The Body Shop Loose Face Powder

3.4

22 reviews

63% would repurchase

Package Quality: 2.9

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 2.9

Price: $$$

Not tested on animals
The Body Shop is a Cruelty-Free Subsidiary.

INGREDIENTS

Talc, Nylon-12, Polyethylene, Silica, PTFE, Boron Nitride, Sclerocarya Birrea (Marula) Oil, Phenoxyethanol, Tocopheryl Acetate, Methylparaben, Tetrasodium EDTA, Iron Oxides.


on 6/17/2014 3:28:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I've been using this product since I was in early high school and now I almost get my bachelor degree. I always use shade 02. Bought this from time to time and the last time I bought it costs around US$25. I actually always feel guilty to my mom for demanding this product regularly due to its price but I secretly sure she understand that I already can't move on from this loose powder. When I was 15 my mom's beauty advicer told me that I shouldn't use a compact powder because of my skin type, and because I was so young, she recommended TBS as the product I should try because she considered it as the safest one.

This product is a daily need for me now. I can't go outside without this. I don't mind it's shimmering but one thing I still being uncomfortable for years is that sometimes it can spill when you open it, especially when it's new. I always need to work with my sticky tape about that :)

But overall for me this product is great.



Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Medium Brown, Warm

Hair: Black, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I bought Loose Face Powder from The Body Shop on sale for $5 from $16.50 in the shade 05, the darkest one. It's supposed to be applied over foundation to help reduce shin & set makeup. I like to wear it alone though since it is about to be summer & I don't like wearing foundation during those months; I have oily skin & it looks gross when it is combined with sweat. I was really sceptical about this product for my skin type for the reason that its ingredients contain have oils & I'm not interested in a breakout.

I tried this on in the store & it was the last dark shade available. I don't want to say that I had to settle, but I was not enthusiastic about buying it because I felt it would be too dark for me. There isn't any good shade selection in this powder & I thought I'd regret it if I didn't buy this despite my doubts. At $5, I knew if I didn't buy it that day, it would have been gone the next. Can I tell you—I was surprised! This powder has nice coverage, & keeps my face shine-free & matte. It balances out my skin tone better than I thought it would. I like this not only because it improves my skin tons, but it improves the appearance of my complexion is a subtle way.

My complaints: The shades don't have names or shade indicators. The colors or shades are 01, 02, 03, etc.; I have 05, but what does that mean? I can physically see it's a bronze or brown color with shimmer but, & I'd feel better if the shade referred to actual skin tone names like light/fair, medium/tan, dark/deep or had actual names to refer to. That & the non-sale price are what pull me back from me giving the powder five lipsticks. It's worth it if it is on sale, but I would never in my life pay $17 for this. On the other hand, The Body Shop didn't stint out on its amount of the actual product I get. That's why it's such a good buy… on sale. I bought this on a whim figuring it could hurt to try & I'm glad I did! I recommend this product.


on 1/26/2014 6:08:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Great loose powder, even better when purchased at half price!


on 11/13/2013 12:12:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

The powder itself is ok. I have 2 problems with it though, one it's shimmery and two the packaging isn't ideal! It's one of those packaging's that can spill out when you open it. But I bought this powder during the summetime when I was a bit darker and now that it's winter, I only use it as bronzer and it works okay but I wouldn't recommend anybody to buy this. There are better products out there and cheaper ones, this is expensive!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/6/2013 11:24:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I tried this product first time and very impressed with the quality.


on 10/1/2013 3:52:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

The fact that this product has never broken me out intrigues me. I have never read the ingredients list because I assumed that since it was from the body shop it was "all natural". I was wrong, but I have to laugh at myself because if I had known the list of ingredients I would have told the sales woman "no way". For anyone who is curious here is the list of ingredients: Talc, Nylon-12, Polyethylene, Silica, PTFE, Boron Nitride, Sclerocarya Birrea (Marula) Oil, Phenoxyethanol, Tocopheryl Acetate, Methylparaben, Tetrasodium EDTA, Iron Oxides
I am appalled, but to be honest, while their Extra Virgin Olive Oil MMU made me break out, this one has never broken me out. I am in a state of shock but I love this MMU so I am undecided as to if I want to rebuy it or not. It's not the heaviest coverage but it's a nice base for my main foundation. Very surprised, I really thought their products were supposed to be natural, not sure what to think, but I love this MMU.


on 9/19/2013 1:10:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

This loose powder had quite large holes which made it deposit large amounts of powder if i shook it (i simply closed all the other holes except for one with clear tape to fix that problem), it gave a nice very very very subtle effect that made you look like you had healthy glowing skin, although i must say it doesn't last very long on oily/combo skin (around 3 hours) and it doesn't give coverage (so it's more of a finishing powder or a powder fit for people with great skin conditions) at around $19 for 14g this product is quite pricey, but it's worth it if you're looking for a natural, not cakey, subtle healthy glowing look- i got this product in shade 03 (another con is how little range of shades they have of this loose powder)


on 7/16/2013 5:19:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I'm sure it's an okay powder, but the color just wasn't right for me. And I got it in the lightest shade. Well, well.

Love the body shop, but if they make super pale foundations, I really think they should sell a super pale or translucent powder too.


on 5/27/2013 11:10:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

Unfortunately just found out this broke me out. Whether it's powder or dust, it broke me out terribly even with intervals. It's sad cos it is only 1/4 used. But packaging was hell. Powder flew everywhere. I tried shaking abit, still rained on me. Tried lighthandedly with my brush, still as messy. Sad. :(


on 4/18/2013 7:03:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Black

It works perfectly well with my liquid foundation. It doesn't make my makeup looks cakey,it absorbs oil well,makes my skin glows too. The price is suitable with its quality.


Back to Top