July 24, 2014 | 1868 users online

Powder - Monave Mineral Foundation



image 0

rated 3.7(50 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.7
  • 60% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.7
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 3 of 5 on 1/13/2014 12:35:00 PM More reviews by isabellayessi

Age: 25-29 Skin: Dry, Olive, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

I ordered my first time in December 7th , 2013 and I didn't get my order until December 22nd . I was already mad I was ordering just the cheap samples before I go and buy the bigger jar . I am Hispanic that means my skin color is not one color during winter or summer . I have drier skin as I am getting older . I suggest if you use this brand to find a great lotion before you apply . I am using sheer cover as that is only thing I found works and ordered online too on amazon .I just use my little brush and put a tiny bit under my eyes and use it only on my good days when I sleep well . Is sheer coverage not like heavy for skin . I am blessed with clear skin due to health lifestyle but I noticed that if I accidently sleep in this after some margaritas my skin breaks out like crazy pizza face. I don't plan order it religiously for fact that I have no patience to wait at all and plan use something else locally and healthy for my skin than wait 3 weeks again . Go a head it works and buy it but be forewarned takes forever to get and is really small samples that I plan to find something soon before is gone . I heard that is self made business and it takes awhile to do for fact that is individualized which I appreciate but let's be honest some people have no patience as myself and rather pay extra for faster shipping ..Suggest you pay extra for faster delivery if you have little patience . If you are applying under eyes .. Make sure use smooth eye cream so it can smooth out or else it will sit on you're eyes .

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/25/2013 10:46:00 PM More reviews by bluevine

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

I recently discovered Monave mineral cosmetics; I'm in love with the foundation! It has been a challenge to color match my yellow undertones with powder foundation, and I'm happy to find my color in Monave minerals. They offer sample sizes for purchase and it was an inexpensive way to try on different shades, (I don't live anywhere close to the Monave shop and rely on online color swatches/descriptions.) The foundation is very reasonably priced! The mineral powder is so soft and has great staying power - it's also very buildable in coverage. I absolutely appreciate the short ingredient list, which does NOT include bismuth oxychloride. There is shipping and handling charges, but it's pretty reasonable (I paid $3.85 total for shipping/handling and I received the package in 2 days once it shipped.)

The only drawback is that, because Monave is a small business, it takes a while for the order to leave the warehouse. It took 7 days for my order to ship, from the order date. But the fact that they have the color for me, great quality and reasonable prices, I will continue purchasing Monave minerals! I will just order well ahead before I run out of their makeup.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/29/2013 9:19:00 PM More reviews by Karibana

Age: 36-43 Skin: Normal, Dark, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I ordered the samples for dark skin, and was happy to have a chance to figure out which shade I am. I'm new to the world of mineral makeup, and am happy to find a company that caters to women with my complexion. After some trial and error, I discovered that my color is "Brenda," a beautiful brown with red undertones. I wear this mixed with my "Spicy Brown" GC Queen Collection 3-in-1 foundation. Perfection. I'd recommend this product if you're a woman with dark skin who wants to find a shade of mineral makeup that works for her. To start, order the samples (10 bucks...that's it) and you get four colors to choose from/mix and match.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/11/2013 2:15:00 PM More reviews by SkinGoddess

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Other

This foundation is amazing! Being an esthetician I always look at the ingredients in products. This product only has 4 ingredients that are all good for your skin (mica, zinc oxide, titanium dioxide, ultramarine blue). i have tried everything out there and gave up on foundation completely until discovering this stuff. it doesn't clog pores, contain chemicals, or break you out. i am very sensitive and allergic to chemical SPF and talc which is found in many products, but not this stuff. Obviously, not everyone has the same skin so make sure to do a patch test before wearing to avoid any reactions (acne, rash, redness). Being fair with neutral, more yellow then pink undertones, I wear the Claire foundation. When I have a spray tan I wear the Sandra foundation. I get so many compliments when wearing this foundation and the best part is they are compliments of how good my skin looks not how good my makeup looks. When wearing this foundation make sure to use a good moisturizer underneath. To apply use a dense brush with short bristles and really blend in the skin so that the makeup melts in the skin looking even and natural. To prevent oxidation and control my oil throughout the day, I set this foundation with corn starch. Corn starch is a great natural alternative to other setting powders that have chemicals and don't even control shine. Overall this is an amazing foundation that is extremely affordable and only uses fresh ingredients to better the skin.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 12/27/2012 10:26:00 PM More reviews by danibee73

