July 23, 2014 | 1680 users online

Hair Styling Tools - Mason Pearson - Pocket Mixed Bristle



image 0

rated 4.6(20 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.6
  • 90% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.0
  • Price: $$$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 on 11/9/2013 11:59:00 AM More reviews by razzledooda

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Hazel

I have straight, below shoulder length hair. The individual hairs are fine, but there are many of them.

I'd heard many things about Mason Pearson brushes, so when I was able to get a discount I went for it. I had considered the larger sized brushes, but at >£60 I found this really hard to justify!

I bought the pocket sized mixed nylon and bristle brush. It feels very nice to use, my hair feels sleeker and I'm more inclined to brush it for longer because I have this nice brush. It's a small brush, but not tiny. The brush head itself is large enough, though a larger brush head could be even nicer to use. The handle is useable, but if I had more funds the longer handle would be nicer to use.

Even so, I'm happy with my brush, makes my hair feel good and it's neither too big nor too small. Not cheap, but I don't regret it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/18/2013 6:03:00 AM More reviews by tinybucket

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium Eyes: Blue

OMG I just received my brush in the mail. To be honest I was a little disappointed at first because the handle is plastic and there are not a lot of bristles? I sort of expected more. Anyways, I brushed my hair and it feels and looks amazing. It is so incredibly smooth, as if I put in a really luxurious hair mask. I'm used to brushes doing great things for my hair but this is definitely noticeably better.

The size is quite okay, despite it being the smallest of the bunch. The pad is large so it covers a good portion of your head. Yes, it may feel a bit unusually scratchy on the scalp but I'm sure I get used to it and I won't mind if I get such a good result out of it. I definitely recommend these brushes. They seem a better "investment" than spending lots of money on hair treatments.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 4/6/2013 7:23:00 PM More reviews by karebear0099

Age: 30-35 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I bought this probably in 2004 or 2005 and I am still using it. It is a very good brush and obviously long lasting. It is hard for me now to compare it to anything else since I have used it so long. It does tend to get pretty dusty and of course I lost the cleaning brush for it soon after I bought it. But the dust honestly does not seem to affect the performance very much (not to be gross). I think its worth the money considering how well it works and how long it lasts.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/13/2012 1:14:00 PM More reviews by jkzorn

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I received this brush as a gift from my husband's aunt. At first I was insulted because I wondered what she was trying to imply by giving me a hairbrush but once I read about the history of Mason Pearson and the quality of their products I realized what a great gift it was. This brush is truly a miracle! My hair is so silky and smooth now it looks like the hair in shampoo commercials. I cannot thank my husband's aunt enough for this amazing brush.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/6/2011 7:37:00 PM More reviews by oingoboingoqueen

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

I was very skeptical about purchasing this brush and was almost about to return it because of the price. My stylist raved about the brush and convinced me on purchasing it. At first I had buyers remorse, keeping it in the box without touching it but once I took it out of the box and used the brush for the first time, I loved it. The bristles left my hair shiny and smooth. It really works on bangs and it detangles amazingly. I am really happy with my brush.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 4/25/2010 2:16:00 AM More reviews by TheReviewLady

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Black

Would I buy this product again? Yes and no. No, because it is supposed to last a life time. Yes, because after what happened to it, I may have to get it replaced... but would I want to? Initially I was very sceptical about the benefits of this very very very very expensive hair brush. But after using it for a week, my hair was shinier, smoother, and easier to shampoo -- I even stopped using conditioner because it was so smooth. I was able to keep this going for three months and by the time I needed to trim my hair because it was getting too long, I had virtually no (I really mean NO) split ends. BUT -- wait for it -- after three months of use, and after following the care directions on the paper insert that came with the brush, the rubber pad of the brush developed a strange odour, like burnt rubber, which transferred to my hair whenever I brushed. I don't want to smell like a tyre factory, so I emailed Mason Pearson's customer care. I hope they get back to me. If anyone knows how to save my hair brush, please send me a message because I can't use it in this state.
[Edited: The customer care representative at Tressence sent me half the purchase price when I described my problem to them. So I would give this company 5 lippies, but not the brush, no, the brush isn't all it's cracked up to be.]

