Mary Kay Velocity Facial Cleanser

3.7

161 reviews

64% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Water TEA-Lauryl Sulfate, Glycerin, Propylene Glycol, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Sodium Methyl Cocoyl Taurate, Dimethicone, Comfrey Extract, Dog Rose Hips Extract, Camellia Oleifera Extract, Coneflower Extract, Willow Bark Extract, Sandalwood Extract, Meadowsweet Extract, Chaparral Extract, Golden Seal Root Extract, Cinnamon Extract, Lauramine Oxide, Triethanolamine, Acrylates/C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer, Sodium Chloride, PEG-150 Distearate, C12-15 Akyl Benzoate, Diazolidinyl Urea, VelocityTM Fragrance, PPG-26-Buteth-26, Polyethylene, Methylparaben, Disodium EDTA, Butylene Glycol, Propylparaben, DMDM Hydantoin, Phenoxyethanol, PEG-40 Hydrogenated Castor Oil


on 7/18/2015 4:21:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I wish I had the awesome results some reviewers had. This was recommended to me, along with a bunch of other Mary Kay products, for my acne prone and oily skin.

It didn't leave my skin feeling squeaky clean, which I liked. But it did absolutely nothing for the acne or oiliness. It just cleansed my skin. It is gentle too, so this may work better on those with dry or sensitive skin.

I love some other Mary Kay products, but unfortunately they test on animals so I wont be purchasing anything from them.



Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I was given samples of this product prior to use I googled reviews.
Of course Makeup Alley offered many; some very useful others not so much.
I have since received a 5oz tube which I love. I have shared this product with both my teenage daughter and older female friends. We all love and appreciate how clean and supple our faces are after each wash!
The product has nearly no smell; which I like. I do not like or need facial cleansers loaded with fruity or perfumed scents. The light fresh scent is subtle.
Umlike many others I have used pro active, neutrogena and aveno. Velocity is gentle but very effective.
Personally I have never had problems with skin tone or texture yet my pores are tighter clean and free. My daughters scaring is dissipating almost daily.
Kudos to Mary Kay! Who would have known?


on 12/29/2014 7:07:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

So I managed to snag a tube of this off of a website after a recommendation from a friend (his skin is very clear, and I know it got discontinued). I decided to give it a shot because hey, why not. I decided to try something different; I introduced it to my skin slowly. I started with washing my face every other day in the evening, and now I wash my face every night.

I didn't notice much at first, but I see now that it's evening my skin tone, making my skin softer, and clearing up my acne. I am very pleased with this product. The only thing I don't like is, it leaks out of the tube pretty easily, and the tube is kind of a pain to open once it's clamped shut. But the cleanser itself is great.

I will definitely rebuy.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/15/2014 1:03:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Ahhhh so upset that it has been discontinued! It was my holy grail cleanser for well over a year, after discovering it at a Mary Kay party. Upon discovery, I would say it was average, but by then I had tried so many drugstore cleansers that had never seemed to do the job, so I stuck with it. I am so glad I did. I tell people that my skin is like my hair, a day without washing or a change in shampoo or conditioning (and the time at which it is shampooed and conditioned) leaves my hair (and my skin) in a big oily mess, and yes, one day (or even use, because I cleanse my skin twice a day) results in a breakout. Its a blessing and a curse, if I stick with what works for me, I will have clear skin and nice hair, but if I miss or get lazy, it is a bad hair day or skin week for that matter. When I did religiously use this cleanser (x2 a day) my skin couldn't have looked better. Of course, there would be the occasional breakout (girls know when) but other than that I didn't have any problems. And that was the ONLY product I used. No toner, no spot treatment, no exfoliator, nothing else. Just the cleanser. And sometimes (yes this is bad) I would skip the moisturizer. It smelled great too, which is always an added bonus. Now that they have discontinued it, I figured I would buy a few bottles and sulk when they were used up. Well, they have been used up for probably 7 months or so. I am now using the Mary Kay Clearproof cleanser.


on 6/16/2013 10:02:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I've been using this face wash and moisturizer for around 3 months. It's a fine cleanser and nice lightweight moisturizer (but no SPF is dumb.) But I can say my skin still has the exact same acne problem as always. I can't say this has done anything to my skin.


on 2/17/2013 4:57:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I use to use acne products like Neutrogena Rapid Clear when I thought my acne took a turn for the worst once hormones kicked in. Little did I know that salicylic acid 2% products were WAY too harsh for my skin and made me break out more.

Velocity has become my go-to product in the summer season! My skin is in tip top condition. It does not have acne fighting compounds normally found in acne cleansers (like salicylic acid or benzyl peroxide), but it is great for blemish prone skin. I still get the odd zit here and there, but still two thumbs up. My face feels so smooth!

One con is that my face does feel tight around the winter time because of the extra dry weather. I switch to Mary Kay botanical in the winter. Other than that - velocity in the summer/fall!

Winnie Rating: 7.5/10

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/20/2012 2:46:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Eh, this cleanser is alright. It's gentle and has some super fine, almost nonexistent, beads that help remove makeup and impurities. It's drying to my skin, though it makes it soft. Like I said, it's alright but I won't be repurchasing.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/21/2012 10:43:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Everyone has different skin and some products work for some and some don't. Velocity is my holy grail facial cleanser. It's very light and has a light fruity smell, it's not overwheling what-so-ever. The cleanser cleans your skin really well, and the moisturizer makes your skin really soft. Been using it for a year straight and NO breakouts or problems. (:

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/16/2012 3:25:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This is a general cleanser, marketed towards younger women (Velocity.) I personally find the consistency too thin and the product not moisturizing enough for my skin. Definitely not the best Mary Kay cleanser- try time wise 3-in-1, it's magical


Age: 44-55

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

My daughter used this twice in one week and she started with a rash, then itch, then it spread all over her face and neck. I gave her benedryl, zyrtec, ice to calm the burning sensation. Her entire face started to turn red, burn and itch. Her eyes sweeled, her ears swelled, and neither of us slept well for days. About four days after the rash first appeared. I took her to the doctor and she is now on steroids. I hope that works. MK should do a muich better job. I am reading a lot of reviews on other sites about reactions and lots of folks defending MK. MK you either make products that are good or you don't! Stop making excuses! Nice job making profits at our expense.


Back to Top