November 23, 2014 | 980 users online

Polishes - Maybelline - Colorama- Shimmer Girl



image 0

rated 4.7(16 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.7
  • 93% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.6
  • Price: $

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 1/1/2012 1:54:00 PM More reviews by ebidebby

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Blue

I bought Shimmer Girl in 2004 and probably used it, but forgot all about it until I got back into nail polish around a year ago. It's a shimmery "flakie" polish that flashes red, green, yellow, and a bit blue. It's a pretty good dupe for Nubar 2010, Sally Hansen Hidden Treasure, etc.


The formula is a bit thick and goopy (possibly from age) but it works. It dries slowly so a quickdry top coat will help. It smells strongly, so I'm not sure if it is big 3 free.


Still, it's a little gem in my collection and despite it's age, could probably be found cheaper than many newer flakies. I wouldn't buy it again simply because I have more flakies than I could ever use.


It looks lovely over dark colors and pastels cremes.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/16/2010 1:26:00 AM More reviews by lilpumpkin

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Blue

I couldn't find SH Hidden Treasure ANYWHERE and after doing some research, I found out that colorama is a dupe for HT. I got mine in the mail today from Amazon and I just layered it over two coats of black and holy cow. I can't say enough good things about this polish. I was actually upset when the sun set today because I kept going outside all day long just to see the sun bounce off my beautiful sparkly nails. Ladies, if youre looking for HT and cant find this, I promise you that colorama is just as good. Love love love! I bought two bottles expecting to love it and Im so glad that I did. I'm definitely going to be using this all the time. Can't wait to try it over purple.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 3/7/2009 12:58:00 PM More reviews by xxxPikadoodlexxx

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Green

Oh my God I'm almost out. This is a crisis! This is my all time favorite glitter polish top goat. It looks like delicate flakes or opal, mother of pearl, rubies, and emeralds swept across your nails. GORGEOUS. It goes on evenly, dries quick. Cannot rave enough about this polish. I like to layer it over dark midnight blues... looks very... cosmic. If you find this.. BUY it! Then send it to me. :P Heh. Seriously, awesome stuff.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 10/27/2006 2:03:00 PM More reviews by lovesittxx

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I bought this over a year ago, and never used it until now. But if I had known how great it is, I would have used it all the time! It is a soft milky yellow color with big glittery flakes in the bottle, but on your nails, it is like magic! I put this on over the Colorama in New Year's Toast, a dark coppery gold, and it is so incredibly beautiful! I just want to stare at it forever, ha!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 5/14/2006 10:22:00 PM More reviews by ohana6

Age: 30-35 Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Love this over a pale polish, like a sheer white. To me the "shimmer" is gold. Very pretty.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/8/2006 2:31:00 AM More reviews by poeticrainbowluv

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I saw this on my friend's nails one day and thought it was sooo cute! There little glitter things looked like pools of colorful gasoline to me (if that makes any sense lol). I loved it so much I bought it as soon as i saw it at the store! I was surprised at how smooth it went on, since most glitter polishes i've tried were pretty rough. it was also very shiny. Great alone or over another color!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 4/11/2005 2:45:00 PM More reviews by jiney17

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

Fun, fun nail polish (or topcoat, actually). It's clear with big irridescent flecks in it that shift from pale orange to pale green. That sounds awful, but it's really fun and rather subtle. I like the tiny bottle and price tag (around 3USD) b/c I never use up an entire bottle anyway. Takes a while to dry, but a great way to jazz up boring nail polishes.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 10/15/2004 11:12:00 PM More reviews by ramirec

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

this is a fun colour. i like it cuz its SO cheap! the problem with the colorama n/p is it needs another coat and takes forever to dry. Most Maybelline n/p drys fast but i guess cuz this won is cheap it takes longer to dry. overall Shimmer Girl is cute and i like it.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 9/4/2004 3:38:00 PM More reviews by supko

Age: Unknown Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Shimmer Girl is a clear polish with crazy-gorgeous opalescent flakes. The large irregular pieces of glitter flash all different colors - mostly yellow, green, and peach on me - but also red/rose and silver-blue at different angles.
What's great about this polish (besides the $1.39 price!) is that it applies with a super smooth and shiny finish -- other glittery polishes are gritty and need another topcoat to smooth the surface, but this one is perfect on its own.
I gave this a "4" rating because I wish the holographic flakes could apply w/ more evenness upon the first application. I really need 3 coats to get the full on effect.

But once this polish is on, I swear, it's like iridescent gold-leaf on your nails. It's hot - you must get it if you like unique nailpolishes. continued >>

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/9/2004 9:05:00 PM More reviews by windsorsgirl

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

Wow Im such an idiot! I had no idea how much I would love this n/p when I bought it- at the store there was a buy 2 for $3 sale thingy and i didnt even get two! *smacks head*
OK, on to the review....this polish comes in a cute little bottle that I love because when you get those gigantic bottles alot of times the product dries up inside and gets all nasty before you can finish it. In the bottle it is a sort of milky clear color with big, irridescent, irregular flakes of glimmering color. In the dark, it looks holographic- orange and green and yellow. In bright light, it dances with color, mostly golden yellow, blue, red, and green. WOW! This nail polish has inspired me to stop biting my nails, as well. I have only tried it alone and it is really pretty and unique.
Get it!

Is this review helpful? Yes No