October 24, 2014 | 1860 users online

Eye Shadow - Maybelline - Expert Wear - Browntones



image 0

rated 3.5(21 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.5
  • 61% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.3
  • Price: $

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 2/15/2014 5:55:00 PM More reviews by athenasius

Age: 56 & Over Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm Hair: Red, Curly, Fine Eyes: Green

I bought this because of Mrs.Tefee's review stating the lighter shadow is a dupe of MAC's Omega. I LOVE this duo. Great for a neutral eye makeup that takes red tones and darkness away leaving a light wash of creamy warm tan tones behind.

Superb colour payoff! The Expert Wear shadows vary a lot in payoff, but this one is terrific.

Good neutral matte shadow is actually hard to find. This is matte but with life. Feels & looks creamy on my wrinkly 58 year old lids. Not chalky or powdery at all. Nice even colour.

Both shades go nicely with No Earthly Taupe which is another great matte shadow from Maybelline. Updated to add if you need a pale creamy ivory to go with these, try NYX Leather&Lace. Another soft neutral toned shadow in a satiny matte.

Package is flimsy but these are dirt cheap. I'm happy.

Application tip I picked up on the boards here. I use the foam applicator to pack this on my lid, then blend.

Probably best for fair to medium fair skin as the others might find it too pale. I'm a redhead. I find most stuff too dark or colourful on my pale skin. This is ideal if you want a neutral look without being overwhelmed.

Upgrade to HG status!!!! I keep reaching for this duo and putting it with my high end Elizabeth Arden Blonde and Sandstone which play nicely with this & my other HG eyeshadow which is Earthly Taupe.

Updated to add the NYX mattes have 2 more that go with Browntones. Both neutral tones -- Leather&Lace is an ivory beige and Lap Dance is a beige just a shade or two lighter than the lightest Browntones shade. Browntones is valuable because it is a neutral set of beige to tan that won't leave cooler toned skin looking bruised or rabbity red. These are equally neutral and just as good at hiding discoloration. So if the peach of Earthly Taupe is too warm try these 2 from NYX with Browntones. Gorgeous!

I'm finding zero irritation from the Maybelline and NYX matte lines. Maybelline Expert Wear just don't hurt my delicate sensitive lids the way Dior, MAC, Wet n Wild, Rimmel & Cover Girl do. There is a difference, these are so smooth & soothing. Like Clinique or Estee Lauder in feel.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 6/7/2013 4:18:00 PM More reviews by cocodogg

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium Eyes: Green

Overall, this an average, little duo.

I like the two colors in this palette, and how simple and easy it can be for people who want a very natural look or for beginners who haven't touched much eyeshadow. It's convenient they came out with these-but here's the catch; it doesn't have the best lasting power.

Like most Maybelline eyeshadows, they have great color pay off, and easily pick up on your brush. It'll look great for a few hours, but then it'll fade off.




Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 5/29/2013 6:28:00 PM More reviews by MrsTefee

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

I have VERY pale skin (nc5) and this duo looks great on my eyelids...but I use this most for my eyebrows. I have naturally medium blonde hair and the lighter shade of the two works perfect for filling in my light eyebrows and it lasts all day and looks very natural! These shades are both matte colored. The lighter shade is just about an exact dupe for MAC's "omega" eyeshadow as well which is the main reason I wanted it! I bought it for about $3.95, a fantastic deal!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 11/3/2012 2:56:00 PM More reviews by janet1028

Age: 56 & Over Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Blue

With the mixed reviews, this is another example of how an eye shadow duo can be ideal for one person and disappointing to the next.

IF you are looking for an eye shadow that has a smooth finish that is not overly pigmented, Browntones works very well. I wanted a very natural day look that I could put on while sitting in my car in the dark waiting for my morning train at the crack of dawn. Anything else would scare both me and the other passengers and while I am adept at applying make-up, even I know when too early is simply too early!

This is a great shadow duo for faces over fifty or teens who are starting to wear eye shadow. Neither color is a matte, but have the most subtle texture.

It undoubtedly looks best on fair complexions as anyone deeper than a medium tone would find it too pale.

