July 24, 2014 | 2140 users online

Liquid - Clinique - Perfectly Real Makeup



image 0

rated 3.5(578 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.5
  • 56% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.0
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 on 7/8/2014 10:54:00 AM More reviews by yummymummy2

Age: 44-55 Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Green


MY SKIN
Very pale. Lancome 010 or 005, and many brands do not have a shade pale enough. In Bobbi Brown I am Porcelain.
Lines? No.
Dryness? No.
Oily? No but T zone is a tiny bit oilier as day goes on.
Sensitive? Yes- avoid perfumed products.

For me, colour is the main issue because I am very pale, with coverage being the second.
I don't need a lot of coverage but being very pale every bit of blue or pigmentation shows so I need medium coverage.

COLOUR
I chose 01 which is a really good match- not too pink, yellow or dark. Spot on in fact. I also use Porcelain in Bobbi Brown to compare. I'd say this was the same shade as B Brown Porcelain in Moisture Rich and a tiny bit darker than Porcelain in Skin Foundation ( which runs lighter.)

COVERAGE
This is sheer to medium. One application looks ok, touching up makes it look better. I need heavy duty under eye concealer and a bit of extra foundation on my cheeks but this does the job. I would like a bit more of a dewy sheen and a bit more of a glow. This is not matte-matte, but it's more matte than satin or dewy.

TEXTURE
Quite thick like a heavier foundation, creamy on application and blends well, but you need to be fast as it dries quickly. This for me a negative- it goes on a bit like a BB cream- dries fast, and not much 'play time'.

FINISH
I'd say this is bordering on matte. There is a very slight glow at first- but would not call it dewy. This for me is a negative- would like a bit more of a glow.

LONGEVITY
This will be key for me. I do not have oily skin, and I don't like powder but I don't want to touch up ever 2-3 hours.
Pleased to say that after 5-6 hours I still look as though I have make up- though natural.

BUY AGAIN?
We'll see. I think the cost at £22 is better than many at £30 so if this works I will stick with it.
Like the fact it's a plastic bottle and can be popped into a handbag for touch-ups.

OTHER STUFF
Not suitable if you have dry skin. I'm in my mid 50s and my skin is not dry, but this is a semi-matte foundation.


Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 6/24/2014 3:55:00 PM More reviews by cebaker07

Age: 25-29 Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I tried this foundation during my long search for an HG foundation. While I don't know that this is it, there are a lot of things I do like about it. I wear shade 4 and I must say it is very close to my skin tone and looks great on. But, as a medium-full coverage person, this is a little sheer. The foundation can be buildable without looking caked on, but if you don't have too much redness or acne, it looks wonderful with just one layer.

I generally use about a dime size amount - a pea size isn't quite enough to cover my whole face. Even with my acne, redness and dry spots, this does a pretty good job of evening out the look of my skin and covering most of my trouble areas. I would say this doesn't last too long, just a couple of hours, on its own. But, I also live in an extreme weather state, so it gets really hot and really cold. So, I usually dust over it with Bare Minerals Veil or even the Ready foundation if I need a little more coverage. I usually like the veil more because the little sparkle from Clinique's foundation still comes through. I have found that the BM and Clinique combination sets the makeup for up to 12 hours. I am pretty sure using Clinique's setting powder or any other setting/long wear powder would have the same effect. What I do really like about this foundation, though, is that the longer it is on, the better it looks. Also, it doesn't really settle into any of my creases, like most other liquid and powder foundations do. It really does make your face look like a more perfect (and yet natural) version of itself.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/27/2014 5:00:00 AM More reviews by Froozygirl

Age: 36-43 Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Warm Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium Eyes: Brown

Wow. I never thought I will be saying this, but this is by far the best Clinique foundation. Unlike other Clinique foundations, the colours are actually more yellow! I decided to buy it after checking the Beautypedia review. I thought it might be OK for my skin as it doesn't contain any SPF (and foundations with SPF tend to break me out really bad...). I am NC35 and was given shade 10. The colour is slightly lighter than my complexion but the foundation really adapts to your skin immediately and you wouldn't even know you are wearing makeup. It really puts to shame other expensive brands (it's by far better than the Chanel Vitalumiere Aqua that doesn't do anything to me, other than making me look like an oil slick, plus you can tell from miles I am wearing foundation). I am really very impressed. I am using it with Clinique's loose powder in invisible and you can hardly tell I am wearing makeup. It's like your skin, but better. If I need extra coverage, I use Clinique's Even Better concealer over redness. It keeps me shine-free all day when the weather is slightly cold, but when it gets warmer it doesn't perform that good - nevertheless, it's significantly less oil than with other foundations, and in any case I might need to blot my face once only in 8 hours. Overall, this is a really good foundation - it doesn't break me either.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 4/10/2014 4:28:00 PM More reviews by Shortcourt0

