August 28, 2014 | 1433 users online

Makeup Brushes - Stila - #16 Double Sided Brush

no image

rated 2.7(12 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 2.7
  • 33% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.0
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 on 4/8/2011 6:00:00 AM More reviews by mstar

Age: 30-35 Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Warm Hair: Black, Kinky, Fine Eyes: Brown

This is one of the best brushes that I've ever seen come in a palette. One end is a sable fluff brush, basically identical to the MAC 213, and it's a great multi-tasker. The other end is a flat push eyeliner brush, and it works very well. Yes, the eyeliner brush is stiff, but that's a good thing...it gives a nice precise line, and can be dampened for wet lining.


No, the #16 brush isn't the same quality that you'd find in a full-size brush, but that's to be expected! (I can't think of any palette brush that I would actually pay money for.) It's fine as a travel/touch-up brush.

I balked at the $30 price of the Stila 8-pan palette, but the large mirror, built-in magnets, and this double-ended brush made it all worthwhile.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 12/14/2006 6:24:00 PM More reviews by moopsmcphee

Age: 25-29 Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine Eyes: Green

The #16 brush, which is a flat liner on one end, and a small rounded eyeshadow brush on the other. The liner has quite hard bristles, and I find it too difficult to use for lining, but it's perfect for filling in brows or depositing shadow in my eye crease. The eyeshadow brush on the other end is a good all-rounder, but it's not great for blending.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 5/28/2004 11:15:00 AM More reviews by txchica

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Yes I will be purchasing one of these again with my next 8-pan, and probably won't be swapping it away since it is just so darn convenient for traveling. The wash eyeshadow end is really a decent brush and almost equivalent to my Mac #213, but I agree with everyone else on the eyeliner end, totally a waste. Still a good deal since this comes with the palette. But with how much the palette costs ($30) the brush should be made a lot better.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 2/20/2004 4:26:00 PM More reviews by Hedd

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Tan, Neutral Hair: Black, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

The e/s end is ok. The e/l end is not so. Mine was splayed from the start adn it hurts so much to apply powder liner or creme liner with it. Also, I don't like how I cannot store it upright. If it didn't come with the palette, I wouldn't buy it for sure. One of Stila's not so great brushes like the concealer brush. But yet again it was free with the palette.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 6/18/2003 3:39:00 PM More reviews by Soybeans236

Age: 19-24 Skin: Very Oily, Other, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I recieved this brush with my 8 pan. The other reviews are right. The eye liner brush is useless! However, the eye shadow side is wonderful! It makes eye shadow go on so smooth. I wouldn't buy this brush seperatly, but I'm curious to try more brushes from Stila!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 5/19/2003 9:55:00 AM More reviews by ooliedonna

Age: 19-24 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

As other reviewers have mentioned, this is the brush that comes with the 8-pan palette. This double-sided brush is actually one of the reasons I upgraded from the six-pan, which comes with a very eeny-weeny version of this brush and is difficult to use because it's so small. But anyway, regarding the #16: I wish both sides of the brush were wider. The eyeshadow side is a little small to sweep color over the entire lid, however, it is ok for doing more precise work in the crease. I like the eyeliner side better. The bristles are stiff enough to do a nice crisp line, I just prefer that the #13 eyeliner brush has a bigger brush head to cover more of an area. Overall, it's not bad, although the individual brushes you can buy are of a better quality and more professional. If the Stila SA's are going to mention the brushes as a selling point (which they did in my case, telling me the two brushes would cost more than the case itself) I really think that Stila should take more care in putting the best applicators available in the palettes. (Hello, AWFUL Crayola paintbrush in the five-pan!) The #16 is a perfectly decent brush, just not up to the standards of the individual Stila tools.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 1/11/2003 7:57:00 AM More reviews by nakobear

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This brush is average IMO. Since it was free with the palette, I'm not complaining. I haven't had too much of a problem with the two ends and actually do use this when I'm not around my other brushes. Compared to the quality of brushes that I had seen in their 5-pan palette, this is not bad at all. I do wish that they were a little better quality.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 2/16/2002 12:35:00 AM More reviews by StilaLover

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I cant stand the eyeliner end. I'm so mad about this too, because this would be perfect for packing, but noo...you need to take a separate eyeliner brush because using this one makes me feel like im gradually ripping layers of skin off. The other end is nothing to throw a party about either. Thank god it was free, in a way.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 1/28/2002 9:41:00 PM More reviews by Marbela

Age: Unknown Skin: Very Oily, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

What an awful brush! This is the brush that comes in stila's 8-pan compacts. Stila makes really fabulous brushes but skimps on their palettes. One side is similar to their #7 crease brush and the other is a miserable liner brush. The bristles are so sharp and hard it hurts to apply liner with it. This is totally different from the regular #13 push liner brush. I would never buy this brush if it hadn't come in the 8-pan!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 11/30/2001 8:03:00 AM More reviews by JT14

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I have to agree with Mayra and Tori on this one. They could really give you a better brush in this case, but then again I have learned that Stila skimps on the brushes in their cases. I like the eyeshadow side, but the eyeliner side is muh to prickly and irritates my eyes when I've used it. I wouldn't purchase this on its own!

JT

Is this review helpful? Yes No