And the price is right! I don't wear a primer and I don't have any trouble with it staying on for the day.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 9/3/2012 2:03:00 AM More reviews by AmyK2005

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Hazel

This is just okay for me. Normally I find that Maybelline eyeshadows are great...however, I don't think these are as pigmented as their other eyeshadows. Since they are both matte, they do come off a little chalky and are more difficult to work with and a good primer is a must to help these stick to the eyelid and stay throughout the day.
I do like each of the colors. I have found the lighter brown is my PERFECT blending shade (I have a lot of space between my crease and eyebrows so I like to use a blending shadow a shade or two darker than my skin to blend up to my highlight shade) for me, so that's mainly what I use this for. If I do just happen to use these two colors only for my eyeshadow look for the day, it is a very natural look, but sometimes that's all I want. It's a basic duo that's decent.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 11/22/2011 1:11:00 PM More reviews by nilorac123321

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Blue

I really like this!
I usally only use neutral eyeshadows, and recently I had left my favourite colors at my dad's and I had a DATE.
So...I booked it to the closest Kroger and got the best looking neutral duo I could find and hoped it would work for me.
I have to say, I really really like this!
I think they changes thier fourmula, because this is pigmented, soft, and very long lasting with a base under it ( it lasted throught the who five hour date, when we went roller blading and out to eat....so yeah.)
The colors are PERFECT for an everyday look, but the darker one can be used to spice things up.
Usally I will take the light color, sweep it all over my eye, and the use the dark color for some nice contouring . I LOVE how it looks.
Yes, it is a bit chalky, but nothing I can't put up with.
I am very pale. so this may not work for people with more color to thier skin, but for the three dollars I paid it's worth it.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 10/14/2011 8:11:00 PM More reviews by Alexine

Age: 36-43 Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Hazel

I love this duo! Very natural, no make-up look. Very easy to blend and stays on all day. Many browns start out great, and then end up turning orange on me, but these didn't. I'm very glad I found this!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 8/20/2011 4:37:00 PM More reviews by Christinaann5

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool Hair: Blond, Straight, Coarse Eyes: Brown