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/5/2009 5:30:00 PM More reviews by trishcat

Age: 36-43 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Blue

I am so glad I invested in this brush (though I got it for a bit less on ebay). The last time I had my hair cut, my stylist said I had a lot of split ends. I don't even blow dry my hair every day, let alone use curling irons, a straightener, etc. so it was not heat damage. She asked if I was using a brush with beaded ends. Yes, I was... a crappy brush I'd gotten from Target. I'd been debating getting an MP brush and that did it for me.

I have fine, wavy hair and lots of it. This brush gets all the snarls and tangles out without snagging, and without taking the wave out. My hair is shinier and looks healthier. And I will never have to buy another brush!

My hair is chin length, and the pocket size is just right. Don't think you have to buy the larger (thus more $$) sizes just because you aren't using it as a purse brush... it really does the trick for everyday!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 2/29/2008 11:02:00 PM More reviews by proximitythe53rd

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Green

OK, this will sound insane to anyone who's never used a Mason Pearson ... but whatever.
I've had this brush for most of my life. No kidding, when I was a little girl, my mother was so enamored of my nice hair (because hers has always been thin) that she bought this for me.
I have literally had this brush for 20 years.
I know you look at these things, and wonder "why in the world would I spend $80 on a hairbrush??" ... well the question you need to ask yourself is "how many hairbrushes have I bought in the last 20 years?" .. because seriously, these things last.
That means that price-wise, though it's expensive, it's actually long-term money saving, assuming that you can be faithful, and not switch back and forth.

After 20 long years of service, my brush is not looking quite so great as it once did. Yes, my Rottweiler slightly chewed the handle, yes, some of the bristles are bent, yes, over the years, some of the bristles get pulled out, or fall out. I've finally reached the point when I think it's time to buy a new one ...
and the plan? To buy the "handy" side, and save this one for travel. Because though it's starting to show its age, this is still an excellent brush.

Using a Mason Pearson is different from using other brushes, especially if your hair is thick, you can't just pull it through tangles the way you might with another brush. In fact, if you've got major tangles, you need to use a comb first.
I don't really use this when my hair is wet, I use a wide-tooth comb. When I dry my hair, I use fingers until it's half to mostly dry, and then use this brush to lift and dry sections.
When I'm just normally brushing my hair (when it's not wet, and I'm not in the process of drying it) I start at the ends to de-tangle, and then move up to the top, with light pressure, brushing from the tips down through the ends several times.
This brush won't rip your hair, and it will distribute all the natural oils from your scalp through your hair. So many people are using all these glossing products that they don't actually need .. I find unless I want my hair to be crazy-shiny, just brushing with this Mason Pearson makes it look shiny, full, and healthy. I usually also run this brush through the underside of my hair, and then smooth with my fingers to remove any static (because depending on the weather, yes, this brush can create static).

I sort of tried to switch away from this several times, and all the other brushes I have ever tried strike me as so rough. This brush might seem rough to others, because they're not used to a brush actually touching their scalp, but once you've used it regularly for a little while, you'll find it much more gentle than other brushes because it's not pulling out your hair, or snapping it in half, creating fly-aways and split ends.

I have always gotten good remarks from stylists about the health of my hair, and its remarkable resilience to split ends and other damage - I give full credit for this to my brush.
Using a Mason Pearson feels good - it's not just about your hair, it's the health of your hair and scalp together.

I remove hairs from my brush with a comb, and wash it with a mild soap, and shake it before leaving it to dry. They tell you not to get water into the hole, but when I was a kid I took this in the bathtub with me, and deliberately filled the brush with water so that I could squirt it out again .. didn't seem to damage mine.

My opinion is that this is virtually indestructible, long-lasting .. the best brush you can get for any money, and a really easy thing you can do to ensure that you have great hair for the rest of your life.

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/2/2008 8:25:00 PM More reviews by jennyd

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

Love this brush. Performs as well as the Popular and Handy sizes. Perfect size for the handbag and/or travel!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 11/24/2007 3:27:00 PM More reviews by ren_kr

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

i love this brush. I wanted a good quality brush that wouldn't keep snapping or pulling my hair. I got this 20% off on sale and even tho the price is still high, i'm so glad i was able to get this! it brushes beautifully and i think this is the perfect size for me. However, i wish that it would come with a cleaning brush too.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No