October 22, 2014 | 963 users online

Lipstick - Chanel - Aqualumieres #48 Antigua

no image

rated 4.4(12 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.4
  • 66% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.3
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 9/8/2009 7:46:00 AM More reviews by ninanina

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I love Antigua by Chanel, the number must have changed because mine reads #32, not #48. At any rate this is a lovely rose frost on me, doesn't turn blue or brown (yuck, hate brown lippies). It's sophisticated and understated. It's the one I reach for again and again. Not an HG but it's still great. I pair it with Nars "Nico" and it gives a polished look.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 5/1/2008 2:56:00 PM More reviews by VersaceBlonde

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

As a product - One of Chanel's aqualumieres - hence it is soft and balmy and soft. The staying power is decent to good ( a few hours without eating/drinking), and the elegant tube is always fun to whip out in public :) The rosewater-esque scent is extremely faint. Retails for around $25.


As a color - Antigua is a ever-so-slightly cool toned medium pink. It has a slight bit of shimmer and is pigmented enough to cover my semi-pigmented lips.


As a whole - No gripes on the texture/packaging, etc...and the color is very pretty in the tube but when applied is simply too cool for my NC20 skin; although it doesn't clash, I prefer distinctly warm lipsticks.


Complementary products - Shimmery white shadow (i.e. MAC shroom) and a pink-berry cheek (i.e. NARS outlaw or MAC desert rose)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 10/19/2007 2:03:00 PM More reviews by LKirsten

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I like this well enough to consider keeping it. RIS from a lovely MUAer

Pros: wonderful texture, smooth, almost creamy, but glossy at the same time. Sheer but pigmented. Shimmery but not glittery. I like the smooth square tube better than my MAC bullet tubes. Gorgeous shimmery rosy pink color. Bright enough to show up, but a fresh baby-lips, just-bitten pink.

Cons: this did not pass the "10 minute test" for me & started to turn brighter pink on me. NOT 80's neon pink, or garish bright fushia, but this did end up a darker/brighter pink that it started out when 1st applied. Don't know if I'll keep it yet - as a redhead I usually can't pull off brighter pink... we'll see

UPDATE: ended swapping this away, just not the right color for me

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 6/19/2007 1:20:00 PM More reviews by Aligirl

Age: 30-35 Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Green

Gorgeous semi-sheer neutral slightly berry medium pink..If berries turn fuschia on you which they do on me,have no fear,this won't.Perfect summer color.Also very moisturizing.Completely worth the $25

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 5/23/2007 1:14:00 PM More reviews by ghia06

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

I remember I bought this once back in 2003 along with Waikiki, Tijuana, Bora bora (DC), other 3 DC shades that I can't remember... Those were my first lipsticks from Chanel and I really love the shades! It's like a gloss in a lipstick form but a bit drier though.. My favorite is Antigua and Bora Bora. This is a perfect shade of Pink with shimmers for me during that time. I just hate the fact that it has a little fragrance in it because it bothers me. I've used the shades I had for about 2 weeks and noticed that my lips are getting darker and drier. (NOTE:I do take care of my lips; lipbalms with SPF, exfoliate, lipbalm before bed).. This happened to me with Dior lipstick that has fragrance in it too.. I assume that it's because of the fragrance that's why I get discoloration on my lips.. So, I sent all the lipsticks back to Chanel and kept the Antigua coz I realllllyyy love this shade.. I told myself I wanna try it again and stopped wearing any other lipsticks for another week and used only ANTIGUA, but guess what, it still gave me the same side effect! I hate to return it and I guess the ingredients are too strong for me. I had no choice but return the Antigua :( I wasn't aware that there's MUA at that point, btw.

TIP:I've used this also with Ovation Glossimer on top for a while and it emphasized the shimmers on Antigua even more, makes it more beautiful! C40-NC42, Chanel Contour 80, Black hair, Brown Eyes.
This time I prefer wearing glossimers and Rouge Allures and hopefully one day I can find a shade close to Antigua from RA.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/12/2007 2:34:00 AM More reviews by Annuta

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine Eyes: Green

This is the lipstick I get complimented on again and again! I love this for spring/summer months. The color is best described as a shimmery watermelon. Texture is just like others in this line - very smooth, silky and moist.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 3/17/2007 4:43:00 PM More reviews by thinkpink710

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I love the smooth texture of this lipstick, it's moisturizing and wonderfully sheer and pigmtented at the same time. You can apply a thin layer for a sheer look or layer it up for more color. Love the sleek black case, very classy! :) It also helps that it has SPF 15.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 1/15/2006 12:23:00 PM More reviews by sheilaKL

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Other

On my complexion (PPP, redhead, bl/gr, pink undertones) i find this to be a medium pink with strong coral undertones and gold shimmer. Originally I though this would look horrid, but it surprisingly brightened up my whole face....i think it willbe my go to for Spring....

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 1/6/2006 1:15:00 AM More reviews by MissMermaid

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Green

This was my first Chanel lipstick and I am glad I bought a tester at half price online. I have seen nothing but rave reviews for this product but all in all it was pretty bleh. The color was a decent neutral pink/red/copper but I found the texture too annoyingly slippery. Even with full lipliner underneath it had little hold. Where is my complicated gorgeous color? Yoinks.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/29/2005 11:51:00 PM More reviews by RachelDKT

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

My new HG lipstick. Great for daytime or for a more natural, casual evening look. Doesn't dry out my lips, no real smell. Looks good wih Chanel nude liner. Got this off ebay, but will definitely repurchase.

Is this review helpful? Yes No