April 16, 2014 | 2046 users online

Foundations - Cargo - OneBase



image 0

rated 4.0(68 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.0
  • 75% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.7
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 on 8/13/2013 6:19:00 PM More reviews by insidiousplan

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Blue

I repurchased this when I ran out. Excellent for covering up minor blemishes, especially if you don't need foundation. However, the applicator is super unhygienic. Coverage is sheer and easily blendable.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 5/7/2013 11:30:00 AM More reviews by ohudsono

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Hazel

I'm nc20 and I have this in 02.I use this to cover dark circles and spots. If I want more coverage, I will apply a bit to my nose, cheeks, and chin and blend in with a beauty blender or the RT expert face brush. I do not notice any creasing or settling throughout the day, although I usually do need to blot once or twice. While I do enjoy the product I will not be repurchasing. I do not like the packaging and the product is expensive and small (0.60 oz).

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/17/2012 7:26:00 PM More reviews by naervana

Age: 36-43 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I am a younger looking 39 yr old. I am starting to get lines for the first time in my life, very fine ones. The texture of my skin is changing. I have combination T-zone skin that leans on the dry side. I am sallow fair-medium complected, medium brown hair, blue hazel eyes, English/Irish/ Native American mix.
Anyway, I obsessively buy different concealers, as I have dark circles that are also turning slightly puffy. I have the frown lines between my brows, that drives me insane. I have used the drug store brands, Bobbi Brown, Benefit, and had been using Mac Pro Longwear prior to finding this. Bobbi Brown and Benefit are a little too dry and can look too cakey when used alone. Mac and Lauder Doublewear are comparable in consistency, yet Mac dries out and settles into your lines after a few hours and Lauder is too sheer.
I don't like wearing foundation as I feel it clogs pores and tends to look unnatural. However, I have started using Stila's tinted moisturizer. That is a nice start to nourish my skin and even out the tone a bit.
I purchased Cargo's OneBase Concealer is 003 along with Amazing Concealer in Tan.
So my routine is thus: start with a tinted moisturizer (I recommend Stila's Sheer in Tone. It's smooth, nourishing, no breakouts with a touch of spf 15). Your skin will soak it up, and it has a nice velvety feel once blended, leaving a sheer natural finish. However, it is a moisturizer, so like a foundation it will attach anything you put on your face with pigment.
Then I swipe Cargo over my T-zone and around my eyes. Cargo is absorbent, creamy, and blendable, and covers very well without drying out like Mac. Your skin soaks it in, no cakeyness at all. However, if you need a little extra coverage for circles or breakouts, while Cargo does really well on it's own and for daily wear, for those times I want to look flawless I use Amazing Cosmetics concealer as to touch up. Just take just a tiny drop (for each eye) of Amazing, and if there is any excess I pat that around the redness around my nose area, and then a tiny bit in between my eyes, where I have the frown lines. The best way to apply it is with your fingertips and just pat it lightly or gently rub and pat pat pat. Amazing Concealer is excellent, especially when paired with Cargo Onebase and Stila's Tinted moisturizer.
Anyway, I then continue with the rest of my makeup routine, shadow, blush, etc. I live in the southeast, so there is extreme humidity. I finish everything by lightly dusting my face with a finishing powder. Voila. The makeup looks extremely natural and the best thing is no creasing and it fills in my fine lines! Incredible! It takes years off of my face. I still look to be in my 20s. One more thing though, you may find your shadow will crease if you don't use a shadow lid prep. I use Urban Decay's eyelid primer. It's awesome as it works as a nice base color as well.
Bottom line: This is my new HG concealer, along with Amazing concealer, to use in conjunction. Don't let the price tag throw you off, because when you find something that works, it is always worth it. Remember, you are your own worst critic. ;)

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/31/2012 1:31:00 PM More reviews by Costumiere77

Age: 30-35 Skin: Dry, Medium, Neutral Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Green

This is the perfect summer liquid/cream step for me. I use the OCM with homemade coconut oil based blend, straight rice bran oil for moisturizer and even with all that have pretty dry skin. Any heavier foundations suck right into my face and I get little bumps AND I leave prints everywhere even with primer. Anyway, this is just enough for mild undereye circles, brightening and toning redness in the naso-labial area and a thin coat feathered out with a brush on my jaw. I use T LeClerc powders afterward to set, Stila convertible color with Georgia powder and I still look fresh after 8 hours in Alabama July humidity. I am pretty ruddy/tan in the summers and 025 is perfect, so it may run a little dark.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/14/2012 3:44:00 PM More reviews by BazookaBaby

Age: 25-29 Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I don't have acne prone skin so I don't often need a lot of concealer - but I do have bags/dark circles around my eyes and I prefer to cover that up. My skin is naturally very pale and I don't tan well and a lot of concealers on the market, even in the lightest tones, are far too dark for me. My mom gave me a tube of this to try and it's really done the trick for not only evening out the skin tone around my eyes, but also blending well into the rest of my face and not being so obvious that I've put something on.

At $24 a pop, I kind of feel like the packaging should be a little more substantial but I can't really complain since this was a gift.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/1/2012 8:52:00 PM More reviews by liz4921

Age: 25-29 Skin: Other, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I've been using this for probably six months now, so I figure it's time for a review! This is the only concealer I have gotten to work for me for the under eye area. It doesn't crease and doesn't look cakey. I would rather have a little less coverage than more coverage and being able to see the concealer cake up. This is perfect! It is expensive, I bought two when they went on a sale at Ulta for half off.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 2/17/2012 1:34:00 PM More reviews by harrisss

Age: 36-43 Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Green

I have reddish bags under my eyes and have tried many concealers on the market. So far, for me, this one is the BEST. It blends easily and, most importantly, stays intact all day. I DO NOT like the high price but will continue to pay it considering this is my HG for eye-bag coverage.

Sephora has stopped carrying Cargo so it's hard to find these days. I get my supply at Sears.
***Update...removed a lippie because I found something BETTER. The one problem I found with this concealer was that it faded by evening. Makeup Forever's Camouflage is just as effective and stays in place until I wash it off.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 6/19/2011 4:07:00 AM More reviews by Champacotaco

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Bought this when Sephora was discontinuing carrying Cargo products. I think I paid about $6 for this. Hmm, that being said it's ok. I use Benefit's erase paste and like the results much better. I also don't feel the packaging is hygenic. Because the wand is going from my face and then back into the tube it just doesn't seem sanitary? i dunno, but for $6 it's ok.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 5/23/2011 9:59:00 PM More reviews by cessnovember

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

I don't need all-over coverage, so I use this just to cover up some discoloration on my cheeks and the stray breakout every now and then. It's a breeze to apply, stays fairly well without the assistance of powder, and matches my skin tone really well (Asian coloring with a grey/golden undertone). I'm not big on the packaging, though, since I think a lot of it is wasted.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 12/10/2010 5:18:00 PM More reviews by nadeen4ever

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Medium Eyes: Brown

the coverage is medium ... looks so natural with a nice brightening effect not caky at all ...dries fast...doesn't crease at all ...quite expensive in my opinion ... the wand helps me in following the shadow that my under eye bag creates makes it easy to conceal it ..it's really good for precise application ... will repurchase

Is this review helpful? Yes No