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

For me this was an underwhelming foundation. Tried it on in store and it seemed to be a good match. When I got home I noticed it was not a good color for me. I tried to make it work for a few more days but on top of the color being off it also lacked any sort of staying power. I eventually returned it for something else. After trying out other Clinique products I realized I don't fit well into their shade ranges. I was also probably looking for a medium to full coverage foundation at the time, which this product definitely isn't. All in all not a terrible foundation, just not a good foundation for me.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/18/2014 7:22:00 PM More reviews by ebell123

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

This is my favorite foundation during the winter months (during the summer I use the acne solutions foundation). The main thing I like about it is the natural look it gives, not cakey at all. It does have microglitter particles in it, but it's not something that is very noticeable, to me at least. The coverage is medium and shade 01 matched well for my pale, neutral skin tone. I apply it with a buffing brush and it makes my skin look flawless. The lasting power is okay, I usually get about 7-8 hours of wear. I have sensitive skin and need an oil-free foundation, which this is. It doesn't irritate my skin or make me breakout. Overall, my HG winter foundation and I will continue to repurchase it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 3/13/2014 6:47:00 PM More reviews by harrisonfjord

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I love Clinique products and was in the market for a new foundation. Unfortunately this was not it for me. I have combo-oily skin and this sank into every pore and accentuated my oily spots. Not cute. Not to mention the glitter in it ruins the "natural" feel. I like foundations that cover up my blemishes but that do not look cakey or fake. Unfortunately this did not do it for me. #2 was a perfect match for my NC20 skin tone. I hate that its hard to control how much product you squeeze out from the tube and I also hate that its hard to tell how much product you have left without puncturing the bottle. When I used the clinique foundation brush to apply this, it looked streaky, so I find that its best to apply with a sponge or clean fingers. It is not full coverage and I didn't expect it to be, but I was disappointed with this foundation.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 2/17/2014 3:26:00 PM More reviews by crystal105

Age: 30-35 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

Overall, I really like this. It's not full, full coverage, but I don't want full coverage. It does a really nice job of just blurring flaws. I think it looks very natural. I use moisturizer, then this (applied with the Clinique foundation brush) and Stay Matte Rimmel Powder. I generally don't use concealer as I haven't found one that I really like. I have super combo skin (super oily t-zone, dry flakes everywhere else) and this does a pretty decent job everywhere. I live in MN, and in the winter, I could maybe use something more moisturizing. Also, my forehead does get oily about 5 hours into the day, but not crazy oily. I also think that it hasn't caused any congestion (my skin is ALWAYS congested...this does not make it worse). I would buy it again.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 2/9/2014 11:11:00 PM More reviews by Bridget55

Age: 56 & Over Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Blue

A spot-on colour match for me in Shade 1 during the winter and Shade 2 in summer. Reasonably priced and a lovely texture. Easy to put on with fingers, a brush or sponge. Great finish and not too heavy. I love that it's invisible on my skin and my freckles show through. Took a lippie off for micro-sparkles and because it can sometimes cause clogged pores.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 2/6/2014 12:43:00 PM More reviews by Livxo18

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse Eyes: Green

This foundation certainly isn't bad, its just not that great. For some reason I've been buying clinique foundations for a long time without being very happy with them, I've just been too scared to try out other brands out there. Anyways, this foundation has very little to no coverage. This used to not be a problem for me, as I never had acne, however the past couple of years I've developed constant breakouts which have resulted in acne scars. This foundation does not cover my blemishes at all. All it seems to do is even out my skin discoloration. I also would NOT recommend this for people with oily skin. My skin looks shiny no more than 10 minutes after applying this. The shimmer in it does not help either. If you're looking for a mattifying foundation with coverage, don't buy this

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/18/2014 11:48:00 PM More reviews by xkianax

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Black

HG FOUNDATION!! I love this product! I always get clinique foundations and have been happy so far, but this one stands out. It has a good texture, not too liquidy. I put it on in the morning, and halfway through my school day, I have to blot and maybe powder just once. Which I find is a whole lot less than most foundations. It looks kind of satiny and blurs all my pores, I swear! I am acne-prone and break out often due to my teenage phase, and this doesn't interfere and breakout my skin! It almost looks dewy on me when my face starts to become oily with it on! Something I found strange is that people failed to mention that IT HAS SPARKLES IN IT! It doesn't actually show up when put it on at all, but you can visibly see it when you squeeze it out, or swatch it on your wrist. My phase looks so clear as a whole when I wear this!! My friend actually commented on how well my face looked. I also like the packaging, much more sanitary than my last foundation, clinique's superbalanced makeup. I have Persian/European/little french skin, so it's reallyyy hard to find a good color match! I first got this in shade 30 which was too tan for me. And then I switched it out for 18 which is PERFECT! No pink undertones or anything bleh. Just wow. It's an absolute perfect match! I can't say enough about this ok sorry

Is this review helpful? Yes No