November 27, 2014 | 1430 users online

Treatments - Barielle - Nail Strengthener Cream



image 0

rated 4.2(28 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.2
  • 82% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.1
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 11/9/2013 2:59:00 AM More reviews by makeupjunkie11786

Age: 25-29 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Hazel

even though I have nice natural looking nails, I have a calcium defiency problem I've had since I was 10 so naturally from time to time the problem will be evident on my nails as they are rather fragile. After getting Gel Polish off the aftermath of soaking my nails in pure acetone from that made them extremely brittle and broke off. my nails had never been so short. They wouldn't stop cracking! Luckily I came across this jar at sally beauty supply. I don't have the patience of applying the the other kind of strengtheners that you apply like nailpolish every day so this cream was perfect for me. I use this in conjunction with Mane'n'Tail Hoofmaker. and I have found that slowly but surely it is fortifying and adding much needed strength back to my nails. It has a thick consistency I concentrate a small amount and massage it on each nail before bed then put a small amount of Hoofmaker all over my hands and nails on top of the Barielle cream before bed. It does state to give it at least 4 weeks to see results. which as with everything you do have to give it time but I have found it to be helpful. to the people leaving bad reviews...if you used it for a good while then I can understand it just didn't work for you... but if you didn't you can't just knock it because you expect results overnight. Sorry but Nothing works that way hunnies! All in all It is a good product and I would definitely recommend it.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 12/28/2010 11:32:00 AM More reviews by JClarke

Age: 56 & Over Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I used this in combination with the Clearly Noticeable Nail Thickener, for which I have written a separate review. Neither worked for my awful splitting and peeling nails.
For some reason I was impressed by Barielle's claim that the cream was "originally created to condition the hooves of million dollar thoroughbred racehorses" - probably did a lot more for them than it did for me!
The instructions do say "For Best Results:Allow cream to penetrate the nails and cuticles overnight." However, if you're wearing the Clearly Noticeable Nail Thickener that's not going to be possible is it? And it does say that you can apply the cream over the top of polish so that's what I did - applied over the top of the Nail Thickener. I confess I had my doubts about it myself but I do wish some of these manufacurers would provide better guidance. They do also sell a mass of other products which all seem to be doing similar things with no real explanation as to why you should choose one rather than another. I have solved the dilemma and won't be buying any now.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 5/2/2010 3:48:00 PM More reviews by georgia21

Age: 56 & Over Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Red, Curly, Medium Eyes: Brown

I used this cream on fingernails and toenails. At first it made my nails feel stronger, but after a few weeks my nails looked dry and several broke off. The product contains sodium lauryl sulfate, a strong cleanser, so that could be the cause of the dryness and breakage.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/6/2010 12:52:00 AM More reviews by zushi303

Age: 44-55 Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

This product is the gold standard of nail treatments - tried, tested and utterly reliable. The best times to apply this cream are after your bath and before bed. After massaging it in, take a minute to push your cuticles back while they are soft and pliable. Within just a couple of days your cuticles will become translucent and the cuticles and nail bed areas will start to look cleaned up and healthy. Your nails will look nourished and have a bit of natural gloss. It's a bit like a natural kind of makeup. Say goodbye to raggedy hangnails and hello to stronger, longer nails.

Here's an interesting thing - I normally use this cream particularly in the winter when my hands and nails are drier. I've been taking collagen and fish oil this winter and I've felt less need for it this year. It has been a milder winter here in Seattle, but I still think the supplements have helped. Anyway, that is my experience and perhaps it will help someone. Good luck!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 1/29/2010 11:43:00 PM More reviews by djsaphira

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine Eyes: Blue

I think this is really more of a balm than a cream, but that being said, this makes a really nice evening moisture treatment before bed. I haven't been using it long enough (or consistently enough) to notice results, but it does keep the skin around my nails looking healthy and groomed. I will repurchase when my jar is gone :)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 12/26/2009 10:50:00 PM More reviews by mdrive

Age: 56 & Over Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

i love this product...i have nails that simply peel and do not grow naturally...when i use the barielle, the nails get stronger, long, the cuticles get strong and healthy...the only problem is that once my nails get to the look i like , i stop using the barielle, and eventually the nails revert to their raggedy natural state, so bottom line the product is great but consistency of use is important!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 11/30/2009 11:45:00 AM More reviews by Laeny

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

This is one of those products that take some time to see results, and usually you don't notice them unless you *stopped* using the product!! But with regular use this does help your nails grow strong and keeps your cuticles soft. It's a little bit sticky but rubs in easily and disappears. Nice, light scent to it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 9/8/2009 12:48:00 PM More reviews by mere88

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

I have the worst nails on the planet. I have horses and do alot of work outdoors, and if that wasn't enough, I inherited my mom's paper-thin, weak, brittle, flakey nails. I could never grow them out, and they often would rip right at the nail bed. My mom found this cream, and we are both addicted to it. I put it on every night before I go to bed, and sometimes during the day if they look particularly dry. I have grown my nails out longer than ever before, and they don't rip and peel anymore. I took off 1 point for being a little greasy, but totally worth it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/9/2009 6:56:00 PM More reviews by christineannmarie

Age: 44-55 Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Green

After 5 years of acrylics I expected the "road to recovery" to be long and hard. Then I found Barielle Nail Strengthening Cream at Harmon Warehouse. In just about 8 weeks I have healthy nails! I do keep them rather short and squared, but the edges are strong and chip resistant. My dry cuticles have also benefited from this product. I will continue to use the cream for lasting strength.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/28/2008 1:19:00 PM More reviews by saraphilip

Age: 25-29 Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I'm not sure how much this products costs normally. I bought the 50 oz/14 grm size for $4 on sale at Winners (Canada's version of TJ Maxx/Marshalls) and it. is. incredible.

I had some crazy hang-nails recently and was using Sally Hansen's cuticle cream (but the apricot smell was awful) and it didn't work too well. Then I tried a sample of Lemony Flutter from LUSH and it was good but greasy. My sister told me about Barielle - and it's the best. My nails look so healthy now!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No