Demeter Salt Air

4.1

38 reviews

78% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 4/25/2015 6:58:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

For years, my summer scent has been Bobbi Brown Beach. When I saw this offered on a daily sale site, I decided to try it out (at a lower price point--even full price--it's definitely more economical). My initial reaction is very positive. I've read reviews calling Salt Air a fruity/melon cocktail scent, but I don't get that. Maybe it's a body chemistry thing. On me, it's light, airy, and sunny. When I sprayed it in my hair, it kind of reminds me of Bumble and Bumble Surf Spray...without the tangles.

Since I've used Beach and it's more well known, I'll review using some comparison between the two. They both wrap you in a light, breezy mix of sun, sea salt, and an inexplicably appropriate floral (Seriously...I can't remember ever seeing flowers growing on an ocean beach, but it's so right.). However, Salt Air seems stronger and not quite as complex as Beach, which I think distinguishes the two in a good way. While Beach automatically triggers old school soaking up the rays lathered in baby-Drew-Barrymore-as-the-face-of-Coppertone memories, Salt Air makes me think more generally of days at the beach, sand squishing through my toes and sea salt misting through the air.

Bottom line:
Similar fragrances, but I love both for different reasons.
Bobbi Brown Beach = Golden Goddess
Demeter Salt Air = Surfer Babe

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.



on 6/20/2014 7:35:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Purchased the roll-on version of this. I live on the East Coast. This does not smell anything like salt air along the coast - not the New England Coast, not the Jersey Shore, not the Outerbanks. Doesn't smell like salt air in the tropics either. It's not unpleasant. I pick up more lemon verbena than any sort of marine or water notes. Slightly unisex. Zero lasting power. Would not purchase again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/16/2013 8:12:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I have the roll on version and it lasts quite long on me. I really like this fragrance and keep it in my desk drawer. It doesn't remind me much of the beach, but it is a lovely, spicy almost masculine scent. It reminds me of either Moroccan Oil shampoo or Chi Silk Infusion smell with a blue ocean note. Very professional and unassuming.


on 8/23/2013 5:19:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Salt air smells just like at the beach. Like others, it doesn't last very long. This scent picks me up because I spent most of my life in a beach town. Now I live in the south, for career reasons, and the thing I miss most is the smell of salt in the air. This is such a good and life like scent that I'm absolutely amazed.


on 8/20/2013 7:36:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Love the fragrance. It wears fairly long on me, but it's the roll-on rather than the PMU spray. I don't mind that it has to be applied throughout the day, in fact, if the scent lasted longer I'd wonder if it were truly phthalate free as advertised.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Demeter calls their Salt Air fragrance a "perfect sea breeze on the perfect beach at your favorite tropical island. There's just no denying it... Demeter's Salt Air will have you thinking of that last vacation and much needed new one. Take off to the land of tranquility where the scent of the sea breeze wakes you up each day and sends you off to dreamland at night. But don't forget to book your airfare early!" I received a .29 fl oz (8.8ml) roller ball of Salt Air in my July Ipsy Bag. This is my third scent from Demeter, they offer countless fragrances, and Salt Air is one of the most popular. This fragrance is available in a variety of sizes and products ranging in price from $6-40 - the roller ball featured in this post retails for $10. Demeter products can be bought through the brand's website and Duane Reade and Walgreens stores. Demeter does not test on animals or buy ingredients from suppliers who test. This perfume oil was made in America.
Demeter's Roll On Perfume Oil has simple packaging. This fragrance comes in a small, rectangular glass bottle with a black plastic cap. Removing the cap reveals a small plastic roller ball. I really like Demeter's roller ball, it doesn't feel weird on the skin like ceramic balls, nor does it ever jam or skip. A white and aqua label is affixed to the from of the bottle, offering the product and scent name. A full ingredient list can be found on the back of the bottle. This product's packaging is recyclable.
I was very pleased to receive Demeter's Salt air scent, I love ocean themed products and fragrances. Demeter doesn't offer a list of notes for Salt Air, and my knowledge of what the actual ocean smells like is limited to Sydney Harbour...an odor not quite worthy of being bottled. Salt Air is light and pleasant, certainly beachy. To me it smells like fresh air and seaweed. I don't feel like Salt Air is particularly salty, but it makes me feel like I should be on a boat. I can't pick out specific scent notes, but this scent takes me back to afternoons playing on the beach with Deano, and the endless ferry rides that got us there. This is a fantastic summer scent, I really love it. Unfortunately, like the other two Demeter scents I've tried, Salt Air has very poor wear time, lasting no longer than 90 minutes on me.
I really like Demeter's Salt Air Roll On Perfume Oil, I just wish it lasted longer. This perfume is perfectly beachy and reminds me of some very happy days. I'm glad that I got it, and will continue to use it, but I don't think I'd repurchase it. The poor wear times of Demeter's scents makes them not worth the money, in my opinion. Also, as much as I like this scent I don't think I'll wear it particularly often. I welcome more Demeter products in future Ipsy bags though.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 8/14/2013 10:37:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have the roll on and I really like this scent. It smells just like the beach. But smells classy and clean.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Grey

I got this fragrance in my Glossy Box. I am very picky about perfumes and I wear Versace Crystal Noir almost exclusively. With that being said I did like this scent. It really does smell like the beach. I let my son sniff it without telling him what it was and the first thin he said was that smells like the ocean. So I guess they nailed it. One down side is that the scent wears off rather quickly, in about two hours in my case and I hardly ever sweat.


on 5/21/2012 12:08:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is for a rollon perfume oil - not the spray.
I found this in a CVs for $5. It smell exactly like the beach. I live at the beach - and this is an onzonic, marine smell. It's kind of awesome, I have to say. I think this would be ideal layered with other scents - a vanilla lotion, Marc Jacobs lemon splash, or with anything super floral - all seem interesting.
Wearing this alone - I think I'll need to be in a very specific mood.
This was sooo cheap and this is such a unique scent - this is definitely worth the five bucks.
Oh, and everyone wondering where they can find the Demeter library? It's at Demeter.com - looks like everything is available.


on 7/23/2011 11:15:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Extremely synthetic smelling, bordering on nausea-inducing. Nothing salt air about it imo. I've tried this on skin, on fabric, and on paper. It's a no-no for me. BBW fragrances are much better ... and that's not saying much. It's available at the online discounters for 18 bucks (4 ounce bottle) for a reason. Just saying.


Popular Fragrances


Angel
Angel
1829 Reviews
Coco Mademoiselle
Coco Mademoiselle
1374 Reviews
Chance
Chance
960 Reviews
Pink Sugar
Pink Sugar
1886 Reviews
BOMBSHELL
BOMBSHELL
140 Reviews


Top Rated Demeter Products

image

Salt Air

38 reviews
Back to Top