Age: 36-43 Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

i just took advantage of their 30% off holiday sale and couldn't be happier. i have been using monave mineral foundation for about 5 years now. i have a caramel complexion (mac nc45) and bare minerals made me look so ashy it wasn't funny. in my search for a better product i stumbled across this line and i've been hooked ever since. great coverage, color is a dead on match, price compared to the quality of the product is unbeatable and my experience with customer service has been great!

i live about 20 minutes away from the shop but didn't get answer when i called. i needed help with getting my color matched because i couldn't remember wat it was. 1 quick email and about 10 minutes later, deborah, the owner, replied. the shop was closed but she would come and open up for me and help me with my match.

i got there, she was so sweet and as soon as she looked at me she called out my color. it blended perfectly just like the first time. she did my whole face, foundation, eyeliner, eyeshadows, luminizer, and eyebrows...NO CHARGE!!!

when i first got into mineral makeup i was in the throws of my first bout with adult acne and she explained how various factors like stress, sun, and even steroids in chicken can exacerbate acneic conditions. she spoke from experience and shared that she had issues with adult acne and it lead her to research more on the makeup and eating organic.

she is also very knowledgeable about organic and gluten free products, heritage, and color (she asked me if anyone in my family was indian. i was surprised she could tell! my grandma was half cherokee.) she recognized it from my features and yellow undertones. very impressive.

also, monave has broadest spectrum of shades for women of color i've ever seen. another satisfied repeat customer.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 4/6/2012 11:50:00 AM More reviews by leabski

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Wavy, Other Eyes: Black

IT FEELS LIKE CORNSTARCH! it is very very pigmented but it is not as pristine as their website makes it sound like. its a bad foundation especially if you have dark skin. it makes you look like your skin is dead. WORST OF ALL, IT GAVE ME A VERY ITCHY RASH!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/3/2011 5:25:00 PM More reviews by 12catcrazy

Age: 44-55 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Grey

I've been wearing Monave Mineral Foundation for at least the past 6 years, and it's my HG foundation. I've tried many other mineral foundations, and always keep coming back to Monave.

I have light skin with rosacea and lots of small broken veins on my face (think of a road map of New Jersey). I use a mixture of Monave regular foundation and concealer foundation, and that gives me good coverage without being too heavy. I apply the makeup with a taklon flat-top brush, which also helps with coverage.

My skin has alot of "color" in it - peachy/pink, and a mixture of Ashlie and Amy matches my skin perfectly. In the summer, I can wear straight Amy, and if I need to be a bit darker, I can mix Tan Girl with Amy, and still have the perfect shade. One of the things that I love about this foundation is that it doesn't look as if I'm wearing makeup, and people have commented to me about my "nice' (HA!) skin.

I've worn this makeup on 100 degree plus days in the humidity, combined with hot flashes, and it stays on my face! I've also turned 4 other people on to this foundation, and they love it almost as much as I do. I will say that if you have very oily skin, I'd also suggest getting some seracite powder to try with this foundation (Monave also sells it)as excess oil will make even this foundation "move".

If you're thinking of trying this makeup, I'd suggest emailing the company and getting color recomendations. Monave seems to have alot of shades for women of color as well as pale ladies like me, but it's important to get the right tone for your skin (it will make a BIG difference in how this foundation looks on your skin).

Finally, pricing is very good, and a little of this stuff goes a long way! Monave shadows and blushes are also nice, and I like their lippies as well.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/21/2011 5:42:00 PM More reviews by Mejalook

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

For years I wore Mac studio fix make up. But was never completely satisfied. My friend recommended monave. It's the best foundation ever! First of all I've always had a difficult time matching up my skin to a foundation the hyenon color is perfect for my olive skin tone. I live in Florida the make up definitely is light weight and comfortable for our humid weather. Also I've noticed an improvement in my complexion. I have fewer breakouts compared to Mac which constantly clogged my pores. Lastly I like knowing I'm using a product that is never tested on animals. The price is very reasonable especially compared to similar products. Overall it is a wonderful product and would recommend it to anyone.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/5/2011 3:13:00 PM More reviews by dlg210

Age: 30-35 Skin: Dry, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I have tried countless mineral makeups and had a very hard time with the color match. Monave is the first I've found that matches My olive skin perfectly. It blends in so well you can't even tell I'm wearing anything. Also, the amount that you get for the price is amazing. It last so long. The best thing also is it does not make my face itch. I love it and will not use anything else anymore.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/5/2011 11:47:00 AM More reviews by Snowy1

Age: 56 & Over Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

After many years of wearing various mineral powder foundations, I havent found anything as perfect as Monave! It covers well, and the finish is soft and natural. I have found my perfect skin color match (Amy) and that has never happened before. I love that it doesnt make my skin itch, or dry it out. I highly recommend this product (and this company - top notch).

Is this review helpful? Yes No