July 29, 2014 | 1921 users online

Conditioner - TiGi - Bed Head Self Absorbed Conditioner



image 0

rated 3.0(102 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.0
  • 43% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.5
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 4/15/2014 5:21:00 AM More reviews by rainonyourparade

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Other Eyes: Brown

this is my favorite conditioner. it doesnt weigh my hair down and makes it soft, i love the smell too.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 4/4/2014 7:29:00 PM More reviews by amanda23

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Hazel

I'm really surprised by how poorly this product rated. I nearly returned it before even using it after I read all of the negative reviews. I gave it a shot in any case and I really like it. First off, I love the pump, I wish this was a feature on more shampoos and conditioners. It also smells very nice. Yes it does smell like oranges but I also detected some lavender. When I rinsed this it had a lot of slip and my hair felt very moisturized and smooth. The true test was combing out the tangles while it was wet and my comb just glided through. When it was dry, it looked shiny, healthy and full. I am so far very impressed with this product.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 3/13/2013 1:13:00 AM More reviews by violetnights

Age: 25-29 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

What a disappointment. I have dry, frizzy, wavy hair that is prone to breakage. This line did not tame my frizz. In fact, it did nothing at all. I could not tell the difference from when I used Self Absorbed and when I used the random drugstore products lying around. I am now satisfied with Redken's Extreme line. I will not be purchasing Self Absorbed again as it was a waste of money the first go-around.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 2/14/2013 7:46:00 AM More reviews by BRABKIN

Age: 44-55 Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Hazel

If you want a conditioner that straightens your hair, look elsewhere, but if you want a conditioner that keeps the frizz down without affecting any natural curl, I would definitely recommend giving this a try. I have such dry, coarse, wavy, hair that most of the time I only wash it every three or four days. Over the years, I've probably tried just about every conditioner and mask, and leave in treatment there is from very expensive "salon" brands to cheap drugstore ones. I keep coming back to "Self-Absorbed" for several reasons. First, so long as I leave it in for the recommended 3-5 minutes (and then rinse out), it smooths the fly-aways and frizzies without weighing my hair down or leaving build up. Second, unlike a lot of conditioners that seem to "straighten" my curly hair, this one leaves the natural wave alone. Third, while I usually avoid scented hair products, (and I especially avoid floral-scented anything because it turns me into a bee-magnet!), my husband really likes the scent of this one and it is NOT a floral scent at all. I didn't give it 5 stars not because of the product, but because of the pump. The product is quite thick (which is a good thing), but the pump is not up to the task of dispensing anything that thick and gets clogged easily. It comes in various sizes some of which have pumps and some of which don't. For sure, don't buy it for the pump!
I also discovered (by accident when I was at a hotel that had a clogged shower drain!) that if you mix it with some warm water and soak your feet in it for 5 minures or so and then rinse, it makes a great skin conditioner for rough, dry feet.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 1/14/2013 6:36:00 PM More reviews by JLeroux

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This conditioner was very disappointing, particularly given the price. I have pretty "normal" hair (not dry or oily, a bit wavy) and most conditioners I've tried (from cheap to expensive) work perfectly fine in my hair. However, this conditioner did almost nothing for me. After washing it out, my hair feels just marginally more moisturized and soft than it did before applying it. Also, it doesn't do a very good job detangling my hair. I don't think my hair would feel much different if I skipped this product completely. Pantene Pro-V conditioner does a much better job at a fraction of the price.

This product also has a strong scent. I'm not really sure what to compare it to. To me, it's a really artificial scent, but not a bad smell. It's just really strong.

I like that this product comes with a pump, but the pump is really cheap (so far, it has been working perfectly well though). For the price, it would have been nice to get slightly better packaging, especially since the larger sizes of Pantene Pro-V come with a much sturdier pump and still costs a lot less.

Overall: Pass. Very disappointing product, doesn't really do any of the things you would expect a conditioner to do.
Value: Terrible, but mostly because I found the product to be disappointing.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 12/16/2012 4:21:00 AM More reviews by IronPill

Age: 25-29 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Hazel

Not sure what's up with all the negative reviews, but I really like this product. I have fine hair and this was one of my go-to conditioners last winter when I was desperate to replenish moisture to my hair. I can see someone with thicker, coarser hair liking this too. I bought this on a whim. That was after looking at the ingredients first, of course - I'm picky about my conditioners and careful about not buying things with Dimethicone as a top ingredient, I don't like how it makes my hair feel or the quick build up I have to deal with from it. Like another reviewer, when I use this I leave it in for several minutes. It makes my hair feel smooth. The smell is delicious too, it smells like an orange popsicle, mmmm. Also, it seemed to me this had a "plumping" effect. I didn't use this much at all during the spring or summer because I don't need heavily moisturizing properties during those months, but for me it's definitely great for the dry winter air or just anytime my hair feels extra dry or damaged (if I regularly heat styled my hair, I would surely use it a lot more).

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 11/7/2012 6:41:00 PM More reviews by KacieLuebke

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I generally love bed head products and have dry hair so I thought I'd give this stuff a shot. At first it left my hair really soft and moisturized but after about a week of using it my hair was getting super dry and stringy. I didn't know what was going on! I finally switched back to my usually stuff and it was instantly back to normal. My hair stylist said they recalled it recently so I don't know if I got one from a bad batch but I definitely won't try it again either way. I've never had anything dry my hair out like that before!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 3/30/2012 12:52:00 AM More reviews by lolmama

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

Bought it recently for the orangey smell.. wakes me up in the morning. Ive always loved [healthy sexy hair s : pumpkin sh/cond as well as the chocolate] :D The bottle is pretty small compared to most cond, has a nice pump. It goes on easy but I have thick long hair so I let it sit for a few mins then comb it through and wait..sometimes ill use other non scented cond with it. Makes my hair shiny, soft and smelling yummy.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 8/17/2011 9:06:00 PM More reviews by ShellyD11

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Olive, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

I liked this conditioner but there just wasn't anything about it that wowed me. It made my hair shiny and soft and the packaging was great I loved the pump bottle. I'm not a fan of citrus scents so that turned me off a little bit but overall this wasn't that bad.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 1/15/2011 5:44:00 PM More reviews by thisyearsgirl

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I have been using this conditioner for about two weeks. I love the scent of this conditioner! It's very citrus-like and uplifting. I also like that the bottle I bought has a pump on it. The conditioner is not thick at all, which may be a disappointment for some, but I actually like the consistency of this one. I don't feel like it clings to my hair when I get out of the shower. I can tell a difference when I style my hair. It seems the TIGI Self Absorbed Conditioner makes my hair soft, but the product does not weigh my hair down at all. I have not yet tried the shampoo, and I probably would not have tried the conditioner had it not been on sale! However, I am pleased with this conditioner and I look forward to trying other TIGI products.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No