July 30, 2014 | 2069 users online

Blush - Shu Uemura - Glow On Blush



image 0image 1

rated 4.5(105 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.5
  • 91% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.7
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 2 of 5 on 4/3/2013 8:57:00 AM More reviews by peonia

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Other, Straight, Medium Eyes: Other

I bought this blush only because it was available in a colour I wanted that is a bit uncommon (a true light lavender - M225 Soft Mauve). To buy the blush you purchase the pan plus either a single or a duo case to put it in, in white or black.

The blush is very chalky and not very pigmented. I hit pan very quickly because I needed so much of it to get colour. The pan itself, like many Japanese blushes, is an annoying and inconvenient size and shape: a tiny 2 by 5 cm rectangle. Even my travel brushes, which I don't like using unless I am not at home, were too big for the pan. I dislike immensely the fact that I can't effectively pick up the colour or utilise the size, shape, and bristles of blush brushes with this. When the SA tried it on for me, she actually used an eyeshadow brush to slowly spackle/paint it onto my face.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 12/31/2012 10:10:00 PM More reviews by papierflora

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral Hair: Black, Relaxed, Medium Eyes: Black

I hate to be the naysayer for this product.

Pros:
-This blush has extremely good longevity on my combination-oily skin which tends to be a a little dry around my cheeks depending on where I'm at (drier when I'm at air-conditioned places like lecture theaters and buses; oilier when I'm walking hastily around school). It NEVER oxidises on me!
-The packaging is brilliant. Now, you can buy refills instead of the entire packaging when you're done with one pan of blush.
-Looks natural on the skin. Doesn't look overdone.

Cons:
-The higher price of initial outlay might turn you off. You have to purchase the blush AND the compact, unless you have a palette and the relevant tools to store it. I think the blush is SGD$33 and the compact is SGD$27? Correct me if I'm wrong.
-I don't know, but I find it tough to build up colour? I'm NC10-15 (leaning more towards the neutral side), and I'm always struggling to build up the degree of colour that satisfies me. By that, I'm not trying to look clownish--I just want a flush of colour on my cheeks. When you overapply (if you do), it's tough to blend it out too.

I find other blushes, like even my BeneFit Boxed Powder, easier to work with than the Glow On Blush from Shu Uemura. That being said, given the good reviews here, if you want to purchase this blush, do go ahead and give it a chance. Products work differently on everyone anyway.

If you have oily skin and you have problems making your blush stay on longer, you should try this blush.

I will not repurchase.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 5/19/2012 7:30:00 AM More reviews by thecharm

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse Eyes: Blue

Shu Uemura blushes aren't like other blushes. They lack the stunning satiny finish of Shiseido; they lack the buttery feel of RBR. They lack the immediate color wallop of Sleek or Illamasqua or theBalm. On the other hand, they're not a powdery mess like Illamasqua can be or as hard as NARS or MAC blushes, in my experience. That's the negative description. What they ARE, are soft, finely milled blushes (in a range that includes cerise and lavender!) that really play nicely with my skin, which is to say that they have a beautifully melted, watercolor quality on and they last all day. YMMV of course, but I put them through the rigors of life in the tropics and they just don't fade or oxidize on me. The matte shades are slightly powdery but not overly messy; the pearl shades have that light shimmer that just ends up looking 'glassy' once on. Shu blushes have a translucency and subtlety, much like Suqqu, in my opinion: if you value a heavy laydown of pigment over product malleability, layerability, and the effects that those produce, you may be disappointed. Shu blushes aren't my favoritest favorites (still a sucker for the satiny Shiseido and sumptuous RBR) but they are beautiful and have a place in my collection.

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/5/2011 1:46:00 PM More reviews by Tarochan23

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

Blush is my all time favorite makeup product. It's the one thing I would never leave my house without. And Shu Uemura glow-on blushes are my absolute favorite. They're super pigmented and glide on smoothly. They stay on much longer than my other blushes such as nars and mac as well. And their colors are beautiful. I especially love their peaches. I have 6 different shades in my collection currently and I will continue to buy! It may seem pricier than other blushes but because they are so pigmented, a little goes a long way making them last longer.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 7/23/2011 12:58:00 AM More reviews by Heechul

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Fine Eyes: Black

I don't know whether I'm looking at these blind, or I'm really that impressed, but these blushes are great.

They're plain in the packaging (clear case) and they are even less pleasant to buy when you have to buy them only in their pans. Unless you plan to have them all into one single container (Which I hate doing), you will need to buy an extra case.

I love the way these blushes are. Though they only have 5g of product (old), and 4g in the new ones, I don't finish blush that quickly anyway, so we'll see how long these last.

I mainly own the matte blushes from this line, and no matter what color it is, it seems to be flattering on me NC20-30 (depending on what I'm doing during the year.)

I even love the muted shades such as M Pink 31A, that I didn't think would show up on NC30, but it turns to a beautiful rosey glow.

I also own M Wine 24 which on hand looks like Pink Swoon from MAC, but M Wine actually looks alright on me after I've gotten darker, whereas Pink Swoon remains a little chalky. At NC20, these both looked identical and I thought it was a waste but not anymore.

I really do only reach for these blushers now, and my MAC on special occasions since I did have a bigger collection of those colors.

