December 20, 2014 | 1474 users online

Mascara - Shiseido - The Makeup Lasting Lift Mascara [DISCONTINUED]



image 0image 1

rated 4.0(202 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.0
  • 72% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.2
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

This product has been discontinued

rated 2 of 5 on 7/6/2012 11:58:00 PM More reviews by rrag20

Age: 25-29 Skin: Dry, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

this mascara is not for me, very very cakey! I'm having a hard time to apply it because all the mascara just sticking all over the brush! it's very messy to apply as well, I had high hopes with Shiseido since I love most of their products, I was looking for a mascara with small brush and this is what they have, I love mascara with small brushes coz it's easy for me to apply every single corner of my lashes, I'm very disappointed on my purchase :(

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 11/23/2011 7:19:00 PM More reviews by trulls

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

Ahh, old faithful! Cialis for my eyes! Long, thick, black and erect - what's not to love about lashes after Lasting Lift? I know some of you folks don't care for the brush, but in my opinion its slim size make it ideal for those hard-to-reach lashes. BUT you have to curl your lashes with a sturdy metal curler before you apply, NO curling mascara will do this for you, even if some companies claim their new funky looking brush will "grip" your lashes and perform some Criss Angel trick on your morning routine. Well, where is your brush at 3pm when your lashes are sulking? With that said, this mascara will lift your lashes and keep them there all day, and that is what makes it unique. You can find mascaras that make lashes longer and fatter than this (albeit not much), but they won't hold up like this one does.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 11/19/2011 1:29:00 PM More reviews by breadstickbuddy

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

I have very straight Asian lashes and this is the only mascara I can find that will hold the curl throughout the day. I wipe some of the mascara off and apply with a light hand after curling my lashes with an eyelash curler. It gives a very natural look with very little volume and length but it's great to use in combination with other mascaras. It's waterproof and never smudges making it a little difficult to remove.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 11/17/2011 12:18:00 PM More reviews by nettersbetter

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I found this mascara to be extremely clumpy and it didn't really hold my curl. I even used a light hand when applying but still got clumps. While I like the small brush (I LOVE small brushes), when you pull the wand out of the tube it is saturated with mascara. I tried to scrape the excess off back into the tube opening, but no luck--the brush was still clumped with mascara. The only way to make it work would be to wipe off the brush with a tissue before every use, but then you end up wasting half of the tube. At $23, it's not worth it.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 10/31/2011 6:34:00 PM More reviews by izzybella

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

I bought this mascara because I read elsewhere that this was someone's favorite mascara now that Shiseido discontinued their original mascara base, and I was intrigued. At first it seemed promising. I was skeptical that such a tiny brush could lift my eyelashes, but overall I found that my eyelashes were curled and lengthened. It didn't perform as well in the volumizing department though. My main gripe however is that it clumps easily and it flaked like a mother. Also, my eyelashes felt very dry, almost crunchy or crispy once the mascara dried. I was also turned off by the fragrance in this. For $23, I don't think it's worth keeping so I'll stick to drugstore mascara.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/18/2011 2:40:00 AM More reviews by singkelly

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

This is the best mascara I've ever tried. I have long thick but straight lashes which sink back down with mascaras, even if I curl it. This is the only one that keeps my lashes lifted even untill I'm getting ready for bed. The only problem is that it can get a bit clumpy, but the lift and staying power make it worth it.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 10/13/2011 5:21:00 PM More reviews by faune

Age: 30-35 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Brown

I was somewhat disappointed by this mascara because of the brush, I found it was always covered in product and I had to scape it on the side to be able to use it without making a mess.

I held the curl of my small asian lashes fairly well ( not miraculous either) and did not budge which I liked. I think if you learn how to fiddle with it it can be quite versatile, but it's not a good choice it you just want a good, easy to apply, foolproof mascara.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/7/2011 10:46:00 PM More reviews by Grned11

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Green

Amazing. Simply Amazing. Makes my eyelashes look gorgeous. They hold the curl all day! No other mascara has ever made my eyelashes hold a curl all day.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 7/13/2011 7:42:00 AM More reviews by verte

Age: 30-35 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

I have had this mascara for a couple of weeks now and I have to say I like it. I adore the elegantly sleek packaging. I also like how small the brush is as I tend to get mascara everywhere with larger brushes (klutz). My lashes are long and fine but I have a lot of lashes (like my hair) and they do not hold a curl (also like my hair). But this mascara manages to hold my curl which is a minor miracle! Like previous reviewers I find I can only put one coat on as more than one coat tends to look spiky/clumpy. I don't mind though because with it holding a curl I don't need more than one coat to make them look gorgeous. The one con about this mascara is that it is hell to take off. It doesn't come off with my normal cleanser (La Roche Posay) or my LRP, Nivea or Simple makeup removers. I have to use an eye makeup remover and even then it is difficult. I am fairly low maintenance so having to take another step in my cleansing routine is kind of annoying. But all things considered I like the benefits of this mascara more than I dislike the drawbacks. It is reasonably priced online considering here a drugstore mascara costs roughly the same price or a few dollars less. I'd repurchase.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 7/6/2011 6:57:00 PM More reviews by naeevee

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

I LOVE this mascara! I was a bit iffy when I found out the size of the brush (VERY thin). However, after curling my lashes and coating them with this product, the results were AMAZING! It made my lashes look like fake lashes and it holds up the curls fantastically! Also, the product is waterproof which is perfect for my contacts! It does not flake and barely budges when it comes in contact with water (minor flaking though).

Overall, I recommend! However the only issue for me is the buildability of this product. It dries quickly so you can't just wait and then build off of that or it will look clumpy. Also, this product has bad and good days for me. Sometimes it lengthens my lashes and other times it makes it look super short (and my lashes are long!).

Is this review helpful? Yes No