosphate (antioxidant/vitamin C), Dipotassium Glycyrrhizate (licorice-derived anti-irritant), Sodium PCA (water-binding agent), Panthenol (soothing agent), Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) Flower Extract (anti-irritant/soothing agent), Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice (water-binding agent), Sodium Ascorbyl Phosphate (antioxidant/vitamin C), Tetradibutyl Pentaerithrityl Hydroxyhydrocinnamate (antioxidant), Saccharide Isomerate, Sodium Chondroitin Sulfate (skin-conditioning agents), Hydroxypropyl Guar (gel-based thickener), Propylene Glycol (slip agent), Allantoin (anti-irritant), Rosa Canina (Dog Rose) Fruit Oil (non-volatile plant oil), Dimethicone, Simethicone (silicone slip agents), Polysorbate 20 (emulsifier), Cetyl Hydroxyethylcellulose (thickener), Carbomer (gel-based thickener), Sodium Citrate, Triethanolamine (pH adjusters), Trisodium EDTA (chelating agent), Batyl Alcohol (stabilizer), Benzoic Acid, Chlorphenesin, Sorbic Acid, Phenoxyethanol (all preservatives).


on 2/24/2015 4:58:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

A great night cream - absorbs well, no irritation to my v. sensitive skin, no breakouts. My skin ranges from combo-dry to very dry and this has always worked well, even through a harsh Canadian winter.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 2/5/2015 9:08:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Well, I think if you have very dry skin, you can skip this brand altogether. I've tried a lot of products from Paula, and they don't give a lot of moisture for me (which is not a problem in the summer, but can be harmful in winter). The Skin Recovery mask is the only exception, and the only product I might repurchase. I've found this cream as mediocre as the others of the line, while the exfoliators and the toners are downright irritating and should come with a health warning. I love Paula's Beautypedia, by the way, and I use the products she recommends there, mostly from Clinique and Estee Lauder. There is a huge difference in my skin's condition, if I use those it it much better than with Paula's Choice. The Skin Recovery Moisturizer for me is a basic moisturizer for normal or slightly dry skin. Although I did not experience any irritation, I did not experience any benefits either. No matter how hard I try to believe in research, ingredients and cited clinical tests, my skin keeps telling me this brand is not the one for me. Maybe there is more behind the performance of a product than an ingredient list.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/27/2014 10:38:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I'll preface this review with the note that I have nightmare skin - clog-prone, typically combination (oily with dry, flaky patches), acne-prone, and very sensitive. I have never been able to use moisturizers regularly because I just can't tolerate them clogging and causing excess oil that lead to horrible break-outs. However, with the irritating side effects of many months using Tazorac, my derm recommended I find something rich and suitable for sensitive skin - and then stick with it for 30 days. I picked this one because of the reviews, suitability for sensitive skin, and beneficial ingredients. I started using it at night, about 20 minutes after applying my Tazorac. The first week was really tough because my skin was producing excess oil, but the redness and flaking improved. It's been three months, and it still hasn't clogged my pores. The dry, flaky, sensitivity is resolved, and my skin's moisture and oil levels have really balanced out. The constantly congested pores I'm used to having are mostly gone, and the cystic bumps under my chin are shrinking and fading. I thought I couldn't tolerate moisturizers, but I really just needed to give a good one a chance to work. Ensuring my skin has ENOUGH moisture has actually helped resolve a lot of the problems I was experiencing.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 10/30/2014 7:15:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I like! As a little background, I use Retin-A and have very dry skin, and I wanted a super hydrating night cream to use over my PM treatments (yes, it is fine to use a moisturizer over retin-a if you wait at least 20 mins). I am not clog prone, so I cannot speak to that aspect of this moisturizer. Anyway, most creams will at least relieve that tight, uncomfortable feeling after washing, but few actually leave the skin feeling and looking visibly softer in the morning. This one does! It is totally fragrance free (a must for me), and has very good ingredients. This cost $26.00 on the PC website (though there is almost always a 20% discount going on), which is quite reasonable for the amount of product (2 fl. oz), which has lasted me months. Very good value product. Squeeze tube packaging is hygienic and causes no product waste. As an aside, this cream feels quite rich and would work very well as an eye cream. Also, having very dry skin, I can use a light layer of this under my makeup and it looks great, no product balling. Will certainly repurchase.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 8/19/2014 2:18:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I have nightmare skin, dry, sensitive, and prone to both acne and eczema. Even in my early 20's most moisturizers were too light for my dry skin. I've tried really inexpensive brands, and some high end ones and they usually don't cut it. I love that this is fragrance and dye free which is surprisingly uncommon. This is also provides enough moisture for my parched skin, another difficult task. Price wise this is on par with Olay and L'Oreal so I would say it's very fairly priced. I would repurchase this because the price is on par with other brands, its fragrance and dye free, and it moisturizes well.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 7/31/2014 5:26:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I HAD THE SAMPLE.
I found this to be one of the most moisturizing lotions in the entire line. It is an extremely creamy spreadable and long lasting lotion that seals moidturizer in the skin. It is best suited for very dry skin with dry patches or for winter time when moisture is sucked out of the air.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 7/25/2014 3:50:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Great moisturizer! I like this and her Moisture Boost. This one is thicker for days when you need the added moisture without feeling sticky or heavy. Love that it's packed with antioxidants and fragrance free.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 7/22/2014 2:51:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I used to like this cream better than I like it now and my skin is more mature and drier so certainly the target audience for this cream. But this cream, although not outwardly and immediately irritating, seems to do nothing for my skin. It doesn't absorb well and seems to not make my skin look better or plumped or anything. It doesn't even work that well anymore on dry spots. Instead it just feels rather waxy and sits on top of my skin. I've continued to use it as an eye cream at night and even that's not going well as my eyes seem to be bothered by it now and I wake with some crustiness (sorry for graphic nature.) I'm totally underwhelmed and wonder what I ever saw in this product before or if it's (or I've) just changed that much.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I have used a multitude of moisturisers over the years, both high end and cheaper types. Most of them worked well in my 20's, but when I was hitting 40, my skin changed. My skin began to get easily irritated with ANY moisturiser I used.

I wanted a simple, effective moisturiser without fragrance, that my skin would not react to. I did an internet search, read up Paula Begoun and her products, and decided to try some of her products.

I love it. It leaves my skin feeling smooth, non-greasy, non-sticky and I have never had a problem with irritation from it.

It is a bit pricey, but I usually wait for sales and buy 2 of them and they last me a while.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 5/5/2014 9:44:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This is quite an average moisturiser at an above average price. It reads better than it actually performs. It applies very nicely and does moisturise my dry skin to some extent but it's not as moisturising as I would like and I have seen no improvement in my skin. So far, I have been very disappointed with the Paula's Choice Skin Recovery line of products, I much prefer Neostrata which gives you very obvious results.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top