MAC 208 Small Angled Brow

4.7

120 reviews

88% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 7/19/2015 6:07:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I marked that I would buy this again, but I returned it. This is a very nice eyebrow brush, however, while itís quite thin, it deposits a lot of color, which is great for some, but I prefer the ELF angled liner, which is a bit more natural. Itís a little softer and the bristles are a touch longer, so itís a softer look. My brows just need a little filling in, so this brush is sort of overkill for me. BTW - I found this to be a much higher quality brush, than say, Sonia Kashuk (this is smaller and softer, but still has enough body to get the job done), so if you have sparse brows, I think this would be an excellent brush.



on 7/16/2015 7:16:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

After some debating between this and MACís 263 Eyeliner brush, I decided on this brush because it was smaller. Previously, Iíd been using an old lip brush (flat base, rounded top) to apply Anastasia Brow Duo powder which worked pretty well and applied very subtly. This MAC brush is densely packed so I can pick up more powder and itís angled so I can make more precise lines. It has taken some time to get used to, but overall I like that it has a shorter handle than the lip brush and itís very easy to control. Iíve learned a need a very light touch when picking up powder and when applying it, but I actually feel like I use less powder and get a more natural look now that I have the hang of using it. It is now a permanent and essential part of my makeup routine and if I lost this brush I would buy it again. MACís brushes are well-made and I anticipate this brush will last me years to come.


on 4/24/2015 5:19:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Silver, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I use this brush to apply eyeliner, and it's perfect for my hooded eyes as I peer nearsightedly in the mirror at 6 a.m.. The bristles are small and stiff enough to get a precise application. It works better for shadow liner than gel. Did I mention that I am now far-sighted as well but can't wear contacts? Sigh. I need a shorter-handled brush to get enough close to the mirror, and struck out with travel sizes (Sonia Kashuk, Ecotools, IT), so I sawed down the handle of the 208 to make it shorter. Perfect!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/3/2015 11:54:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I don't go a day without using the 208 brush. I originally purchases this for my eyebrows. Since it's a mix of natural and synthetic hairs it could be used to apply powder or gel/cream products. Since I change up the products I use in my brows daily I new this brush would work best for me. The bristles are short and stiff but still have some flexibility to them. It has not lost a hair and they are still just as tightly packed as the day I bought it. Ive been recently using this to apply shadow on my upper and lower lash line. Its easy to get right next to your lash line to add definition. I have used this for gel liner and it was easy to get a slim line and made creating a wing supper easy. Im definitely going to be picking up atleast 2 more of these since I have been loving so many different ways to use this brush. I no Mac brushes might seem expensive and with so many cheaper alternatives you might think you don't need to spend the extra money. I guarentte if you purchase the 208 and a "dupe" the 208 is going to perform better and if anything it will definitely outlast the other brush.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/3/2015 6:41:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Perfect for defining brows. I had already ordered a brow brush from Bobbi Brown, but I'm glad I send it back and bought this instead. The bristles of 208 are firm and short and the bristle part is narrow, so it's very easy to fill even sparse parts of my brows. I've used only powder products with this brush, but I believe cream and liquid products would be possible too.

I'm specially impressed that this hasn't shed at all. The bristles are as firm (but not scratchy) and in shape as they were new. The 208 also dries very quickly after washing, which I'm happy about. I have own it for 6 months, but I believe that with proper care, this will last a decade.


on 3/3/2015 1:35:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Green

This brush is ideal for my brows. The mix of natural and synthetic hair makes it suitable for cream, liquid and powder products. The size it's small enough to be very precise and it's thich enough to pick enough product so it's not time consuming to use. It's durable, easy to cleanse and dries quickly. I prefer my 209 for eye liners but 208 is also a staple in my stash.


on 2/16/2015 12:30:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Tan, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

Best brow brush ever, and it also works beautifully as a gel eyeliner brush. No shedding, easy to clean, and incredibly precise.


on 8/7/2014 6:11:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

My favorite brow brush. I loved it so much I bought two. It makes applying the gel cream from MAC a breeze. You make the line thick or thin, cleans easily, bristles do not fall out, and this brush will last years if you take care of it. Worth every penny.


on 7/31/2014 2:57:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Great brush for applying my eyebrow and easy cleaning the brush...


on 6/10/2014 6:51:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Full disclosure: I used to hate MAC. In my youth, I tried a variety of their products and simply didn't get the hype. At all. I'd read glowing reviews about one of their products du jour or one of their "must have products" (like their Spice liner which makes me look like a corpse) and just didn't understand why I couldn't find anything in their line I liked. I even tried one of their eye brushes once and still didn't get it so I tossed the brush (Yes, I am kicking myself for tossing a perfectly good MAC brush!). It's possible that 20-something me didn't know how to use the brush, Studio Fix or the aforementioned Spice lip liner properly but I felt like everything in their line just wasn't me. In the past few months, I've gotten serious about learning how to do my makeup properly. For that, you need proper brushes and my drug store brushes just weren't cutting it. I decided to reapproach MAC with a more open mind mainly because nearly every beauty blogger recommends their brushes. MAC is basically inescapable. After getting a few of their brushes (and eyeshadows which are a dream!), I finally get why people love this line. MAC brushes are simply the best and the 208 is right up there at the top.

I purchased Laura Mercier's Cake Liner recently and have been using e.l.f's angled brush to apply it. Thus far, that brush has worked well enough but it has a slightly larger surface area than the 208 and getting a solid thin line was difficult for me. I went to the MAC counter at Macy's a few weeks back and decided "What the hey!", and got this brush. I'm really, really glad I did. Using the 208 to apply liner, even gel liner like Fluidline or Maybelline's Lasting Drama Gel Liner, makes the whole job so much easier. This brush is small and stiff which makes creating a thin line near/on the lash line a breeze. I get a completely different look using this brush than my e.l.f brush. My technique still isn't perfect and I still have to take my time lining my lash line but I get great results so it's worth it.

At $19.50, the 208 certainly isn't the most expensive brush out there but it's still a nice chunk of change to spent on something so tiny. I'm all for using cheaper alternatives but the 208 blows my e.l.f brush out of the water so I can rationalize the price. With proper care, brushes should last for years so that too helps with my rationalization. One bit of information - I wouldn't buy a MAC brush online unless it's from a seller you trust, an authorized dealer or the official site. I'm big on buying pricey items on eBay if you can get them cheaper but there are far too many counterfeit floating around out there. In the long run, I think it's easier to spend the full amount and get the real deal. If you're on the fence about buying this, jump to the other side and run to a MAC store or counter. This is easily one of the best makeup investments I have made in a long, long time.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


Popular Makeup Brushes


Core Collection
Core Collection
230 Reviews
Buffing Brush
Buffing Brush
122 Reviews

Video Reviews & Tutorials

Brush Fly-Aways? Restore it! by EnKoreMakeup



Top Rated MAC Products

image

Deelight

42 reviews
image

Matte - Saddle

95 reviews
Back to Top