September 16, 2014 | 2013 users online

Gels/Soaps - Pre de Provence - Brazil Nut Pure Vegetable Soap

no image

rated 4.3(7 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.3
  • 85% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.0
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 1/6/2013 3:32:00 AM More reviews by luisajames

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

i like how this soap lathers and the smell is divine. it's got a chocolatey, nutty scent that isn't overwhelmingly sweet. leaves my skin soft and doesn't dry me out. i've enjoyed this soap in my shower a couple weeks now but i've found that the scent isn't as powerful as it was when i first started using it. bummer but will definitely finish it up.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 11/7/2007 10:11:00 PM More reviews by 1annasroundhere

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

This soap has an amazing fragrance, lathers well, moisturizes nicely, but the bar is a bit too big. This I could overlook if the soap didn't bleed and stain my shower. The dark color matches my towels, which is why I got it, but the color bleeds into the shower and I have yet (two months later!) to find something strong enough to scrub it out. Might be nice in the smaller sizes as a guest soap with like-colored dish, but NOT WORTH IT IF YOU HAVE A LIGHT-COLORED SHOWER!!! Still smells great... wish it was a lighter color :(

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 10/7/2007 8:34:00 PM More reviews by LittleBear23

Age: 36-43 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

I have purchased many, many of these over the last few years, The soap is non-drying. The lather texture is downright divine- like silk or cream. This is also the very best smelling soap ever. It is sweet and nutty but not flowery or food-y. My husband and I both use it. Well worth the price.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 4/21/2007 9:43:00 PM More reviews by MedicJen

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

Smells divine. One bar lasts forever. A little more fussy than using a bottle of shower gel, but a little more luxurious. I'm on my third bar, and I'll probably buy another one.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/14/2007 2:31:00 PM More reviews by VeronicaLake

Age: Unknown Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

Wow! $6 for a big, gorgeous bar of luxury! I can't use soap everywhere because it's generally so drying, but this soap is the fattiest, creamiest bar I've ever used. The fragrance is very dark and sweet - brazil nuts and benzoin with the faint tallowy smell of soap itself underneath. The delicious warm smell really lasts on the skin, too. This bar is just exquisite.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 11/4/2006 9:17:00 PM More reviews by sugarmartini

Age: 25-29 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

I really like the soap, but took off a lippie because it stains other soaps brown. I love the scent it's warm and nutty, not quite like chocolate, but more like rich nuts. It leaves my skin super super soft, I love to use it before bed, as a night-time scent. I think this soap is better than L'Occitane, which I used to love until I discovered this line is better for a lot less. I got it for a mere $3.99 a decent sized bar (not the biggest). Lasts quite some time too.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 10/29/2004 8:58:00 PM More reviews by Chandler5

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

5.00 @ Merz Apothecary. Oh, and what a great soap this is! Forget L'Occitane and its expensive price points, just revel in the glory of choice that is Pre de Provence. At Merz, they had 15+ different soap fragrances, and this dark chocolate-colored and appearing bar caught my attention. I was hoping it was a chocolate scent, but it turned out to be Brazil Nut. Hmmm. A sniff revealed a rich, dark and creamy vanilla/caramell-y scent. Upon taking it home and using it, the fragrance was more a true tropical nut fragrance. It's like lathering up with a big mess o' brazil nuts! The scent is unique, truly nutty, and lingers on the skin for a good time afterwards. Only critique is that this darkly pigmented bar does produce froth and drips that are brown in color!

Is this review helpful? Yes No