April 19, 2014 | 1874 users online

Fragrance - Penhaligon's - Endymion



image 0

rated 3.9(8 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.9
  • 75% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.3
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 10/14/2011 6:09:00 PM More reviews by skinnyfooted1

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Green

Endymion is AMAZING!!! It is supposed to be for men, but this smells so good that I just don't care! I put it on, realized it was definitely for men, and then went on with my day. I kept smelling this amazing sweet, spicy smell. All day long I kept wondering what this smell was. Nope, it was my arm! Endymion may start off masculine, but it mellows out to the most blissful, soft, sweet, spiced scent. It smells like chai with milk on me :) :) :) mmmm delicious!!! As soon as i can afford to, I am buying the full size!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 4/6/2010 6:55:00 PM More reviews by tessture

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Fine Eyes: Brown

I wanted this for myself and I do wear a few men's scents, so I wasn't put off by the fact that it was developed as that. But lovely as it is, and I do love it, it is way too masculine for me to pull off without people asking me why I'm wearing men's cologne. I do love it and it will be great if I can get my SO to wear it, because it's fresh and aquatic (that darn bergamot) without being a watery modern aquatic, and it's warm and spicy and layered without being a clash of unmixable notes. Great scent, but not unisex.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 9/27/2008 5:17:00 AM More reviews by Faster

Age: 25-29 Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I actually picked this out in the shop for myself (i like masculine fragrances) but after a few wears i felt it was a bit too strong for me to wear so i passed it onto SO who was a little funny about wearing a "girls perfume" until i told him it was for men....now he loves it & i love it on him. As another reviewer noted it is fruity and spicey but in a vague way - this is on top of a strong, blunt almost metallic/powdery base. It smells wonderfully masculine & manly.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 5/9/2007 2:06:00 PM More reviews by odysseusm

Age: 44-55 Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

The advertisements for Endymion present it as a study in contrasts, and led me to expect a fascinating yin-yang of alternating notes of briskness and richness, light and dark; what has been called a “moiré” effect. I think that would be a great idea, but it is not here. Endymion is a lovely scent of mild spice and somewhat rich amber. It is very smooth and luxurious and has a powdery dry-down. There is a kind of warm-night glow here, like a stroll in a moon-lit oriental garden at midnight. How appropriate for a scent named after a mythological character who fell in love with the moon goddess. This type of fragrance isn’t my style, so I give it a neutral rating but recommend it to those who like that sort of thing.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 7/8/2006 2:30:00 PM More reviews by Maximina

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

Endymion is contrast: gentle and yet potent. Mandarin meets black pepper, bergamont meets amber, leather,musk and myrrh. Positive, negative = electricity!
When first applied this is such the fragrance for a man ... verrrrrry masculine. But after applying I forgot about it and about an hour later when I went back into my arm for another sniff it was ENTIRELY different and freaking AMAZING! It dries down into spices, cloves, amber, cool minty myrrh. Very wintery and sexxxxxy. Wow! it's GORGEOUS. I would love the man of my life to wear this but would only want to sniff after the first 10 minutes of choking masculinity. continued >>

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 5/30/2005 7:24:00 PM More reviews by Ivirginia

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This smells GREAT on my husband, a bit fruity and sweet but with the wood backround wich is a must for any fragrance I want to smell on him. he was apprehensive about letting the SA spray him, but as soon as she told him the name he was eager and willing. he said sure I want to try the demon perfume (LOL) he calls men fragrance perfume too! hehe

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/27/2005 4:16:00 PM More reviews by cete

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

There is another review for Endymion which was not particularly keen on the scent. I feel differently about it, finding it truly beautiful and enticing. It makes me weak at the knees I must confess. It has a certain warmth and peppery character, but somehow clean and light at the same time. It alters to a mellow spiciness over time. Gorgeous.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 11/29/2004 6:42:00 PM More reviews by dreamstorm

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Endymion, the subject of countless poems by the Romantics, was in Greek mythology a young handsome shepherd loved by Selene, the goddess of the Moon. Granted a boon from the gods, he asked Zeus for perpetual youth and immortality, and his wish was fulfilled in the form of eternal sleep.

Penhaligon's own tribute to Endymion is a not-so-ode-worthy lavander based, generic-men's-cologne scent.

Is this review helpful? Yes No