August 21, 2014 | 1348 users online

Fragrances - Guerlain - Aqua Allegoria Rosa Magnifica



image 0

rated 3.3(25 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.3
  • 52% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.0
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 1/25/2014 5:34:00 PM More reviews by Kellergirl

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Blue

I have akways hated rose fragrances. So I was a little scared to try this one. Starts out strong when first sprayed, but turns into a beautiful soft rose scent. I can't really detect anything else in it...just straight up rose. A sweet faint rose. Beautiful scent for summer. Very light, so won't be too strong or offensive to anyone.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 10/15/2010 9:57:00 PM More reviews by happywoman28

Age: Unknown Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Blue

This does open a bit harshly upon first applying but immediately begins to morph into a true rose garden. And the great thing is that it keeps getting better and better as time goes on. It is the truest rose soliflora I have ever smelled and I've now smelled about thirty rose scents. It seems that rose is a difficult scent to accomplish in perfumes, as they are either very synthetic or if genuine they develop that past their prime faded, rotting quality. This avoids both those pitalls and actually achieves the genuine pure rose scent of fresh blooming roses. It does last! I have an almost impossible time lately finding anything that lasts beyond twenty minutes but this grabs hold of my skin and clings for hours and hours.
It is just rose, nothing else, but that is just fine with me. Takes me to the nursery where they sell hundreds of different rose bushes in full glorious bloom, one of my favorite places on earth. This is a very true gorgeous rose perfume once you wait out the briefly harsh opening.
EDIT: Just got a mini bottle of this off eBay and it reeks. I loved my
little one mm sample of this from ThePerfumedCourt so it must be this particular bottle. The little bottle of it smells musty and really malodorous.
This may be a scent that must be fresh or stored properly or it goes bad, or I got a fake bottle of it. Anyway I took my rating down from five to four stars, since I'm not sure what's going on.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 4/20/2010 10:45:00 PM More reviews by 9154mf

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

Rose scents and me just hate eachother, this is another boring soapy rose that I want to scrub off. It starts with some aldehydes and then seems to get really soapy. I dont even care what drydown is like cos I just cannot ever see myself wearing something as soapy and boring and unsexy as this.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 11/9/2009 3:03:00 AM More reviews by cocorocha

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

ok, as a huuuge Guerlain fan I bought this one not knowing what it actually smells like...consider the fact,I'm a big admirer of perfumes that contain rose as a component, so I thought this Aqua Allegoria (which is btw. discontinued, adding some more excitement to the purchase)would be the right ''rose'' for me...I've read some reviews and they all say the same- old, ''english'', soapy rose, with this ''linear'' touch to it..weak and not very interesting...and you know what?IT IS ALL TRUE!I simply regret buying this one because it is so harsh on me and the whole composition is pretty boring...okay it IS the rose as you konw and smelled it somewhere, but it isn't a modern interpretation of the flower scent (Like CdGarcons Rose or Kate Moss-Kate, or Rosarium or Rose Absolue by Y.Rocher) sweetened to the point od syrup-sugary-rosy-candied small that tastes good and smells good at the same time (a bit gourmand, if you know what I mean...)

A.A Rosa Magnifica starts pretty heavy (yes, aldehydes) and directly punches you in the face, but luckily for me, this phase ends in about 5 minutes...an then-NOTHING!!Rose,rose and rose...I don't smell anything else...iris?narcissus?hyacinth?peppercorn? no way...
zilch!!

so not to be too harsh on this one, it is a boring rose-based scent (yes it contains a lot of geraniol too) , leaves you smelling like you just had a bath in a rose soapy water...not in a good but not in a bad way either...

I don't have any feelings for this Guerlain, wouldn't buy it again, and if you like the Rose so much...smell it, but don't buy it...or let me put it this way- find Yardley's English Rose, it has far more character and depth than this Aqua Allegoria..

sad but true....

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 8/24/2009 6:59:00 PM More reviews by kilee

Age: 36-43 Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

Have had this fragrance for well over a decade (not the same bottle) and enjoy it as a simple rose scent. It takes a good half hour before it reaches the scent I like, however. It starts out kind of sharp and quickly reaches an extremely sweet phase with a powdery aspect toward the end. I don't care for this phase and it seems a bit matronly. But, then it comes back to a lovely rose that blends very well with my body chemistry. It also lasts much longer than I would expect. It still has a lovely, clear rose scent 8 hours after application. I have difficulty with most rose scents giving me a headache, but never have an issue with this one.

I do not care for the bottle, however. It's not terribly attractive and more problematic is the fact that the liquid breaks down some elements of the spray ball on top.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 5/29/2007 5:32:00 PM More reviews by Wyrmiax

Age: 44-55 Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium Eyes: Hazel

Opening--nice bright rose. Heart--sharp, soapy, unpleasant. Base--nice "cool" floral mix, rose with hyacinth? lilac? Lasting power surprisingly good.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 5/7/2007 11:15:00 PM More reviews by Marie111

Age: 44-55 Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I received this lovely fragrance in a swap and I am usually not fond of rose scents but I thought what the hell, I'll try it. When I first sprayed it on, I thought oh no, here we go, another strong sharp rose which I can't stand. After 10 minutes it had become a gentle soapy background rose scent which I must say I actually like. It has that JLo glow smell in it, that soapy thing going on. I wouldn't buy a bottle though just because its not that special and the staying power is lousy.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 9/28/2006 10:57:00 AM More reviews by SensualSusanna

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Other, Medium Eyes: Brown

I adore Rose scents. This is not one I adored. The opening was very sharpe and almost herbal/citrus. I waited. Later it was nice but almost non-existent. The dry down was a very pale, sweet rose. It was gorgeous but hardly there. I can't even say the dry down was subtle. It was hardly there. I swapped it with a very lovely lady who loves it. Glad she is happy. If you are looking for a nice rose perfume -- try Jo Malone Red Rose --- or YSL Rose Enchantee limited edition. There are hundreds of others that are nice.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 12/5/2005 2:13:00 PM More reviews by takemyhusbandplz

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Hazel

Rosa Magnifica starts out with very loud aldehydes & upon spraying it I got an instant soapy taste in my mouth. After about 10 minutes Rosa settles into a pretty rose soap with a faint touch of blackberry. It still holds on to a little more aldehydes than I like. Then in 20-30 minutes it turns a bit greener and the longer it is on the skin it keeps softening up. Finally, in 2-3 hours it turns to a faintly citrusy rose. After all the waiting, it conjures up images of soft pink and white roses, earl grey tea and a lovely Victorian garden. I wouldn't purchase but, will use the rest of my decant. continued >>

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 10/13/2005 1:49:00 PM More reviews by amberbella

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I have to say, of the 20 or so samples of rose scents I've tried, this is in my top 4. I've had a really hard time finding the perfect rose scent...I love how rose smells on other people, but it's never felt really me. This is one rose scent that I don't mind having on me. It's soft and pretty and doesn't give me that intense headache that other rose scents tend to give me. It's really subtle which, as a girl who doesn't really feel comfortable wearing rose, is perfect. It actually melts into my skin fairly well and makes me smell rosy.


Now, don't you go trying to spray this on your clothes. It seems to have this horrible dusty scent when applied to fabric...this is a scent that needs to work with body chemistry to develop into the pretty scent it is. It is a bit soapy...but I like that...I don't really like smelling like perfume...I just like to smell pretty and feminine.

I said that I would purchase this again, but I'm still not 100% sure. I still don't know if I can pull off rose or if I really even want to, but if I do decide I want to wear rose, this will most likely be one of the ones I buy.

Is this review helpful? Yes No