That being said, the way these colors melt into my face.. I'm sold!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 7/20/2011 1:18:00 AM More reviews by chayaNY

Age: Unknown Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

I had this in what appeared to be a mix of the two pictures above. It was definitely an orange, but with gold undertones. It was gorgeous, and I walked passed it over and over sampling it before finally buying it so I knew how great it was. It was probably the prettiest mu I'd ever own, just sitting there in its package. Then I lost it!

I hope it found a good home, hardly ever even got a chance t wear it. It was finely milled, and lovely in every respect.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 7/20/2011 1:01:00 AM More reviews by kpxbabii

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

I purchased 3 blushes from Shu recently; M medium peach 561, M soft coral 345, and P light peach 510. Each of the blushes retail for $18 (without the casing) and have 4 grams of product (.14oz). The price seems fair, but the blushes are a lot smaller than I was picturing! They are probably the smallest blushes I've purchased.

They are not the most pigmented blushes I own, but they are very soft, finely milled, and not powdery at all.

What I like:
They are all very subtle and beautiful colors. Its perfect for that "natural" look! The price is also very reasonable in my opinion.

What I don't like:
It just seems like such little product to me. I wish that I didn't have to purchase packaging separately as well.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 2/22/2011 11:25:00 AM More reviews by Doubleshot70

Age: 36-43 Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

REVIEW GLOW ON BLUSH 76&GLOW ON 58D (PEARL)

This is yet another two of my Shu Uemura Blushes,which I absolutely adore,certainly not my HG products as I choose not to have a HG product.I use the blushes in rotation and do get to the pan.If you have read any of my other reviews you will see that the packaging is not fantastic for a high end product and I do hope that Shu Uemura listens to its users and changes it to reflect the money we spend on it.
The product itself is beautiful on a 734/754 face architect complexion,for Mac users I am around NC40 warm toned.I would describe this as a natural colour.(76)I would be delighted to recommend it and the colour itself does look nice in the pan.I have found that some times a colour that I am not immediately drawn to has been outstanding when applied to the skin.I do suggest it when I do a review.I have a method of application for dry skin users such as myself so please to refer to my other Shu Uemura reviews.Just for a quick recap this is the best colour to use on top of screen face cream blush in sweet cheeks,it gives a professional finish and looks very dewy.If I have run out of sweet cheeks,I use a lip gloss that is not too sticky but matches the blush-I apply the lip gloss to my face and blend it,it should not be sticky,I have found a Bourjois lip gloss works efficiently,then apply the Glow on 76.It has worked beautifully for me,the overall look is very dewy,if you like a dewy finish please do try this method of application.The final step is key,apply loose powder very lightly over where you applied the blush.Now, if you have dry skin just apply lightly on the blush area,this is what makes it natural,then apply to the T zone if you find you are oily there otherwise just apply lightly all over but either avoid the dry area or go light with your brush.For a lot of us it is trial and error and what works for one person may not necessarily work for another.
At times powder is the worst thing to apply to dry skin,so you have to work with caution.I use the Ben Nye Poudre Visage(Yellow) very similar to T Le Clerc,but is less pricey.The RCMA is another brand that I use,they are a very old company.I find it is the level of talc in a loose powder that shows up dry skin more.
My dry skin is very localised so I just apply with a bit of caution,the last thing I would want any of you to endure is to try something which just exacerbates the condition more.
You have to consider your skin type when you are applying a product.
The Glow on no76,is fantastic as a contour colour and I use this colour to contour as well as to to do some shading however at times I use this with Shu Uemura 58D,both of these shades have pearl,however it is the correct balance of pearl,both are highly pigmented so just use a little at a time until you obtain the kind of look you are after.I mix both at times and I apply under my chin and sides of my face for more definition.It is important to get the light/dark colours balanced.58D is your contrasting colour,applied alone you would get quite a bold colour,or you could use it to contour.The packaging fits my contour blush brush perfectly,I detest the fact that the packaging is awkward for use with a blush brush.Over time I have learnt how much colour to pick up on the brush.
These are both colours that I was drawn to,they are both very different,texture is fantastic,application is smooth and very easy to blend in to the skin.
I hope you have enjoyed this review and that it has been educational as I do try to discuss application in relation to skin types however I do relate more towards dryer skin types mainly as mine is dry and very localised.Nevertheless if you have taken the time to read this it is very much appreciated.It is at this point I will read about other peoples experience.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 11/20/2010 7:36:00 AM More reviews by xh_minime

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Black

I have this in P Peach 47, and I loved this product wholeheartedly before the snap on the packaging broke, and now I can't close it properly. I guess it snaps easily because the packaging is made of plastic. However part of the reason why I bought this was also because of the simple clear packaging... I can see clearly what colour I want, especially when I am in a rush!
Staying power is excellent, I almost never have to touch up.
The peach colour makes me glow and complements my skin ver, very well.
However the shimmer does not show much, in fact this looks almost matte.
And because of that I might be switching to another peach colour which has more shimmer.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 10/4/2010 3:29:00 PM More reviews by CharismaSL

Age: 30-35 Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Straight, Other Eyes: Brown

I have this in the coral and peach colours (not sure what numbers) and i like it. It shows up as pink on me and gives me the natural glow from within. It not powedery which is great. I will purchase again because it gives me a very natural flush.

Is this review helpful? Yes No