October 21, 2014 | 1855 users online

Treatments (Face) - Black Opal - Advanced Dual Complex Fade Gel



image 0

rated 3.8(17 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.8
  • 76% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 2.6
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 3/25/2011 4:35:00 PM More reviews by starrz329

Age: 19-24 Skin: Very Oily, Dark, Cool Hair: Black, Kinky, Coarse Eyes: Brown

I have been using this product for the past 3-4 months now. I have struggled with acne for most of my life, ever since puberty started. My acne tends to be mild to moderate, with the ocassional cystic acne break out. Before this product I had alot of scarring and hyperpigmentation on my cheeks and chin. Now these marks have faded about 85-90% and I am so pleased. For the 1st time in a long time, I feel comforatable going places without foundation or powder on. I think the thing to remember with any fade creme it to 1. Be consistant. Use it everyday, twice a day if you have to. and 2. is to be patient. fading these marks will take several weeks, they definately dont go away overnight. Be diligent and overtime you will notice results. I definately will continue to use this until the marks are completly gone.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 5/25/2010 11:06:00 PM More reviews by chinagirl

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I stumbled on this product several years ago when I was left with numerous red marks on my back from breakouts. I didn't know if it would do anything for me as I'm extremely fair but surprisingly it worked great. Fast forward a few years and I've had yet another bout with back breakouts. I bought this again and within a few days the red marks are fading. For some reason it doesn't seem to work on my face. I use this only at night and apply LUSH's Grease Lightning when it's dry. This combination seems to be doing the trick for me.
The only thing I don't like about the product is the packaging; as many other reviewers have mentioned it should be in an airtight tube. Other than that I have no complaints and will continue to buy this.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 2/22/2010 11:36:00 AM More reviews by luluthediva

Age: 44-55 Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Hazel

Be careful when using any product with hydroquonine. If it is brown then it has lost its effectiveness. The gel should be sort of clear. I only use it at night and it's the first thing I put on after cleansing. Like another poster said, always wear sunscreen when using this product or any other product with hydroquonine. Also, it's really only effective one tube at a time. There should be some sort of resting period in-between tubes. I read somewhere that you should use hydroquonine products for six months at a time and then give it a rest. This product can be purchased in stores that have African-American or Latina customers. I've tried looking for it in WASPy areas and couldn't find it.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 8/21/2009 2:42:00 AM More reviews by Adrianlu

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse Eyes: Brown

This fades marks and darker areas fast and beautifully BUT, it's causing me to break out...which defeats the purpose of using it. It was a vicious cycle. I would stop using this to focus on my acne treatments and would be totally clear and only have dark spots, then I would start adding this back to clear them and start breaking out again. So, Ive stopped using this and no new breakouts (I'm talking 3-5 pimples after 2-3 days of using this with no other changes). I will continue to use this up on my neck and body but, I won't buy this again. I have Azelex now and its helping the dark spots just a little more slowly. Mine hasn't changed color but, smells "acidic". This is a decent product but, something in it makes me break out even though it wasn't oily. I would reccomend this but, I won't buy this again.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 6/7/2008 6:37:00 AM More reviews by yumcheesy

Age: 25-29 Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

I am very fair and have some ruddyness/rosacea on my cheeks; it was suggested to me to use a product with hydorquinone and this was on clearance for $1 so I thought I'd try it. There were only 2 boxes of it, a very dark one and a light yellow one so I bought both... I'm gonna try the dark one in the future b/c I've been researching it and I'm not convinced the color change affects the effectiveness- and even if it does, that shouldn't mean the aha in the product is worthless, right? Well, we'll see by next year. And if HQ is as bad as Europe says it is, then using 'expired, ineffective' HQ shouldn't harm me /that/ much, right?

Anyway, I think my redness has toned down a little in the past month which means the product could be working, yaaay! :-) Every once in a while I get small blemishes in the area I apply the gel. And if I apply too thick of a layer then it turns bright white :-p

Anyone know what the green 'dna' stuff is? I store the jar in the fridge to keep the heat/sunlight out just in case. But it turned dark after a couple weeks regardless, so... I think anyone who says to throw it away it if turns dark is just pushing product and wasting money; there's no extra or new dark splotches on my skin *shrug*

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/10/2008 10:53:00 AM More reviews by demetra04

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Dark, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

I had 2 huge scars on my cheek area(very noticeable even with makeup on) from cysts that I tried to squeeze not realizing that they were cysts,so anyway I have tried everything for the past year and a half to fade these horrible scars from salicylic acid 20% to hydroquinone 2% cream. Nothing worked but made the scars very red and worse than before.I first tried this product and it was black discolored I didn't know that it wasn't supposed to look like this it gave me huge black splotches like what others have commented about, so I quit using it but I bought a new one yellow in color and where u can actually see the green swirls inside the bottle and within a week the scars were peeling and gone!! The gel is so much more efficient than anything I have tried. It is worth the money althought the bottle may seem small. But the glycolic acid and hydroquinone combination is genius!!


