December 18, 2014 | 1638 users online

Cleansers - MD Forte - Facial Cleanser I

no image

rated 4.0(47 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.0
  • 72% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.7
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 on 11/22/2011 11:03:00 AM More reviews by nguyen8733

Age: 36-43 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Black, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

For over twenty years, I would get at least one cystic nodule a month. Anyone who gets cystic acne knows it takes weeks for these pimples to go away. At 42, I have finally found the products to prevent these acne flareups. I'm currently on my third bottle of facial cleanser I. I love this cleanser. It gently exfoliates my combination skin so my skin stays clear and clean. I use this morning and night followed by MD Formulations Moisture Defense Antioxidant Hydrating Gel. It's super lightweight, great for oily skin types. In the morning, I use Cliniderm Gentle Protective Lotion SPF45. If I feel a pimple popping up, I use Neurogena On The Spot Acne Treatment. This product is cheap and works very well at reducing swelling.
Update 2/12 This product has been discontinued so I switched to Jan Marini biogylcolic cleanser. It's a stronger product so I can't use it everyday.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 3/22/2011 8:55:00 PM More reviews by missymarissa

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Green

I really think if you are a Cetaphil kind of person, kick it up a notch by using this. It has a similar lotion consistency as Cetaphil and is just as gentle but your getting the benefits of exfoliation. Once you get hooked on AHAs you never go back..seriously! :) Sometimes they can make you break out a little at first, but once your pores are cleaned out, they stay that way if you use it regularly. Skin definitly has more of a glow, is even-toned, and pores shrunk. Love MD Forte!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 2/28/2011 1:02:00 AM More reviews by xxxPikadoodlexxx

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Green

This was my first glycolic acid cleanser and I don't see any need to try anything else. I have since moved on to MD Forte II but I am glad I started at Step I. Two things you will notice when you first use this product is that it doesn't have the best smell, and it stings but don't let that stop you. With continued use the stinging will go away, and the smell more tolerable. It's well worth it. No other cleanser has done what this has done for my skin. My skin is smoother, I have less redness now, less breakouts and less dry flakey skin. This of course is in combination with the Step I facial cream. You may experience an adjustment period. Two weeks after starting Step I i experienced a bad breakout, but since then I have had an overall reduction in blemishes. Since I'm only 28 I can't really say yet whether it will help you look any younger, but it will make your skin healthier.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 11/28/2010 12:33:00 AM More reviews by Khiandra

Age: 25-29 Skin: Dry, Tan, Warm Hair: Black, Curly, Fine Eyes: Black

This is my go to brand for Glycolic Based Products and i must say i'm actually in love with this cleanser in particular :) I used to use different glycolic based cleansers (the sudsy kinds) from other brands and always ended up breaking out on my forhead and cheekbones. For me, always the signs of sleeping on a dirty pillowcase or ingredients that my skin doesn't like. So i kinda became weiry of Glycolic Acid. Then i realized....im like a 25yr old Libra and i need to get serious about anti-aging. Either your face or your as* goes and im not letting the face go. I kinda stumbled upon this brand by accident on dermstore.com and read all the great reviews. Thank God!! Before i started on this cleanser i had a find line in the corner of my mouth and a really fine line in the middle of my forhead. Long story short..i no longer have those little lines! My skin looks completely smooth and porless (not exaggerating) and i have this product to thank. I've been using this for around 2 years but i noticed results after 3-4 weeks of use. It's very gentle, which i love. I think the gentleness prevents the breakouts?? It has no scent and it is a "cream/milky" type cleanser (remember that), so it would be wise to remove with a water rinse followed by a damp washcloth. I will continue to use this forever 'god willing'. This is most def. a holy grail product for me.
UPDATE: This is still really good but im thinking about trying the Jan Marini Bioglycolic. I will update on which one works the best for me :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 8/27/2010 12:38:00 AM More reviews by Jinhee

Age: 44-55 Skin: Dry, Other, Warm Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Took me some time getting used to non-foaming nature of this cleanser. Been using on and off for over a year and I still have 2/3 of product left and I highly recommend. Gentle yet effective and so cheap considering how long it lasts. Leaves skin smooth but moisturized, perfect base for foundation.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 6/23/2010 2:21:00 PM More reviews by bambilion

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm Hair: Blond, Wavy, Other Eyes: Green

I have been using this every night for two weeks..and i am in love with this product! I haven't had one pimple since i started using it, the blackheads and acne marks on my chin and around my mouth have started to lighten requiring less make up, my pores look smaller, my complexion is brighter.. i love it! Every night i wash my makeup off with cetaphil and a washcloth, dry my face, and massage this into my skin and let it sit for 20-25 min. however long i can keep myself entertained for. Im thinking about going ahead and buying cleanser 2 and alternating between the two because my skin handled the glycolic acid wonderfully. I paid 23$ for it at a derms. office nearby. Im pretty sure i will be using this product for years i have suffered with hormonal acne all around my mouth and huge blackheads everywhere else and have never seen such results from a product in my life! Im even having that time of the month..and nothing! i dont even feel anything bubbling under my skin to come out! so happy!!!!
GIVE THIS A TRY!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 5/20/2010 11:17:00 AM More reviews by jamie11210

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I know this stuff is pricey, but completely worth it. I am reviewing after only using for one week. My acne started clearing from day 1 and my skin feels and looks smoother. I hope this does wonders for my pores, as I have been battling this issue for awhile, but so far I am really impressed with this stuff. I think it is totally worth the money. Also, I order online doing searches for whoever has this cheapest at the time. I was able to get this and the facial cream for $45 with shipping included...so search around.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/7/2009 5:49:00 PM More reviews by clay2626

Age: 25-29 Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I bought this after reading the reviews on all the MD Forte cleansers, lotions. I wanted to start with II but felt it might be best to go with 1 until I saw how my skin would react since I usually use cleansers through Lancome, Dior, etc. My skin is oily and I have had a problem lately with cystic acne and whiteheads though it would be on/off nothing consistent but enough to bother me.

I love this cleanser and it makes my skin feel very soft, I leave it on for a minute or two and then take it off with warm water, there is a very slight sting but really nothing that bothers me enough to stop. I follow up with the Facial Lotion I and though I have alot of acne scars and redness to my face both products do not bother me. I am going to try the Level I until I am done with the bottle and then move on to Level II. My skin feels less oily and my foundation seems to stay on longer, I will update once I have been using this for about a month. Great product and I am so glad I read about MD Forte on MUA!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 6/15/2009 2:38:00 PM More reviews by Hopoti

Age: 36-43 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I`m amazed what this line has done to my face!!! Really. I use this p.m and a.m for my face. It does remove make up and dirt. Donīt use it for remove your eye make up. Rub this in to your face, leave it for one minuet or so and then remove with hot water. It stings little but it is not a big deal. My pores are less visible, blackheads I used to have around my nose and chin are almost gone. Really worth to try. I will soon try level 2.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 11/10/2008 8:44:00 AM More reviews by katemvirginia

Age: Unknown Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm Hair: Blond, Curly, Coarse Eyes: Blue

I just started using this a week ago & WOW what a difference! My fine lines are softening, my pores are SOOOOO much smaller , & the quality of the tone in my face is unbelieveable in this short of a time! I only use lotion before bed. It gives the MOST amazing smooth skin. :) I have very sensitive/acne prone skin & this is a definite godsend! :)

Is this review helpful? Yes No