I have to say this looks like a dull shadow duo but its actually an amazing and much needed set of shadows. I have reached for it so often. Its shadows like these that are often overlooked as important until I think about not having them. I have used this duo for awhile now so I can be thorough and honest in my review.
~~~~~~~ PRICE & AVAILABILITY ~~~~~~~
Maybelline ExpertWear Eyeshadows are widely available in most drugstores like CVS, Rite Aid & Walgreens. They also can be found in mass discount stores like Walmart, Target & KMart. The price will vary slightly as with any drugstore product depending on your location, sales, discounts and/or coupons. Maybelline does put out coupons pretty regularly in the papers so look out for them. The shadow duos are typically priced around $3-4 which i think less than $2 a shadow is not bad. Even better if you find a good sale going on or a coupon. I purchased mine at Walmart for $2.97 w/ a $1 off coupon. These are not expensive & can be great for beginners to play around w/ or those on a budget like myself.
~~~~ SHADE & FORMULA & PERFORMANCE ~~~~
Maybelline ExpertWear eyeshadows are overall a really great line. Within the huge range there are some that aren't as pigmented but most are decently pigmented and wear great. As w/ affordable shadows, there will be some fallout (but this also happens w/ highend shadows as well) and some will need a little more work. Using an eyeshadow primer will also help w/ pigmentation as well as performance. I generally use my Elf Eyelid Primers, Elf Mineral eyeshadow primer, LA Colors Concealer (yes its a great eye primer for me) and these do help make shadows more vivid as well as provides a barrier for the oils that will break down & crease eyeshadows. Luckily for me I don't have oily lids nor do I have problems w/ creasing but those w/ oily eyelids will have different needs for shadows. Eye primer will help so find one that works best for you. The shadows are pressed well, little fall out in pan. Apply easily w/ brushes/applicator. Blend very easily. They are pigmented. These are smooth & pigmented. W/ primer, shadows will stay put for 7-8 hrs before fading occurs. Work great over a cream base as well. I don't see any caking or creasing. I really do find Maybelline has really great shadows.
Browntones may look blah or mediocre in the pans but believe me, this duo is a must have for blending. These two shadows make great transition or blending colors to add to any look. These are two skin tone biege/browns that can improve looks. Makes transitions look seamless. I was always looking for a good crease color that I can use on a daily basis, a matte skin tone that was a shade darker than mine something similar to Cork or Wedge from Mac that I always hear people rave about. I don't have money to invest in Mac & unfortunately, matte "best friend" crease/blending shadows are very hard to come by for me. I have extremely pale cool toned skin. Most if not all shadows show up pigmented on my lids & end up too warm or pull red in my crease. Browntones have two great shadows that anyone can use for many things. This duo also makes daytime smoky looks or natural defined eyes. Also can work great for doing brows. I insist to try this duo.
The lighter shade is a mid tone cool gray beige sandy color. Do see a shimmer in pan but does not translate or show up on lids. This has been the BEST transition crease color for my NW5-10 skin tone. Its cool, doesn't pull warm or red on me. I've used this on my brows as well if I lighten them & it works great for that too.
The darker of the shades is a mid tone cool gray brown with a satin finish. It shows up almost matte but w/ a sheen to it. This makes a great outer v or crease color to add natural definition. This is great as well for daytime smoky brown looks.
If you have cool skin tone, def give this duo a try. I love both colors. They are multipurpose must haves in my opinion. I will most definitely continue to use this up & have bought a back up bc I use it so often.
~~~~~ PACKAGING ~~~~~~~~
Maybelline ExpertWear Eyeshadow Duos come in the standard small rectangular hard plastic compact. The lid is see through w/ sticker with logo & product name as well as sticker at bottom with shade name. The back is black plastic w/ shade name, product name as well as more labeling info. They also show a picture of wear to place shadows for a mini tutorial which is nice. The lid snaps open/shut. I haven't had any issues w/ mine breaking or cracking thus far, even w/ traveling. Included is a doe foot applicator. Simple yet effective. Small & compact, these are great for traveling w/ since they take up little room. I have the older packaging w/ 2 equal square pans of shadows now they have since updated to 2 shadows one smaller or bigger than the other (i wish they'd left it w/ 2 equal sizes since i use both equally.) 0.08 oz or 2.4 grams of product which I use these almost daily & have barely made a dent in either pan.
Overall, Browntones is a great duo to have. Its great for those who are trying to perfect their makeup as well as professionals w/ clients. This duo has saved me money since I've wasted alot looking for colors like these. I love both shadows. Affordable & simple packaging. I will & have repurchased a back up which is rare for me. I really love "Browntones" & hope others will enjoy this or other drugstore makeup like I do. It's so refreshing to see others save money yet get quality makeup & look & feel amazing!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 6/30/2011 9:23:00 PM More reviews by kinkaju

Age: 36-43 Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Blue

HG eyeshadow for me. I have been simplifying my makeup collection and weeding out all the stuff I never use. I wanted to find one simple brown eyeshadow (or duo) that I could use every day without even thinking about it. I found it in this. I've have a hard time finding brown/beige shadows that are the right shade for me. I don't like browns that are too orange, but on the other hand when I veer towards the cool tones I often end up with beiges that are Band-Aid pink. And I didn't want to buy an entire palette of colors I'd never use just to get one good brown color. As a reference, another eyeshadow duo that has always worked for me is Clinique's Double Date.

I have no brand preference, don't care about packaging, and just wanted something from the drugstore. I found this little gem and it's been absolutely perfect and what I've been searching for! I'm fair skinned with pink/blue undertones. The light color in this eyeshadow is a creamy light brown that is just the right shade to give my eyelids a nice neutral color, and even out any redness. The darker color appears to be a cool chocolate shade. It's actually not as pigmented as I thought it would be and when I first discovered this I was a bit disappointed. But it's actually worked out perfectly. I use this color in the crease and outer corner and it's very gentle and it's a very natural look. I never have to worry about overapplying this and I even get lazy about applying it and it never looks unblended. The sponge tip applicator wasn't too helpful since I had to scrub hard to get the shadow onto it, but I tossed that and began using my makeup brushes and that made a world of difference!

As I said I really wanted to simplify my makeup and this is totally what I have been searching for. Effortless. I will repurchase this as long as it's available.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 2/7/2011 12:08:00 PM More reviews by PepsiGirl4Life

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I used this eyeshadow for about two weeks and I didn't like it that much. The colors were an ugly brown, not a nice brown and I prefer shimmery eyeshadows over matte ones like this one. Also, the eyeshadow creases throughout the day and you need to keep reapplying it, which is annoying. The worst part of all is that this costs $6 at CVS, which is expensive for a drugstore eyeshadow duo. The only things I really liked about this eyeshadow were the texture and the applicator it came with. I have found something better, so I would not repurchase this.

Is this review helpful? Yes No