UPDATE!! it worked well the first couple of days but due to the fact that it is in a clear jar it becomes ineffective quickly!also the fact that I kept opening it to apply it....so the air exposure also didn't help..I kept it in a dark drawer away from the sunlight. But that didn't help either I've bought 4 jars of this stuff because it goes bad rather quickly... a pity...but I still consider it a good product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/26/2008 4:44:00 PM More reviews by 1MUMSTHEWORD

Age: 36-43 Skin: Normal, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This product should be in a tube and an enclosed box, that is why, I docked it, other than that, it is a good cream for the money, it's affordable.

This product will not work for anyone if you do not use a SUNSCREEN along with it ....Period. This also, includes any other skin lightening product. 5 minutes in the sun and poof, all your hard earned effort of weeks and months of applying it are gone. Another reviewer stated this is not for caucasian people, totally untrue...it is for any race. If you follow directions, it will work, not overnight, give it about 3 weeks, and for heavens sake apply sunscreen every single day for the rest of your life, even if you aren't using it. THE SUN WILL ONLY DARKEN IT MORE.
Sunscreen is the #1 wrinkle prevention and that is a fact. I used it along with Retin A/Renova at night and once in the morning, my pigmentation was gone in 3 1/2 months, I had some pretty bad pigmentation. Also, if this product turns color toss it, hydroquinone is very unstable and is susceptable to air and light, keep it in a brown paper bag in the fridge. Toss it after 6 months whether your STILL using it or not. It's basically has gotten weaker over time and buy a new bottle. Normal prescription for a hydroquonine product is, Don't use longer that 3-4 months period...take a break for one month and then use again for one month, repeat as long as you need too. This product states for 6 weeks only. Any lightning cream is best used with another cream as well. Ex. Retin A, etc. for maintenace use something like Olay total Effects/definity/fair and lovely, they have niancinamide in them, which helps prevent hyperpigmentation from coming back.
Excerpts from box for black opal...
A state-of-the-art gel formula that evens skin tone, fades dark spots and discolorations.

* Breakthrough formula fades dark spots, such as discoloration, freckles, age spots, sun spots and mask of pregnancy.
* Multiple benefits of a dual complex include Glycolic to exfoliate and Hydroquinone to lighten.
* For skin affected by dark spots, uneven skin tones and discoloration.

Apply at bedtime after thoroughly cleansing, toning and moisturizing face. Apply a thin layer to dark areas only. Once improvement is visible, maintain the results through continued use.

Recommendations for testing prior to product use.

* As with any skin care or cosmetic product, irritation may occur if you have very sensitive skin. Begin by performing a simple test on your forearm. Apply a small amount of the Advanced Dual Complex Fade Gel.
* Keep it dry by applying an adhesive bandage. Keep it in place for a period of two days.
* After the two day period, remove the bandage to determine if any irritation has occurred. If so, this product may not be appropriate for your skin and should not be used.
* This product should be used daily for a period of six weeks. If lightening does not occur, discontinue use.
* For all skin types affected by discoloration or uneven skin tone.
* * Important: Avoid sun exposure when using any fading products. Use of a sunscreen is strongly recommended to prevent dark spots from recurring

Please use Sunscreen everyday, or it's all in vain, if you don't. Another good cream is Nadinola 3% and you can get it at Walmart for under $5.00. Hope this helps!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 11/20/2007 12:51:00 AM More reviews by Reservechic

Age: 30-35 Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

I can not use tgis product every day as it will then cause my skin to become irritated. Which is why, I use it every other day. I like that it does help in evening out the skintone. However, this a product that does not bring immediate results. You have to be faithful with this product to see any real results with it. But, it is a god product that does what it claims, just slowly.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 6/4/2007 11:23:00 PM More reviews by damnemperess

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Hazel

This product did what it said it would, but more slowly then I anticipated. I also had to vary it, at first I used too much and it made my skin slightly red. But I started using it every other day and I found it too be much more effective for me. Although it says it is for dark skin, it works on both light and dark skin, the acid used in it (the lightener) is recommended by dermatologists for reducing scars on any skin type. I do believe however, that if your noticing problems you may need to apply less or vary the time in between. Also, be patient its not over night. I'm looking into makeup artist choice peels next because they are highly recommended on this site for helping with uneveness. At the moment, I haven't tried other lighteners so I don't know how they compare although, I know this product has one of the higher acid non-prescription contents, so its supposed to work better.

*update* I believe you have to keep this product airtight otherwise it changes colors and becomes ineffective, just a warning.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 8/2/2006 8:03:00 AM More reviews by sheabutter1019

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I bought this product to remove a medium sized scar on leg and I must say that it is working. I'm moving into my second week of using this product and I can already see it fading in several areas. I think people should remember to apply it in very thin layers. I find that its not as effective when too much gel is applied.
So happy with my results thus far that I'm looking forward to see the results by week three

Is this review helpful? Yes No